A Dollar A Day : crikey, an 1100% increase in a month - is my maths right?

in #charity7 years ago

I started my A Dollar A Day giving project a month ago on 7 November.

When I first had the idea I chose to donate 1 SBD (steem backed dollar) each day, rather than 1 steem, just for the alliteration.

How lucky that alliteration has proved to be!

At the start more or less, one SBD equalled one steem. And one steem more or less equalled one US dollar.

Then in the last week or so it all started to go wild.

The value of the SBDs that I was donating started to climb and climb and climb. One SBD is currently buying around 6.5 steem. That's a real win for the charities I have been donating to.

Then last night, the cryptogods finally poured some love on steem and it started to rise peaking at over $2.

As I write steem stands at US $1.87.

With these two favourable movements my Dollar A Day has progressed to become worth around US $12.

If my mathematics are correct that is a massive 1100% up from where I started out.

This is all good for the charitable causes I donate to.

My dollar a day has turned into around US $12 a day. And to make it even better @GMuxx and @Mother2Chicks have joined me in My Dollar A Day giving.

Between the three of us we are now donating around US $36 a day to the chosen causes.

@hopehuggs has been making #adollaraday donations as well.

The benefits are already being seen.

For example with the extra funds coming in Mohammed ( @azizbd ) is now able to buy the modem etc this week for @schoolforsdg4. Originally we had thought it would take the whole month to save for this.

Some funding has also been sent via @YouAreHope to help @malos10 with his latest clothing initiative in Venezuela.

Today's donation has gone to @tarc to help @rhondak and the Rescue Centre get their water line and sewer line fixed before the hard freezing weather sets in.


The power of steem and steemit just keep rising every day.

This platform excites me.

With vision, good fortune and the willingness to try the people of steem have the power to do good things.



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

[money image from pixabay - Creative Commons CC0 // classroom image from @schoolforsdg4 ]

Sort:  

Thank you so much for this! It helps tremendously.

My two new puppies are very keen to help the Rescue Centre. Bertie and Betsan say hi!

Dawww!!! I saw this picture the other day. They are just adorable. :-)

We need more people to share in the spirit of giving for Christmas! 🐓🐓

That sure would be good for more people to join in.

Thank you for being part of the A Dollar A Day project.

That's the way it should be! Doesn't it feel much more empowering than to give to a faceless organisation, where you don't know what your money will be spent on?
Keep up the good work and God bless you for it.

Thank you. I have enjoyed very much getting to know the people involved in the projects I donate to. That really makes the giving more meaningful.

Great initiative you’ve got going.
These STEEM and SBD pricing has been an unexpected moonshot.

Thank you. I was enjoying it before, but now with these exchange / price increase wins it is becoming even more worth while.

thanks for sharing this post.

You are welcome.

I thank you so much for giving a very important news

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 60616.50
ETH 2911.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46