Poetry Slam Challenge 9: What If?

in #poetry8 years ago

Congratulations to the winners of Slam Challenge 8!

1st Place - 30 STEEM

@shredlord

Bananas


2nd Place - 20 STEEM

@meesterboom

Statues of Me


3rd Place - 10 STEEM

@girlbeforemirror

We'd All Be Fu*#ked


Honorable Mention 5 STEEM

@robyneggs - You WILL Love Me

@justiceforall - King of Destruction

@verbal-d - Altruism

@jyezie - The Eclipse

I want to live in all the worlds you poets presented this week... well, maybe not @justiceforall 's... but it did give me a good Halloween scare! Thanks for participating and producing such great content for these Slams!

Please be patient as your STEEM gets transferred. It should be there within 24 hours :) If you'd like to contribute to the Poetry Slam Challenge, you can contact me in steemit chat (prufarchy), or go ahead and send some SBD/STEEM with "Poetry Slam Challenge" in the memo. Thanks for supporting the arts on Steemit, this challenge and you participants have produced amazing work and continue to inspire and impress!


It was so great to see what everyone would do if they ruled the world! Now I want to loosen that up a bit and just ask "What If?". Use the following structure to shape your poem:

Line 1: What if (a imaginary happening)
Line 2: I might (What might you do?)
Line 3: What if (a imaginary happening)
Line 4: I could (What could you do?)
Line 5: What if (a imaginary happening)
Line 6: I would (What would you do?)
Line 7: (Finish with a question that relates)

Here's an original poem by me, for example:

Poetry Slam Challenge 9: Magic Missionary (Original)

What if magic took over the world?
I might learn to levitate or turn lead to gold
What if spells replaced games and potions replaced booze
I could drink all night and cast until dawn
What if magic already exists?
I would seek in myself this mystical energy.
Are we not all of us already users of magic?

The Technicals:

  • Post your entry on your own blog and tag it #poetryslamchallenge
  • Please title your entry post clearly. For example:
    (Poetry Slam Challenge 9: (Title of your work))
  • There are no rules regarding imagery, feel free to use public domain or images with appropriate CC0 licensing.

Deadline: The last day for the challenge is Saturday, November 5th Midnight (UTC -4). The results will follow on Sunday or Monday morning, followed by a fresh challenge!

Good luck, Poets! Thanks for contributing to quality content on Steemit!



Sort:  

Woohoo! Congrats to all the playas and winners!!

I love this challenge in so many ways! I genuinely didnt think I would manage an entry this week but then that dratted muse bopped me one on the nose and told me to throw away my pretentiously portentious drafts and just chill!

Yeah man, just chili out ;)

Always chilli'ing out! hehe

wooo that's so awesome :D Thanks a heap everyone. Love this challenge. I normally write poetry and lyrics on my phone before I fall asleep at night so I feel like poetry comes pretty natural to me for this. I don't know why I do it or what the point is, but I've had a fascination with language, patterns, metaphors, riddles, rhymes and particularly song lyrics for a long time, so this is where a lot of that drive comes from. Thanks again Prufarchy and Steemians. My week/weekend has been made :D

Yay I got a mention! Finally. I did rack my brain to present different feelings. Thanks for the challenge again. And congrats and good luck to everyone who have been participating and continue week by week.

Thank you very much for the honorable mention and reward. Congratulations to all winners and inspiration from all participants. Let's keep the morale high and I look forward to everyone's What If poems as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57142.21
ETH 2984.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25