Satellite (Poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago

shuttle.png

Image Source: Pexels

Satellite

I am a shuttle
and the planet
is my maker.

Its body birthed mine;
from its rock and metal
I became - me.

Preparing for take-off.
One last revision
of all the physics lessons;
I got to find my own way.

The thought of separation
is an anchor that
sinks right to its core;
intense apprehension -
gravitational field augmented.

I orbit -
aimlessly in its atmosphere.
Dichotomy:
caught between the engine thrust
and the gravitational pull.

Struggling to break out,
a rebel without control
forced to obey
the laws of nature.

I was meant to be a shuttle
instead, I became - satellite.



rsz_final_cover.jpg

My new poetry collection, Welcome to the Sombre Days, is published as paperback on Amazon and ebook on Kindle. Each day, I am sharing another poem from the book on Steemit. Here are the available parts so far:

Announcement & Forward
Book Release

Chapter 1: Puppet Strings
#1 - Dancing Queen
#2 - Fruitcake
#3 - The Best of Both Worlds
#4 - Applause
#5 - Hush!
#6 - Inside Me (1)
#7 - Ink-chanted (1)
#8 - Overshadow
#9 - Archetypes
#10 - Same Blood
#11 - Fragments of Memory


IOW COLOR MAP.png art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics


Join the Steemit Poets United on Discord

Designed by @mental-extract

Join Steemit's LGBT+ on Discord


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

That's a cool poem. Especially with everything going on in space right now. Yet there's more going on here. Also, like that you have a book you're promoting. Way to go!

This poem was inspired during a lecture on family systems/dynamics. I projected myself onto a satellite, functionally, even though ideally more like a space shuttle. It was interesting - so I knew what I had to write about as soon as I came home.

As for the book, I see that I am not the only one! It was just released last Friday, so I am hoping that it turns out well :D

Always distinguished

This is nice man :) It is evident that it came instantly from beyond :) That is the poetry I search for :) Thanks or sharing. :)

I did not have to think about this one, it just came to me so easily :) thank you

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by poetrybyjeremy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44