✏️I Need YOU! ✏️Calling all writers! ✏️(And voice actors!)

in #radio6 years ago (edited)

writers.png

I need you. I want you.

Let's work together!

As you may or may not have noticed, I've begun my very own Radio Podcast on the SteemStar Network. It's pretty awesome.🤩

Mission Control.png

And ideas are just a-poppin'! The current one I've taken and run with is "Old Time Radio" also known as OTR. You know? Like back in the 1940s?

Check out my video request below:

TL;DW (Too Long; Didn't Watch)

  • I'd like there to be short creepy story segments, as well as short plays, that either stand alone or are a continuing saga. These would fall in between the games, jokes, special musical guests and just general hilarity.

  • Upon doing a bit of research I found I really need permission to use almost anything... except for the scripts from the 40s! Those are mostly fair game.

  • That's where YOU come in.

  • I need short stories. 250-600 words. Ones that are a little creepy, maybe even scary. Stories that are 2-5 minutes and just make your skin crawl.

  • I also need short scripts. Less than five minutes, or ones that can be broken up into 5 minute episodes. These can be about anything. It'd be great if they were funny. I'd like to stay away from full dramas or romance.

  • And voice actors that would be available during the show to come on and perform live.

The scripts can be written for:

1 Female
1 Male
1 Female, 1 Male
2 Females
2 Females, 1 Male
2 Males, 1 Female
Etc.

Basically anything with a less than 4 people... at least at first.

  • Stage direction or atmosphere can be read by another person, an Announcer or Narrator.

  • I'll also be adding in sound effects that will help set the mood and draw people in, so keep that in mind when creating.

  • This week I've written a little something and added sound effects. It's pretty okay for my first time. Be sure to tune in TUESDAY 12 AM UTC to hear it live!

    rainbow motion.gif

Not into writing so much? What scares you? What makes your skin crawl? What things just freak you out? Tell me about it in the comments below.

Find me on Discord and/or comment below so we can connect! Let's bring back Old Time Radio!


Watch last week's Mission Control Podcast below!

Want even MORE of me? Check out my latest episodes:

video sigs - info.png

video sigs - coffee talk.png

video sigs - crypto.png

Need help formatting your posts? Check out this great UPDATED tutorial:

markdown tutorial small.png
Click the image!


If you find yourself needing help or just have a question or two, find me on Discord.😀


All images were created/taken by me, or from Bitmoji.com. Make your own today!


As always, thanks for stopping by!

Hugs & Kisses 💋carrie signature.gif

thealliance we got this trans.png

carrieallen signature 3.png

Proud to be a.png

steemusa carrie long.png

Sort:  

I'm new to steemit, but this sounds awesome and I'd love to help out! I've written a bit of flash fiction, and I dabbled in voice acting; this might motivate me to start back up.

For example, this 700 word flash fiction piece I wrote. A lot of my work is emotionally charged, and uses two characters at the most.

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@idenkcall/forest-stop-one

I'm really excited to help out! I can send you my amatuer voice acting on discord, since I'm not sure if I can upload audio files on steemit.

Hello!

That was a really great example of your work! Exactly what I'm looking for!

Yes. We can collaborate on Discord. I'm setting up a couple of new internal channels in the SteemStar Network channel to work with people. We can also DM and share files that way.

I'm excited to have you on board!

I'd love to get in contact with you! If you can send me the link to SteemStar, I'd love that. I can't seem to find it.

I'm excited to work with you.

Hi! I'm so sorry. I'm generally a hot mess before the show and didn't see this.

And everyone's been having troubles with Discord today. I couldn't get a share link earlier....

But try this one...
https://discord.gg/24SyV

I'll have a post of the show from tonight up tomorrow sometime. I'm at the mercy of the upload speeds. 😕

And I'll also have stand-alone audio and scripts from my two examples tonight.
It went really well and was well received. 😌

I'm excited to work with you too! 😍

hacker voice I'm in. I'll try to watch the show when I can.

If you get a DM from a smaurai-themed name, it's me.

Loading...

This is a fantastic idea! I'm a huge fan of old timey radio! I've been working with a couple of other people to start doing skit videos and stand up pieces to see if the audience is there on Steemit. If we come up with anything that will work for radio I'll definitely throw it your way. We're doing comedy but while we are brainstorming we come up with some pretty far out ideas. I'll keep you in mind for anything I think would fit what you're looking for. Good Luck!!

Far out is perfect for Mission Control With Carrie. :D

Yay! I thought I'd find a few folks that like LOVE OTR!.

That sounds super fun! I use to be in an improv troupe in college. We were awesome. ... or so I remember. LOL! Probably not. 😏

The further out the better... I mean, I AM in space. 😎

Good luck for you, i love writing but my grammea is awful. So I can't help you. But i support this program

Thank you!

It's totally okay! English is my first (and only) language. So you're doing better than me! 😍

always innovating Carrieeee ! :D

It's like my brain is constantly over-flowing with ideas. It's merely a matter of deciding which one to spit out into the Universe. 😍

I love this! I'm not much into creepy crawly, but I could try writing a play! I would also be interested being a voice actor...actress! haha

LOL!

