A Guide to steemit for Charities - anyone interested in collaborating on this?

in #promo-steem7 years ago

Running the A Dollar A Day daily giving project for the past couple of months made me aware of the massive potential steemit and the steem blockchain have for raising funds for charities and charitable causes.

Just in a few short weeks the four of us contributing to the A Dollar A Day project raised the equivalent of almost US$1000.

That didn't involve any great fundraising efforts or events it was just through contributing a small portion of the rewards we had been earning through our usual activities on steemit.

Through the project I got to know some wonderfully dedicated people on the platform who are involved in raising awareness and funds for charitable causes around the world.

These include @azizbd and his @schoolforsdg4 in Bangladesh, @surfermarly and her @dreamsoftheocean project in the Canary Islands, Stephen and Marian and the @papilloncharity in South Africa, @RhondaK and the @tarc animal rescue centre in the USA, and @SirCork and his global blockchain charity @YouAreHope.

Although I am sure there are other charities and charitable causes on steemit I don't believe there are many more.

Steemit so far is largely untapped territory for charitable fundraising.

As the numbers on the platform grow there will be plenty of scope for more charities to get onboard to raise funds and awareness.

The number of charities finding steemit will no doubt grow organically as awareness spreads.

But charities might be an interesting niche to proactively market steemit to. In limited number to start at least.

As part of this it might be useful to provide some sort of miniguide :

"How to use steemit as a charity"

Of course most of the common principles of steemit would be the same for a charity as they are for any newcomer to the platform - post quality content, network and build connections, be consistent and persistent...

But there would be some elements of steemit life that would be quite particular to charities - especially around openness and transparency of financial reporting.


A Guide to steemit for Charities might include :

  • What is steemit
  • Getting known on steemit
  • What to post and how often
  • Using DTube with steemit
  • How to raise funds on steemit
  • Selling merchandise on steemit
  • Using steemit with other social media
  • Campaigning and promotion on steemit
  • Financial reporting and transparency
  • Withdrawing funds from steemit

While I have had some experience with charities as a volunteer, an employee, a director and a trustee that has been for relatively brief periods and mostly many years ago.

I would therefore be very keen to collaborate on the guide with others on steemit that are actively involved in charitable organisations.

I am happy to coordinate the project and pull it all together but I would welcome input, ideas, suggestions, case studies etc



In the first instance, if you are at all interested, please let me know in the comments below your thoughts on these questions :

1. Is steemit a suitable platform for charities?
2. Would a specific guide for charities on steemit be useful?
3. Are there any areas I have missed in the potential content list for the guide?
4. Would you be interested in contributing to the guide? If so how?

You can also message me on Discord @pennsif#9921



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :





[ money image from pixabay - Creative Commons CC0 // graphics by @pennsif ]

Sort:  

@pennsif, let me know how I can help.

me too. I raised some money for our local ambucopter months ago via steemit - trying to do my bit since I've had to use it twice.

I may have to do another round of raising money and awareness for them.

Thank you @stormriderstudio.

Any thoughts on the content list initially would be useful.

Hi @rhondak, that will be great, thank you.

In the first instance do you think the outline content list I have put up would cover everything a new charity coming to steemit might need to know?

A Guide to steemit for Charities might include :

  • What is steemit
  • Getting known on steemit
  • What to post and how often
  • Using DTube with steemit
  • How to raise funds on steemit
  • Selling merchandise on steemit
  • Using steemit with other social media
  • Campaigning and promotion on steemit
  • Financial reporting and transparency
  • Withdrawing funds from steemit

When I first learned about Steemit, that's where my mind went--what a wonderful environment for charities. I'm so glad to see you doing this.

Thank you.

Well done boss,really like your contributions

Thank you.

Thanks for the effort and promoting and helping the charitable deeds. Although, The @womenempowerment is not fully charitable cause as I am trying to find orders and sell products so I can expand the opportunities for underprivileged women and for myself and reinvest some profit. what I want to accomplish is to achieve my career objective by sharing wealth with my community. The success will be true success of my career and success will impact my community. I really respect your generous support to all these cause.

Wow I certainly would like to know how to do a proper charity on steemit. Love to hear your story!

Stay tuned...

This is such a great project and initiative, thanks for listing the charities I couple i knew of and a couple i didnt and will go and check them now

What a fantastic idea! I think that it would be a huge help, as I also think that Steemit is a great place for charities.
I recently started sharing my stories as a volunteer with Animal Care Austria and all of the money from these posts will be donated to them. I hope to get them to open an official page here soon, but I am not totally sure of all of the legal aspects of getting cryptos as a charity, I am not sure if there would be any trickeries in that, so I would love to read a guid that could help us! And if there is a way for me to contribute to it, I will be more than happy to ^_^
Thank you!! <3

Thank you for this. Let me know if Animal Care Austria do join steemit.

Will do :)
Thank you!

Great stuff! We need to raise awareness about this on multiple channels (Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, message boards, friends and acquaintances, etc.) so that people see the message coming at them from different directions.

If we can get a pilot completed, one where we've funded a real-world organisation to accomplish some project, it might be newsworthy enough to get picked up by traditional media (after we go hell-for-leather contacting them with the information).

That is very true. There is only a small range of charitable causes on steemit so far. Will be interesting to see if others arrive soon.

I’d be willing to contribute any graphics for the guide. A few infographics can go a long way.

Hi @theferalone, thank you for the kind offer. I will definitely be in touch when I reach that stage.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #10 (1/7/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43