Sort:  

Nice poem...enjoyed reading it...some great imagery that comes to mind when I read it. Steem on! Upvoted!

Strange how the combined energy of words in a poem seem so simple and yet convey one into the heart and life of another. Thanks for letting us get a glimpse of another world. Blessings.

Words are simple - the way you use them to construct something can be much more. I really liked this poem not for its language, as it is fairly simple and not as what I usually expect of myself, yet its simplicity keeps an innocence and reality that children face. The girls vs boys things should be eliminated, especially in schools. Having girls go to watch Moana and boys the Lego Batman movie is a prime example of sexism in the modern-day society. Based on the gender of young kids, we determine what they will like (I've seen schools do this and have classes watch two different movies depending on their gender, no exception).

I have another unique perspective on this theme: as an astrologer I see that some boys may have certain placements of the Moon in Pisces or Cancer that gives them a definite sensitivity to all energies and emotions. This is most pronounced before the child goes into puberty. It's OK!!! to let a boy be sensitive, to own this trait that is considered, derogatorily by some, to be feminine. The boy may not be gay, or transgender,(and so what if he is!?) he is just blessed with greater feeling capacity. The same can be said for girls. Many of them may exhibit what we consider to be male traits. For Gods sakes! Yes, they do! Let us rejoice and be grateful for our dynamic personalities.

Yeah. The funny thing is when I was 16-18, the girls in my school really liked me because I was sensitive! We can relate more on the same tastes of music, etc. so by not giving every child the same opportunities, you are making it worse for their future communication with the rest of the world, and lots of awkward dating haha

Such a blessing to BE who you are. I spent my childhood trying to please a mother who rejected me and literally threatened to "take me to the orphanage" (I bless her now for the role she played), then I spent 30 years trying to please an unknown God worshipped by a religion that hated me (I was sooooo indoctrinated!), and then 25 years pleasing a spouse, then the majority of my life dancing to cultures demands. Now, at last, I am free! I have learned to love all creatures great and small, all humans in all their dynamic diversity. This gift, this love, was worth all the years of not-Being.

I wouldn't say I'm completely free. I managed to get out of the indoctrination at age 18 or so, even though my mother is extremely religious. Unfortunately, I still deal with letting things go, you know. At times, we might think we're free, but because of that we might be doing the opposite of what we used to, and that may lack freedom in itself, at times/

This poem went a different way than I expected it to. It combines childhood yearning with the nostalgia of adulthood and is very expressive. Thanks for sharing this piece.

There are many experiences of childhood that we never really grow out of; they leave an impression on us. I'm lucky that my parents didn't force me to play with 'boy' toys only or do sports etc. Both of my siblings and me shared our toys and played together, and luckily at home gender did not limit our activities - although society at large doesn't work that way.

Thank you for your comment.

It saddens me to know that many young people go through these tortures of their inner cry.
It is good that nowadays, they emerge as precious chrysalises that will shine beautiful wings and joy in their flight.
This poem is my favorite of the 3.
Congratulations @poetrybyjeremy.

I started with humour and light-tones, but yeah, as the collection goes on, it goes deeper and touches real wounds. I'm glad you're enjoying the collection. Yes, unfortunately it remains a sad reality for a lot of people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66666.50
ETH 3503.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71