Sort:  

A beautiful poem and I really enjoyed it. It hits hard for me having loss all but one grandparent and she is 93 and not doing so well now. I'm lucky to have lived quite a while with all four of them. They were all incredible people from an incredible generation. Thanks.

By the time I was 18 I had no grandparents. Most people my age have solid relationships with their grandparents. I almost had no chance to have a relationship with any of them - there is a loss that is kind of different than losing a grandparent you truly love. In a way, I may never know that kind of loss.

It's really tough I know because it is a big loss. Grandparents are special people to most. My wife had never met any of her grandparents as they all died before she was born. She often laments never having known them and I just cant imagine the feeling. She really loves my grandmother and I'm thankful that has given her some idea of what she missed. You should spend a bit of time at a retirement home sometime. It's really interesting to meet some of those characters and learn about their lives. thanks again.

That's definitely an interesting idea. I do remember a little bit about my great-grandma as well. She died when she was around 97. My grandparents never aged that much, they got sick and all passed away through different diseases or illnesses. Even though ageing seems to be something 'negative', it is a blessing in these contexts.

Agreed. I've learned by watching my grandparents pass that going early without a drawn out time of pain and suffering is a blessing. It's so hard on them and the whole family to watch them suffer for long periods. Two of mine had parkinsons disease, I wouldn't wish that on anyone.

My last grandma had several physical illnesses that contributed to a dementia as well. Ever since I was fourteen or so, she would think I am my uncle (her son) rather than me. It was quite awkward

Hmnn... a good one! I can feel the depth and energy you put into the words. Good flow too. Blessings.

Thank you. This is definitely deeper and longer than any of my other pieces - I suppose it is my longest poem yet. There is a lot of story into just one poem

The loss of loved ones hits me hard, but I don't think I've ever longed to have known those that passed before my time.

Even if not directly, they all influence us indirectly. They shaped my parents life, which is also affected by their grandparents.

Grandparents are the root of family, I personally can't thank them enough for being who they are and were.
In a faster moving society, we are abandoning them.
I really feel we should dedicate time to the ones that are shaping what we truly are!

I really liked the content of this @potrybyjeremy, keep it up!
Luca ✌️

I guess it does depend on the culture. In some they still play an active and important role. In others they might be ignored and forgotten. For instance, Malta is tiny. No matter where you move, you are always close to family. That cannot be said for a country like the USA. If one moves states, they might be hours and flights away. The role of grandparents is continuously changing - one does not need to be an active grandparent to be an active citizen.

You are right saying each culture has their own tradition and roles, but I feel that the pace of the world isn't finding room for old people. It's just my view of something that needs to be changed, given the importance of grandparents in a family

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 74 (3/15/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63773.27
ETH 2738.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59