Poetry Slam Challenge 8: If I Ruled the World

in #poetry8 years ago

Congratulations to the winners of Slam Challenge 7!

1st Place - 30 STEEM

@naquoya

The Devil With the Fire in its Eyes


2nd Place - 20 STEEM

@thechosenwhan

Playing Man


3rd Place - 10 STEEM

@marialin

Wed the Storm


Honorable Mention 5 STEEM

@allmonitors - When Human Meets Reality

@switapril - Nightfall

@shortcut - The Light at the Edge of the World

@ace108 - Whispers of a Castle

There were such great entries this week, all of you participants took it to another level! I enjoyed seeing Photo-poetry in multiple languages and even on Gif's! Thank you to everyone who participates and makes this community what it is: GREAT!

Please be patient as your STEEM gets transferred. It should be there within 24 hours :) If you'd like to contribute to the Poetry Slam Challenge, you can contact me in steemit chat (prufarchy), or go ahead and send some SBD/STEEM with "Poetry Slam Challenge" in the memo. Thanks for supporting the arts on Steemit, this challenge and you participants have produced amazing work and continue to inspire and impress!


This week I wanted to put a little structure into the challenge in a fun and engaging way. "If I Ruled the World" presents you with a basic structure and you fill in the blanks. Here's the template:

Line 1: If I ruled the world
Line 2: I'd (Write first thing you would do here)
Line 3: (Second thing you would do here)
Line 4: (Third thing you would do here)
Line 5: If I ruled the world
Line 6: There'd be (Fourth thing you would do here)
Line 7: (Fifth thing you would do here)
Line 8: (Sixth thing you would do here)
Line 9: If I ruled the world
Line 10: You wouldn't (Seventh detail here)
Line 11: You wouldn't (Eight detail here)
Line 12: You wouldn't (Ninth detail here)
Line 13: Or (tenth detail here)
Line 14: If I ruled the world.

Here's an original poem by me, for example:

Poetry Slam Challenge 7: World King (Original)

If I ruled the world
I'd make war uncool and offensive,
encourage all the world to mock the violent
and find better ways to reward peace.
If I ruled the world
There'd be four day weekends
and six hour work days
and an economy that promotes passion.
If I ruled the world
You wouldn't see wanton destruction
You wouldn't hear of banks owning humans
You wouldn't have to choose between family and money
Or neither.
If I ruled the world.

The Technicals:

  • Post your entry on your own blog and tag it #poetryslamchallenge
  • Please title your entry post clearly. For example:
    (Poetry Slam Challenge 7: (Title of your work))
  • There are no rules regarding imagery, feel free to use public domain or images with appropriate CC0 licensing.

Deadline: The last day for the challenge is Saturday, October 29th Midnight (UTC -4). The results will follow on Sunday or Monday morning, followed by a fresh challenge!

Good luck, Poets! And thanks for continuing to inspire the community with your art!



Sort:  

If I ruled the world...

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Thanks a lot for the mention and for your encouragement, @prufarchy!
Great contest with awesome entries everybody!

Congrats to the winners! Looking forward to this theme!

Oh man... if @meesterboom ruled the world...

I can get into it :)

Hehe, I see some fun ahead!

Thank you @prufarchy. I greatly appreciate the acknowledgement. Great entries as always. Looking forward to next week.

Thank you for participating!

Thank you for choosing me :) looking forward to this one as well

Thanks for the mention. Thanks for running this.
Perhaps, may rest this one out. Need to get back to some of the post I've been delaying. :-)

You definitely earned a break :) great work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51