[POEM] -> Steem 'Pocalypse Poetry Challenge [DAY 1] - Death Trap City

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the Steem-Pocalypse

@papa-pepper is having himself a little game called
STEEM-POCALYPSE SURVIVAL GAME CONTEST
and tagging in along side this contest is a poetry
contest held by @hopehuggs, @superbuckles and
@novaatebatman

This is my entry for Day 1.

Enjoy.



Source


Steem-Pocalypse - Day 1


Sep001.jpg

Death Trap City

The city has been a death trap for months,
the sewers have backed up onto the street.
There's not much left in this torn city,
to keep me another day on my feet.

The looters came first, left nothing good,
and the rioters burned the city to the ground,
It's been days, no, weeks, I've been surviving,
off crackers and a few cans of food I've found.

I took refuge in an abandoned apartment,
to get some rest, dream of my next 'meal'.
I looked for useful tools and equipment,
that would improve my chances a great deal.

It was then I heard banging downstairs;
Someone's trying to break in here!
I gathered my things and opened the window,
climbed out and down drenched in fear.

I made a run for the distance.
There's no way I'm dying today.
I need a place for the night,
somewhere safe to stay.

I found scissors in a flower shop,
and a big stick off a nearby tree,
but the van in the parking lot
next door is to where I'll flee.

This is my home for the night,
there's nowhere else to go.
I hope I wasn't followed here,
by that stranger I don't know.

Poem-Footer-001.jpg
Sep001.jpg


Thanks for Reading!

You rock!

SteemitOceanNamed11.jpg

Sort:  

good post.
follow me @lomidze

Death Trap City, I love it! Didn't know about that contest...gotta check it out!

Nice!
So you stayed in the van? P-p was easy on us....but what now? This one has me nervous...I just decided to flee!!
Cause nothing in life is free.... And he expects free guns to be THREE!?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66858.35
ETH 3088.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72