☕Coffee Talk with Carrie - E16☕- The True Origin of the Football Huddle 🏈

in #vlog6 years ago (edited)

ctwc16 football cover.png

Good Morning! Good Afternoon! AND Good Evening!

Hi! I'm Carrie!

I've got coffee. Let's talk!

Today's Topic: 🏈The TRUE origin of the Football Huddle🏈

TL; DW (Too Long; Didn’t Watch)

  • By the 1920s the huddle had started to annoy football fans who thought it was a waste of time.
  • There are origin stories from several Universities: in 1918 at Oregon State, in 1921 at the University of Illinois, in 1924 at Lafayette College.
  • The original huddle came from Gallaudet College (now University) in Washington, D.C. in the 1890s.
  • Gallaudet is an all-deaf school.
  • The quarterback, Paul Hubbard decided to form a tight circle so the other team (also deaf then) couldn’t see their plays. And thus, the huddle was born.
  • They also invented the giant drums on the sidelines that were used for snap counts (cause they could feel it).
  • Now, they use the silent count system where they use touch and taps.
  • The deaf team no longer use huddles as they play many hearing teams now, who don’t know sign language, so there’s no need.
  • I used to be fluent in American Sign Language and Sign Exact English.
  • I studied it in college and used to dream in sign.

Links:


Word of the Day!

VACUOUS

adjective

Having or showing a lack of ideas, intelligence, or serious thought; mindless.

“He had a vacuous expression on his face.”


That’s it for Coffee Talk with Carrie. Remember to Upvote and Follow for more fun-loving, weird, and interesting topics to bring to your water cooler and dinner table.

discuss.png

Thoughts on today’s show? Tell me about it, down below.

And finally…. Did you know?🤔

alz.png


Latest Episodes


New here? Wanna know a Steemit Secret? Check out The Secret to Earning Followers by @chrisroberts. He just may be on to something... 😎


Need help formatting your posts? Check out this great (if I do say so myself) tutorial:

Are you stealing Google images?! Learn how to do it LEGALLY:


If you find yourself needing help or just have a question or two, find me on Discord.😀


All images were created/taken by me, or from Bitmoji.com. Make your own today!


As always, thanks for stopping by!

Hugs & Kisses 💋carrie signature.gif

thealliance we got this trans.png

carrieallen signature 3.png

Proud to be a.png

steemusa carrie long.png

Sort:  

Good stuff @carrieallen. Big college fan. Love the hand to butt thing lol

just upvote bunny.gif

Bwhahaha!
I mean, I've always thought the butt-touch was a little weird, but it makes sense if it originated with folks who couldn't hear.
Still funny how things can get adopted. :)

Wow, very interesting video. Thanks for it. By the way I think I will never be alzheimer because I drink a lot of cup of coffee everyday :)

LOL! Me too. :-)

I thought that random fact was a pretty good one. ;)

Excellent Once Your Posts, I hope you can like my submissions and upvote my account as well.Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85