Poetry Slam Challenge 5 - Limericks!

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Congratulations to the winners of Slam Challenge #4

1st Place - 30 SBD

@richardjuckes

On a Day Like This


2nd Place - 20 SBD

@modernbukowski

Chain Drop


3rd Place - 10 SBD

@puffin

Regretful Back View on a Blatant Life


Honorable Mention 5 SBD

@naquoya - Burn it Down

@verbal-d - Vicious Circle

@shortcut - Ping Pong

Thanks to all the participants, the level of talent in this community continues to inspire!

SBD rewards should be sent out by the end of the day.



source

We can all use some laughter and levity in our lives, and Limericks are a fun way to practice rhyming, flow, and even humor. The guidelines to create a Limerick are pretty straightforward:

  • They are five lines long.
  • Lines 1, 2, and 5 rhyme with one another.
  • Lines 3 and 4 rhyme with each other.
  • They are usually funny.

Here's an example:

Posting on Steemit (Original) -

There once was a post on Steemit

But hardly a soul had seen it

The author misstepped

and ruined his rep

I hear he has traction on Venus.


The Technicals:

  • Post your entry on your own blog and tag it #poetryslamchallenge
  • Please title your entry post clearly. For example:
    (Poetry Slam Challenge 5: (Title of your work)
  • Since Limericks tend to be funny, your image should make us all laugh. It does not need to be original work, but must be public domain or otherwise free to use.
  • You can post up to 3 entries on one post so let your creative juices flow! Just make sure they are clearly separated in the post.
    Deadline: The last day for the challenge is Friday, October 7th Midnight (UTC -4). Please exercise patience while the judges make their decisions. The results should be released during the weekend, with a fresh challenge to follow!

Good luck, Poets!


Thank you to those who help to keep this challenge going: The participants! Also, @serejandmyself @timsaid

Sort:  

This need so much more attention! Such a great community project is going on here. Most of the rewards are paid from your own and yet you give more than you receive. Much respect and successes to you buddy.

Hope I can donate more soon

Snap! My most successful post to date was for this challenge and had wonderful reviews; I'm surprised I didn't get mentioned to be honest I was very excited... but then I went through and read all the winners... THEY KILLED IT! Wonderful poetry. Grateful for the inspiration these challenges provide... Congrats to all, good times!

I LOVED your entry! I'm starting to see more and more of the slam entries do really well and it's well deserved :) I try to do the best I can with the prize pool available I wish I could give more. Thank you for the beautiful entry

Thanks! Psyched for the next one :)

Thanks for doing this..You inspire me to have a go at writing poetry..I may be rubbish but I find the challenge quite therapeutic, like meditation!

Thank you for the honorable mention and congrats to all the other winners!

Worthy winners all! Congratulations. I love the poems this contest inspires!

This one will be fun! I just wrote my first one, will put it up tomorrow morning.

What an honor it is to receive an honorable mention. I do appreciate the acknowledgement and congrats to all the winners. Thank you again and I look forward to the next challenge. We are all talented in our own way and it's a beautiful things to see us all excel in our own lanes of success. Steem on!

This is a worthwhile blog!

Thank you. I am overwhelmed, more than happy that you liked my poem.

Great content @richardjuckes. Well deserved!

Once again multiple thanks to @prufarchy, @serejandmyself and @timsaid

Woot, congrats Richard and all the other winners!
Hmmmn limericks usually mean bad jokes, I hope this changes them to good ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51