[POEM] -> Because Screw Caves | Steem 'Pocalypse Poetry Challenge [DAY 12, ROUND 2]

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Entry: Day 12, Round 2

Good day Steemit.

Here's Day 12, Round 2's Poetry Entry!

Find @papa-peppers Contest for the story:
Day 12, Round 2 <------------

Find the Steemit 'Pocalypse Poetry Contest's
Day 12, Round 2 <------------
by @hopehuggs, @novaatebateman and @superbuckles above.

Here are my previous entries:
Day 1, Round 1 ---> Death Trap City
Day 1, Round 2 ---> Suddenly A Sniper [Winner]
Day 2, Round 1 ---> Maybe Bread Crumbs
Day 2, Round 2 ---> Spotted In Place
Day 3, Round 1 ---> Safety For Food
Day 3, Round 2 ---> Silhouette Of Dread
Day 4, Round 1 ---> An Uneventful Day
Day 4, Round 2 ---> The Safe Way
Day 5, Round 1 ---> Fate's Fickle Fortune
Day 5, Round 2 ---> Chainsaw Santa Clause
First 10 Rounds ---> The First 10 Rounds of 'Pocalypse Poetry
Day 6, Round 1 ---> Rock Bash Bovines
Day 6, Round 2 ---> Field Guide Rescue
Day 7, Round 1 ---> Let's Make Friends
Day 7, Round 2 ---> Man's Best Friend [Winner]
Day 8, Round 1 ---> Do Not Steal
Day 8, Round 2 ---> Reptile Road Kill
Day 9, Round 1 ---> Sun Dried Turtle
Day 9, Round 2 ---> Give And Take [Winner]
Day 10, Round 1 ---> Poultice The Wound [Winner]
Day 10, Round 2 ---> No Weapons Visible
Day 11, Round 1 ---> Dare To Dynamite
Day 11, Round 2 ---> Lost And Found
Day 12, Round 1 ---> Avoid The Poison

And now

...for my entry to Day 12, Round 2.

Please, enjoy!



Image Source


Sep004.jpg

Because Screw Caves

Well fed once more I tread the forest,
still keeping a diligent peeping eye for more food.
When up the way, quite to my dismay I see
a cave there lurking, and I quit my smirking happy mood.

There's no way in hell I'll hear that bell sound a ring,
and become a feast for the sleeping beast who calls it home,
so I'm turning tail to the off-beaten trail far from here,
before I'm thinner for being its' dinner should it soon come out to roam.

Thinking like a champ, the light in the lamp goes on in my head,
giving me an idea more impressive than Pangaea used to be,
and I took a leak before the beast could sneak a little peak,
marking the ground where it would surely be found because screw caves...
I'm free.

Sep004-2.jpg


Thanks for Reading!

See you in the next one!

SteemitOceanNamed11.jpg
JoinPALnet.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77