The Festive Follower Freebie - a Festive Season Giveaway for all my followers (update)

in #giveaway7 years ago

Eight days ago I posted about my plan to visit every one of my followers to get to know them and leave a little festive upvote.

This has been an absolutely fascinating project. I am being followed by all sorts of people, all around the world with a vast range of posting interests.

It is taking me much longer than I had planned partly because I stop to read so many interesting posts as I go round and partly because I am tending to upvote at a higher percentage than I initially envisaged so I am having to pace myself to maintain sufficient voting power.

I will be continuing with this project until I have been round all my followers. When I started I had 888 followers, that has now grown to 961. When I get to the end if you think I have missed you do let me know. I expect I will be finished around the middle of next week.

As I travel round my followers, as well as reading all the posts I am keeping some basic statistics about the status of all the people I visit.

While they are not really surprising the statistics do make for some interesting reading.

I will make a post at the end with the full stats but a snapshot so far reveals that 42% of my followers either never posted or have not been active for a month or more.

Interestingly exactly the same percentage, 42%, are posting regularly with 'proper' posts.

The remainder, ie around 16%, are active but posting meaningless (sh*t) posts.

I wonder how representative these figures are for steemit as a whole?

Oddly the inactive follower percentage is significantly higher than the corresponding figure from the Dead Followers app :

This gives a dead/inactive (one month) follower percentage of around 30%.

I will wait until the end to see how the final figures tally.

Keep on following and will be with you soon (if I haven't been already).



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :



I am in the market for buying steem directly.

I can pay by BACS, PayPal, or Amazon Gift Cards.

For more details check my post :



[ graphic by @pennsif ]

Sort:  

The stats on your findings are very interesting. I’m only posting a couple times a week, but I’m trying to step it up. I’m so afraid of being a part of the s&!t posts! I hope I’m not one of those!!

My votes aren’t worth much, but I’m inspired to spend time getting to know those who are following me. What a great idea! Thank you!

Your posts are well presented and full of useful information - definitely not s&!t posts.

Keep at it, produce as many posts as you can each week, and comment as much as possible and you will soon start to grow on steemit.

Feel free to message me on the Homesteaders Discord if I miss any of your posts.

Whew! Good to know. I've visited Discord, but just kind of looked around. I plan to get active there soon.

Thanks from across the pond for all the help!!

Looking forward to working more with you ... and to learning about bees.

I like your approach, using some statistics. I can't wait to see your final information then I may compare mine but I am following a few less since my time on steemit has been less.

Yes I am interested to see how the final statistics work out.

Nice to know you. Thanks for the upvote earlier. It is cool how there are people here from all over.

Good to meet you too.

This is quite the challenge you have taken on. I think it's a really neat idea and MAY even give something like this a try myself.
Thanks for visiting and thanks for the creating a challenge for others.
Happy New Year!

This is such a great idea!! I totally would do that too - but am pretty committed to the freewriters right now and reading all the wonderful post and giving them a vote leaves very little time. But I think I will try it at least.
did you put everyone into a spreadsheet or how are you keeping track?

Though I've not done such extensive research yet, my findings are quite similar.

And out of almost 800 followers I have about 5 that are regular supporters.

I don't know if there's a way to combat this, as going inactive isn't the same as old social media cause there's money involved.

I do like the extras and add ons that allow me to SEE all of these stats at a glance.

Good luck on your journey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48