Poetry Slam Challenge 10: Poetry Pot Luck

in #poetry8 years ago

Hello you beautiful Steemians! It's been a while since we've had a Poetry Slam Challenge, though it has been great to see other poetry contests spring up in my absence. @robyneggs has a very cool poetry dice challenge that she throws when she isn't ferrying people about her city as a driver, and the beloved @papa-pepper has gotten in on the action with Round 4 of his Wild and Strange Contest - Poetry. Great job to them, and to everyone who participated and shared work!

The theme for this challenge is POT LUCK!! If you aren't familiar with what a "pot luck" is, it is a gathering of friends, co-workers, or family, where each person brings a prepared dish to share with the others. It is a great way to strengthen bonds between people because, let's face it, we spend most of our time on this planet eating.

For a poetry pot luck, you will need to prepare a poem that best reflects your opinion or voice. This means that you can use any style of poetry you'd like, or none at all! Though you don't have to, I would encourage the use of imagery or gifs to help bring a visual perspective to your piece, Steemians are often visual people :)


Here's an original poem to serve as an example of a submission:

Poetry Slam Challenge 10: Alien Me (Original)


What if we are the aliens we seek,
our boat a comet from where we called home,
that carried us through an inky black space,
sheathed in fire, bacteria on stone.

If we could return to the land we left,
traveling backwards through the comet's path
what world and people would we find left there,
and would that remnant call us "Alien"?

A foreign parent to a foreign child
would our estrangement preclude relations?
Could we be seen as a rebel offshoot,
a cosmic mistake no one intended?

I'd like to think we are the aliens,
suited but not meant to be on this rock,
gone astray on our interstellar path
that really had no direction to start.

@prufarchy

  • Images sourced from Pixabay and/or Giphy.com

Rules (No Rulers)

Post your entry on your own blog and tag it #poetryslamchallenge , that way you can earn for your own work while still competing for the Slam Prizes!

  • Please title your entry post clearly. For example:
    (Poetry Slam Challenge 10: (Title of your work))
  • Make sure to identify where you sourced your awesome photo/gif from!
LPT (Life Pro Tip): If you want to make sure I see your entry (sometimes I'm asleep or out of town with bad service), make sure to mention @prufarchy anywhere in your post. That will alert me via eSteem notification on my mobile (Thanks @good-karma I'm still loving this app!). I regularly check the poetryslamchallenge tag, but I may not check it in time to vote on your poem and I want to!

Deadline: This challenge will end with 2016 on Saturday, December 31st by Midnight (UTC -4). The results will follow shortly after that!

Prizes:

1st Place - 50 Steem

2nd Place - 30 Steem

3rd Place - 10 Steem

Honorable Mentions - 5 Steem

Sharing is caring. Resteeming this post helps spread the poetry slam which means MOAR poetry for all of us to enjoy so consider sharing this post! Good Luck, Poets!





Sort:  
Loading...

Woohoo thanks for being the First entry! I love Haikus AND geeking out on films, games, books and tv ;)

The Poetry Slam Challenge is BACK!

Excellent idea, and I really like it!

Perhaps I'll even enter.....

That would be awesome :) You've been a regular at the slams -- all the way back to the first one where you placed 2nd!

I'm always looking forward to what that Wild and Strange mind will conjure ;)

That'll be coming in a few hours!

Hey hey hey its back!! Man I have missed this, I don't think I have written any poetry since the last one in honour of and so as not to be faithless to The Slam!!

That's amazing, I can't wait to see what you bring to the 10th and final PoetryPot Luck of 2016. I'm bringing Brussel sprouts ;)

Aaah, the likelihood is that I will bring cabbage!

Lovely! Best writer in Harlem!

So glad you and the competition are back, thanks again for all your efforts and community contributions.
Here is my entry
https://steemit.com/poetryslamchallenge/@verbal-d/poetry-slam-challenge-10-poetry-pot-luck-entry-the-creative-process-original-poem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51