Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Ruby Red

in #rocks7 years ago

Another day Another Agate! I love the super red ones. I believe they are among the most popular lake superior agates. The red in this one is so thick that I couldn't get the bottom corner to light up. The light wasn't strong enough!


Lights Off

I really liked the mirror effect I got in this one.

20171223_062754.jpg
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

20171223_063036.jpg
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Even with the flashlight up close it was still too thick. I've also gotten better flashlights since this one was taken.

20171223_062541.jpg
You can click on the image to view full screen!!


Lights On

20171223_063206.jpg
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

20171223_063243.jpg
You can click on the image to view full screen!!


CameraSamsung S8 Active 12 MP
LocationSuperior, WI

It's all about lighting. Not sure what the problem was but I couldn't get the right lighting when I turned the lights on. This is a major drawback for me in using a smart phone. Trying to understand the S8 Active's pro camera feature can be tedious. The problem is that the auto feature doesn't work as nicely as the pro feature. It either comes out grainy or slightly out of focus, but the color is more appropriate. As I begin to understand the pro settings more, I will certainly start to include them in the details of my picture!

I am looking to build a box to better display them as I am starting to get bored of the setup I currently have. Trying to be creative can be difficult at times, but I would like to have better displays set up.

I share my rock and agate photo's exclusive with the Steemit community! Feel free to share your thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend


Previous Rock Posts

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - A Whole Small Agate

Older than 7 days

good for viewing, not for voting!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - What a beauty!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Little Rock (Not the City)
Horseshoe Agate Lights Off | Lights On
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Another Looks Like Lava and an extra!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Tiny Little Agate
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Quartz Agate? - This one is Not Red!
Looks Like Lava It is
Dime Sized Agate Lights Off | Lights On
Agate of the Day
Glowing Smokey Quartz
Fossilized Shell
White Agate
Yellow Agate

Sort:  

Quite amazing how the color changes in the light. How big is it?

Thanks for your comment! It's about the size of a quarter. I have bigger ones too but it's a lot harder to get the light to shine through the larger ones.

Ah I thought it was bigger. Those are some small lights then :) Are they hard to find?

They were hard to find when I first started looking for them, but with practice they become easier to spot. Sometimes I don't find any, but there's always other rockhounds walking the shores. Especially the day after a storm.

Just checking out your other posts. That's quite a collection you have there! Perhaps I'm going to read up on it. It's probably a better hobby for me than drinking beer...

Well agates would be hard to find depending on where you are. These are all found on the shores Lake Superior. Sometimes I walk around town and find Agates in the gravel. Also can be found at gravel pits, so yeah you'd have to read up to see if they can be found in your area. Also your area may be popular for some other kind of rock or gemstone.

It'll probably be fun rockhounding and drinking beer though! I know I enjoy it!

Lol, I do my best drinking in the pub though :) I'm from the Netherlands so I don't think we have many interesting rocks here. I'll read up on it though.

You can find agates in the netherlands, wouldnt know how easy though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70