Not everyone is. But I'm hoping a five minute spot will fill the needs of those that are.

We are introducing a recurring series this week (that my husband is writing). Once we set the feel of how it works we'll have guest writers continue the saga.

Also, we'd like to try to do a bit of everything, to see what plays the best.

And yes! We'll need voice actors! I'm pretty excited about this part of things too. 😍

(Side note... both me and hubs have degrees in that stuff and have always been actors... I mean, there aren't doctresses, teachresses or janitresses... so actresses just seem weird. We're all equal. No need for special boxes. 😉)

Haha this is true! I'm excited to see where it's headed! If it wouldn't be too much trouble, would you mind tagging me in any updating posts? I'd love to stay in the loop...and it's so easy to get caught up in other things on Steemit and miss something!

I will!
And I know... without the handy algorithms that actually SHOW you what your friends (those you interact with more) are doing... we are literally just swimming in a vast ocean hoping to bump into each other.

Are you in Discord yet? That's where we'll meet to talk and rehearse or work on scripts.

Let me know if you need help navigating there. I'm working on a tutorial... but haven't gotten it ready yet.

I am on discord! That's how I found your post...over there with all the crazy freewriters! Haha But I'm still pretty new at it, where can I find you?

To DM me I'm carrieallen#9415. As long as we have a channel in common we can connect.

I'm setting up some specific rooms in the SteemStar Network Discord (where the shows are).

Here's the link to that channel. We'll be adding some more internal channels to help organize us. :) https://discord.gg/eaesq

Wooohoo!

That's exciting! I tried the link and the invitation expired! 😣

Oh dear lord! I'm having a time with Discord. I TRIPLE checked to make sure it was set to NEVER expire...

I've just sent you (hopefully you...) a message IN Discord. Maybe the invite will work for you there...

Here's hoping.

Also, I got the two example/pilot episodes up in stand alone posts so you can listen and read the scripts.

💀 House of Horrors💀
🚀Space Carrie's Adventures In Space!🚀

This is brilliant! The cast idea is great as they used to do it back then. you should do recurring serials " stay tuned next week to see of count chocula ate the easter egg" And you could also do some little crazy commercials like they did ... "Hello Gary are your shirts starting to look a little listless undr the stains ? Use burn it ! Burn it will nuke the problem ;) " . In those days spooky stories and who done its were really in ... P.s some of us musician should collab and make some 1920-40 tunes or approximations to run in between ...

@carriallen it would be great if you could convince @tygertyger to be one of the voice actors, her voice is perfect for stuff like this and I'm sure you already thought about @snook ;)

For texts I hope @thegoddess (of fear lol) would give you some of her scary stories that she claims they are real :D

ah by the way you just hit 1500 followers (in case you didn't notice) woohooo 🤘

@hazem91 hehe thanks for remembering me <3

Lol!

We've already got you covered! 🤩

This week we are starting a recurring serial with all the things you desire! Including commercials. LOL!

Someone (@hazem91) also mentioned you may be good at voice acting? Just throwing it out there. 😉

nods I compose as well as sing if it is needed I can't always commit as my health is a point of wavering ability but I can offer my services from time to time when i am well enough to do so. PM me on discord same name as here P.s here my soundcloud so you get an idea of my madness ;) > Soundcloud

This sounds like a ton of fun! My stories tend to be tense and steamy rather than creepy... but the performance aspect of this sounds right up @lilyraabe's alley. Fantastic idea, Carrie!

Thank you, Katrina!

I think it has the potential to be exceptionally fun. 😎

Tense is good... maybe even steamy, but I do wanna stay in the PG13 area... at least at first. We stream live... and during prime time... I can entertain without offending or getting too gross... probably. 🤣

It makes me think of this Stephen King Quote:

I'll try to terrify you first, and if that doesn't work, I'll horrify you, and if I can't make it there, I'll try to gross you out. I'm not proud.

😎

I haven't been brave enough to share erotica on here yet, so I can stick to steamy and tense in the PG13 range. I'm all for pushing boundaries without offending people (if possible). Great quote by SK! My favourite sentence ever of Stephen King's is this, from IT:

God favours drunks, small children, and the catacalismically stoned.

lol! Read that at 14 or 15yo. Still sticks in my head to this day. I'll hit you up in Discord with some story ideas. ;)

This sounds Awesome! And my husband has been watching Tales from the Crept, so my mind is filled with creepy :D

Yay!
I'm pretty excited too!

Well this is right up my alley. Today is my family day, so I don't have much time for online, but I've done voice acting and script writing. This intrigues me!

My son (21) also does a lot of voice over work and he might be interested as well.

I look forward to learning more!

Woohoo!
When I saw Bennett tag you above I was excited!

I have to head to work for a bit (like NOW) too, but will come back and check everything out later.

I'm going to have to set up some channels in Discord for all of us to meet and chat.

This is great!

Me and the hubs also have degrees in Theatre performance and have worked as actors (though not specifically voice) and written scripts.

We're all finding each other!

We're bringing back radio variety shows! Woohoo!

I'll be in touch. 😍

I didn't even see that I was tagged until this comment! I must have somehow missed it on the ginabot. I am excited to see what you do with it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56