My Childhood Days in the Home Counties of England, 1964-65 (part 2)

in #dtube6 years ago


This is original unedited digitised cine film footage of my childhood days in the Home Counties, England in 1964 and 1965.

Included in this film are :

  • Me and my sisters building a snowman. We used coal for the eyes, nose and buttons, and toilet paper for the scarf. I am not sure why my elder sister was not wearing a coat or gloves.
  • My younger sister with her new bike. It was a big deal to get a new bike in those days. She was very proud of it.
  • Me shooting out of the bedroom window.
  • My elder sister and my mum having a go on the new bike.
  • Our 'gang' in the cow field opposite our house.

The film was Standard 8mm cine film without sound.

You can see the previous movie in this series at :


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Did I see a motorcyclist go by half way through without a helmet? I love these pre safety-era videos of childhood!

What you have here must actually be extremely rare! I don't imagine that many people had video recorders for use at home in the mid 1960s.

We didn't even get a VCR until 1984, and I had to wait until 1990 to get my hands on a video camera via my school!

Looking back on these old films I see a lot that would not be seen today on the grounds of sexism, racism and health and safety. That was of course of a reflection of the time when those terms had barely been invented and certainly weren't in everyday parlance.

Nothing stopped us back then from having a good time. Who needs a helmet? I see a lot of things that would not be acceptable in today's society. These videos are a perfect reflection of those particular times.

It has more than once occurred to me that kids from now can look at those and be horrified and amazed that any of us survived - not only did some cars not have seatbelts but kids would argue about who got to sit in the front(suicide) seat! I once asked my grandmother about something they used to do back in her day and she replied "That's just the way it was then." It was something that was so foreign that we just couldn't conceive of the logic of doing it that way.

It's a little crazy how differing education of 1 or 2 generations can so completely change the details of how we live that it changes the normal into the wildly insane.

That reminded me of my dad's old works van.

It had two seats at the front for my mum and dad, and then us three children were just rolling around in the back - there were no seats or seatbelts. Just a few old sacks if we were lucky!

I vividly remember having my folks in the front of the stationwagon, my grandparents in the back seat with a couple kids and the rest of us having to ride in the back. We never would have fit if we had to wear seatbelts.

We lived through those days ... and we survived !

We not only survived...we thrived!

Congratulations @pennsif! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.72
ETH 3377.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52