Poetry Slam Challenge 11: I Deliver You Zero, So Be Your Own HerosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

You have plucked refuse from the ocean,
It contains no wisdom, no potion.
Just an egocentric notion,
No healing tonic or lotion.

I locked up my truth inside of a jar,
And sent it away to someone afar.
My life was unraveling it was coming undone,
So I bottled myself as a prize to be won.

Do not invest in the words that you read,
It is only your thought on which you should feed.
My invalid existence has taken it's toll,
Empty promises bottled to revive my soul.

I have no answers,
No mystic advances.
No rhyme that is new,
No message that's true.

Garbage parading as treasure,
Over valued illusions of pleasure.
You won't like what I write,
Won't help you sleep at night.

No lullaby,
No alibi.
No cure for what ails,
No muting the wails.

I bring you no luck,
No fortune struck.
No lucky charm,
No nurturing arms.

Don't look to the oceans or skies for your truth,
Don't seek answers from mystics, or psychics or sleuths.
You are the author, the captain, the Queen,
You are the narrator of this scene that you dream.

Invest even a slither of the hope that you sling,
To distance spots in the sky, to the darkness you sing.
No one exists that knows who you are,
As well as you already know you're a star.

You don't need hope that is flung from afar,
Over the hardest of days you have survived so far.
So stop pushing away all the things you call shit,
Accept that it's yours, relax and just sit.

A well balanced life is an intrinsic factor,

It's not the opinions of strangers that litter that matter.

Sort:  

You are the author, the captain, the Queen,
You are the narrator of this scene that you dream

Excellent poem! This is why I love steemit so much, so many like-minded people writing about revelations that you've had yourself.

My theme since I got here has been that it's time for the dreamers, the inventors, the artists, those who create. It's time to write our own scripts ;) I'm glad I noticed you on my follow list, following you back.

What a beautiful comment. I do like pieces of this entry, but not sure I completely pulled it together.
I wish I had more time for steemit. I enjoy it too, life doesn't give me much time to work on posts, then I smash something out, and then ruminate on parts that are not quite right.
It would be nice to have the time to do a second draft.
Yes, I reall appreciate your perspectives too 😊

Excellent!! I particularly liked
My life was unraveling it was coming undone,
So I bottled myself as a prize to be won.
!!!

Really nice poem of raw and straightforward expression. Definitely a great entry and enjoyed reading it. Best of luck in the challenge. Upvoted

PS: Towards the end, is it supposed to "Accept" instead of "Except"? If yes, and you fix it, I'll delete this portion of the comment either way.

I will correct it, but don't delete this. I have been very open about my dyslexia and how it is exacerbated when tired and writing at midnight.
I'm grateful for the feedback, and more than happy to air my mistakes.

My writing was so poor at school that I hadn't even so much as attempted any form of creative writing until I came across the slam, (many years post school days.)

Thanks

I'm constantly changing and editing my posts, and I'm an English major with a focus in Creative Writing! Which counts not for much since I'm clumsy, forgetful and too quick for my own good with writing lol I'm only human and so are you. I don't delete anything don't worry, and I completely understand.
You're most welcome and that is great that you took up creative writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51