Poetry Slam Challenge #3 - Acrostic

in #poetry8 years ago

Welcome to the 3rd Poetry Slam! Dig deep, win prizes and be part of the community!

This challenge is all about Acrostics! These are poems where the first letter in each line start a sentence. Your challenge is to use your Steemit username to create an Acrostic, and here's an example:

Work, Life?

Papers rustling on a desk,
Released into the air,
Unraveling in flight
Freeing me from secrets
And also myself.
Reaching for my former prison,
Catching hints from forms in free-fall,
Hoping for some new bit of news.
Years stretch on, uninformed.

You may make your acrostic about any theme, but it should make sense and flow.

Terms

  • Upvote this post, SBD prizes are great to give out and come from somewhere. All donations or earnings go back into the challenge and allow for more prizes and fun give-aways.
  • Entries should be titled Poetry Slam Challenge #3: (name of poem). A mistitled entry could be missed, so make sure to follow the naming convention!
  • Make sure to use the tag poetryslamchallenge so everyone can easily see all the entries and read along, vote and comment.
  • Original artwork or photography (processed is ok) stands out above the rest and gives your piece a more intimate vibe.
  • This challenge will run from today Sunday September 18 through the work week, and end on Friday September 23rd.

Prizes:

There will be SBD prizes for this challenge, which are as of now TBD. Stay tuned for an update on that!



Good Luck, and Write On!

If you're enjoying the Poetry Slam Challenges, consider sharing this post. Helping to develop this community through sharing is the greatest compliment and show of support you can give.

Special thanks to those who help make this happen, and the authors who participate, and anyone who reads, enjoys and votes on the work!

Sort:  

I am so glad to see this is getting the attention it deserves! Acrostic is very difficult, good luck to all!

I am still loving watching this activity bro and seeing the creativity it is stimulating. Keep steeming on rockstar!

Thanks! I wanted to see more art and poetry from around the platform, trying to be the change I'd like to see and whatnot ;)

Great contest. Great idea @prufarchy. Great Poems! I will enjoy reading myself through them.

Just entered:

The nonexistent green businessman

https://steemit.com/poetryslamchallenge/@puffin/the-green-businessman-original-acrostic-poem-poetry-slam-challenge-3

Nice contest! Thanks for putting it together, best of luck to everyone!
Here’s what I came up with: https://steemit.com/poetryslamchallenge/@lightsplasher/poetry-slam-challenge-3-intelligence-without-malice

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Excellent, Papa is looking forward to seeing the entries roll in, it's always exciting.

Always excited to have you around papa :)

Also, this is an incredibly great idea for this contest to combine an acrostic with the username, genius!

I really want to participate, but my English is bad :(

I don't think language should be a barrier to entry, ever :)

You should do an Acrostic in your native language as well as in English. If you want someone to look at the English part, I can help out in chat, if you're on chat.

Just let me know!

I'm chatting .
Well, I'll try to write in their native language - in Russian !

Woohoo! Hopefully I can remain focused enough to remember to enter this time! :D

Best of luck to all the contestants! :D

I'll stay on your case to remind you to enter :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39