Sort:  

Food poems are always so fun :)

Indeed. Well, there is an extra 'hidden' meaning to the word Fruitcake, which may be used as derogatory term for gay/flamboyant people... although that could be just history nowadays. Thought it was fun to embrace it in that double-meaning.

I saw what you did there 😁 Interestingly, this is lighter in tone than what I expected given the topics your book covers :)

The first few poems deal with childhood, so first is an introduction to younger self, who was much happier. Then, slowly the gloomy days creep upon ;) There has to be a good for the bad to take it away, you know.

Hehe - indeed there does. Looking forward to the progression ;)

nods, it is used here in the U.s to describe someone who is a little crazy. most of my food poetry is not straightforward either ...Unless I am writing about Pie ...Pie is my soulmate it is the food of the Gods ;)

The cool thing about is that one does not need to understand that meaning. It's still a nice food poem :P I loved candy way too much as a child

LOL didn't we all :)

That's true... why did my mind not think of that? Ahahaha! Well, some people don't grow out of it, I have, so I guess it makes sense to link it with my childhood.

May I add a stanza? I invite you to partake/Of my honey coated soul/Knowing it will fill you/ With the sweet peace of my life. Always enjoy your poetry.

Awh, Thank you! Well, you may add it, but of course, I won't add it into the poem/book as editing has been finalised and all that.

I love that you enjoy my poetry. That's a nice stanza, actually; although it would change the subtle tone. It's funny how, in an innocent way, the poem is implying that being called 'fruitcake' is having to do with what I eat, whereas it is simply accepting the derogatory bullying as a form of, "Yes, I'm a fruitcake, and I'm sweet, and I love being this way". I suppose there is a sense of serenity and sweet peace into that - although sourness awaits too.

Oh no! I would not dare impose my verse upon yours! It's just that good poetry prompts me to write also. Blessings.

That's an honour that my poetry inspired you to write. A lot of poetry does make us feel or think about something, and as readers, we interpret it in a unique way which tends to be a voice to our inner self. Thus, it makes sense that we want to continue and echo that we had just read by writing more. I have many poems that take inspiration in content or in style from other poems I loved; it helps me broaden my boundaries and write things that I would love reading.

You know I don't often follow poetry only because I don't feel I have the intelligence to get it!! However this poem I felt like you were writing about me directly. I have a deep problem with sugar that I cannot get enough of it. I appreciate it, thats the bad thing about living here, the cakes with cream is made with confectioners sugar so its sweeter than usual. See look what you made me do, gonna have to go and buy a cake. :D

There's this misconception that you need to be intelligent to understand poetry. Secret: a lot of poets don't even fully understand their own poems. There's art to interpretation, you take what you can understand. Yes, some poets use language that I have never seen before and therefore, I do not understand the language; however, the less sophisticated poets are much more understandable.

As for the content of the poem, I suppose a lot of people do love sweet stuff. This poem falls under the childhood section of my autobiographical collection, so I no longer have that dedication to sweets. One of the main reasons is that a lot of sweets are not vegan. Furthermore, long-term rewards are much better than short-term.

I'm not sure you read the comments before; but there is also a hidden context. Fruitcake can be a 'derogatory' term for us fabulous homo people, so innocently, the child in me assumes that people call me 'fruitcake' because I love to eat it and I am what I eat. It's a innocent and humorous way of embracing myself.

Well, you have to be delicious
sweet craving
Your poem is beautiful, @poetrybyjeremy.

haha, I'm a delicacy! thank you

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 65 (3/6/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Thank youuuu <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64