Vanilla Cream Doughnuts - aka Twinkie Clones - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Merry Christmas Eve!!!!!

So it's a holiday so let's get right to the point here, Twinkie clone doughnuts. I’m sorry, let me repeat myself, Twinkie clone DOUHGNUTS! Yes!!!!!

I think I missed my opportunity window for Twinkie recipes when everyone was freaking out about Hostess going out of business and saying things like “we’ll never be able to eat them again!” I heard about people making hundreds of dollars per box on ebay. Who would pay that? People can be so ridiculous, right?

So, I can only recall eating a handful of Twinkies in my lifetime, it’s probably been about a decade since I last had one. You know how everything tastes better when you’re little (especially when it’s something you’re mom doesn’t buy)? Well, when I was really young I loved them, they were so soft and filled with fluffy cream. It wasn’t until I was a little older that I realized they really weren’t all that. However, the idea is genius, but a homemade version is the way to do it right.

I’ve seen people make Twinkie pans out of foil, and that’s something I would totally do, but I thought it would be a whole lot easier to just use my handy dandy doughnut pan and call it a day. Don’t you agree? So much quicker and, come on, who doesn’t get excited at the sight of that familiar O shape of a doughnut?

Like I said, I went through a bunch of different frosting recipes to get to one that I liked for these. The one I ended up with is a Swiss meringue that is a little touchy but so worth a little extra effort! Just read the instructions and have some patience because it takes a few minutes. As for the finished product, basically, if you already like the commercial packaged Twinkies then these should make you childishly happy.


Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "Santa, OMG!"

Want some other recipes to try? Here's my most recent food posts!

1.Fakin' It Fish Sticks + Coconut Basil Cream Sauce

2....And a Partridge in a Pear Tree....Pizza.

3.Dark Chocolate Coated Christmas Tree Cakes

4.White Chocolate Snow Buddy Snack Cereal

5.Holiday Spiced Orange Curd Jelly

6.Twisted + Sweet Cinnamon Roll Cookies

7.Peppermint Candy Cane White Chocolate Fudge

8.Christmas Baking Time! Chocolate & Vanilla Sugar Cookies

9.Basil, Brie, Roasted Strawberry Crostini

10.Gingerbread Flavored Fudge Candy

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

UPVOTE & FOLLOW ME

MERRY CHRISTMAS & STEEM ON!!

Sort:  

It looks so awesome.

I used to hide Twinkies under my bed in my fat lady days. I lost 135 pounds a few years ago and stopped that for good. I still enjoy pastries but with a lot more balance.

I have made doughnuts from scratch a few times so I know how much work it is. These look professional and tasty.

I love your food photography.

Keep on cooking up the Steem!

yes,her photography is just awesome!!

Delicious food. Merry Christmas. Following you and upvoted. "Santa, OMG!"

So happy you read the post! Thanks and Merry Christmas @pariza

Ingredients

Cream Filling:
4 egg whites
1 1/3 cups sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons palm syrup, maple syrup, or honey
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, at room temp (not cold or melted)
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
Doughnuts:
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 egg and 2 egg yolks
1 cup whole milk
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 cups flour
Instructions

Whisk egg whites, sugar, salt, and syrup in a small saucepan and place over your lowest setting on smallest burner. (most recipes call for putting your mixing bowl over a pot of boiling water instead so you can do that if you're worried about scrambling your eggs) Stir for 3 to 4 minutes over heat until sugar is dissolved. (If you have a candy thermometer and you want to use it you should wait until it's between 140 and 160 degrees F [60 - 70C]). Remove from heat and pour into the bowl of a stand mixer. Allow it to cool for about 5 minutes, then start beating on low speed and increase speed a little after every minute for about 5 minutes. Now turn onto high speed and beat until stiff peaks form. It needs to be very stiff if you push it to one side and it doesn't stay then it's not stiff enough Here's the tricky part, change to your beater attachment and add the butter to the bowl. Turn onto the lowest setting and let it mix nice and slow until it's done. (At first it will look all separated and weird but don't freak out, that's supposed to happen. Just let it keep mixing until it gets thick and delightfully fluffy. Add vanilla and beat until mixed. See, you did it!
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and grease 2 non-stick, 6-count, doughnut pans well with oil. Beat butter and sugar together in mixing bowl (no need to wash after the filling) until creamed. Beat in eggs and milk, then add salt, baking powder, vanilla, and flour and mix until smooth.
Pour scoops of batter into donut pans and fill to the line. Bake for 15 to 18 minutes until just starting to brown on top. Remove and cool completely, then loosen from pan (I find the side of a spoon works well for this).
Fill a pastry bag, fitted with long narrow tip, with your filling. Use chopstick or skewer to poke 3 - 4 holes around the doughnuts then pipe filling sideways into doughnuts. Serve as soon as possible after piping because the doughnuts will absorb the cream filling after a while.

@gringalicious you are awesome I'll make a post on a food soon, famous here in our city I hope you will love it, thank you for sharing such good and valuable posts

Ohhhh! Looks delicious! I like so much doughnuts 🍩, I have to try them, happy Christmas my dear.

Yummy! They look very delicious :)

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

To sure calm much most long me mean.

OMG, those things are a Christmas Miracle. Yum!

Haha, couldn't have said it better myself! Have a very happy holiday @scaredycatguide!

Delicious food and Merry Christmas 🎅🎂🎅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49