🌟Star Collision Creates Space Gold!🌟- ☕Coffee Talk with Carrie - E18☕

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Star Collision Creates Space Gold!.png

Good Morning! Good Afternoon! AND Good Evening!

You’ve stumbled across “Coffee Talk with Carrie”!

And I’m Carrie!


Whoops! That's wine Carrie...

Today's Topic: 🌟Star Collision Creates Space Gold!🌟

TL; DW (Too Long; Didn’t Watch)

  • In August 2017, an explosion was spotted by scientists in a previously obscure galaxy called NGC 4993.
  • It made gold!
  • Two neutron (very dense) stars collided causing tiny ripples in the fabric of space.
  • The collision propelled debris into space at 300 million kilometers per hour.
  • Scientists estimate it created at least as much gold as the mass of the Earth.
  • That is 6 billion trillion (6,000,000,000,000,000,000,000) TONS of gold.
  • In all of known civilization, only 186,000 tons of gold have been extracted.
  • Scientists assume this kind of collision only happens once every 10,000 years in the Milky Way Galaxy.
  • At least 10,000 Earths worth of debris containing precious metals resulted from this collision, only one “Earth” being gold.

Links:


Word of the Day!

Luminous

adjective

Radiating or reflecting light; shining.

“The collision was surprisingly luminous.”


That’s it for Coffee Talk with Carrie. Remember to Upvote and Follow for more fun-loving, weird, and interesting topics to bring to your water cooler and dinner table.

discuss.png

Thoughts on today’s show? Tell me about it, down below.


Wanna see more of me? I've started a new Radio Podcast show!

Time: TUESDAYS 12 AM UTC.

In the United States? Here are my show times:

MONDAYS 5 PM Pacific
MONDAYS 6 PM MTN
MONDAYS 7 PM Central
MONDAYS 8 PM Eastern

Where to Watch/Listen

Discord
Twitch
:SteemStar.Net Live Stream 24/7/265
YouTube SteemStar Network

see ya there.png

rainbow motion.gif

LATEST EPISODES (... not so recent...😏 )


Need help formatting your posts? Check out this great (if I do say so myself) tutorial:

Are you stealing Google images?! Learn how to do it LEGALLY:


If you find yourself needing help or just have a question or two, find me on Discord.😀


All images were created/taken by me, or from Bitmoji.com. Make your own today!


As always, thanks for stopping by!

Hugs & Kisses 💋carrie signature.gif

thealliance we got this trans.png

carrieallen signature 3.png

Proud to be a.png

steemusa carrie long.png

Sort:  

I've been trying to figure out what's been missing the last few weeks. @carrieallen, of course.

Absolutely I wanna see more of you, but will @chrisroberts mind?

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Naw, Chris prefers you do. 😎

PPS: When do we get the gold?

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I only kinda do math... but based on the given info

  • Earth-sized amount of gold (6 trillion billion tons)
  • Flying through the Universe at 300 million kph
  • 300 million kph is about 1/3 the speed of light
  • The collision happened about 130 million light years away

Answer: I got nothin'!

But I bet SOMEONE out there could figure it out... I probably could too, but haven't had any coffee yet...😏

This video deserves a gold star! Haha, see what I did there, gold star.

The luminosity of your video was great. You must have some good lights.

You did it! You win! But...

It's a secret... the others wouldn't understand.

Winky-smiley, Carrie. Winky-smiley.

Oh by the bye, I've let slip more secrets about me recently, 'cept one of them isn't.

https://steemit.com/tenfactsonelie/@catweasel/ten-facts-one-lie-need-i-say-catweasel-style

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Nice share. It's interest @carrieallen ◕ ‿ ◕✿

Wow, give me just a little bitty sliver of that Gold, please :)

It's en route. But your guess is as good as mine as to when it will arrive. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63564.17
ETH 3401.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45