Gingerbread Flavored Fudge Candy - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography7 years ago

Anyone getting excited about Christmas yet?

DSC_0208.jpg

If only there was a way to take each day of December and cram in a few more hours. Like, just one or two more and then I’d have time to do all those little things I keep forgetting or skipping.

DSC_0263.jpg

I honestly just need to work on time management instead of wasting time dreaming of impossible things like that. Yeah, that’s what I’m going to do. Except, it’s hard find time to work on making more time. Now that’s a really confusing situation.

DSC_0276.jpg

So did you find the perfect gifts for your friends and family yet? I’m hoping you early birds still have a few gifts that you’ve yet to decide on because I have a few more posts coming.

DSC_0365.jpg

Fudge, fudge, fudge…… Doesn’t everything sound good when you put fudge in the title somewhere? Oh, or fudgy (which, according to my Scrabble devotee sister, seems to be in question as to whether it’s actually a word and the proper spelling if it is. Spellcheck says it’s a negative but I strongly disagree, it’s definitely a word, ask anyone in the food biz.)

DSC_0270.jpg

Fudge is one of those seasonal things that most people tend to be hot or cold about. You either love it or hate it. At least, that’s been my experience. I can understand why some people would hate it after having one too many dry, grainy, or just downright nasty versions, but saying you don’t like fudge is like saying you don’t like cookies. There are so many variations that it’s really not fair to judge the whole category based on one bad experience, you know? If you happen to be a hater though, this is definitely a flavor worth giving a fighting chance. It tastes like super rich and creamy gingerbread cookie dough and every bite is like a mouthful of Christmas. So good.

DSC_0277.jpg

I’ve had quite a few fudge fails this season you guys so I’ve been getting very acquainted with how sugar thinks, or rather, how to think of sugar. To get the creamiest results in candy and fudge making it’s best to think like a turtle, slow and steady wins the race. You see, sugar doesn’t appreciate being shocked by temperature changes and if you do shock it, it will most likely give you the silent treatment and get all hard and crystallized on you, which is what makes your fudge get all grainy. Another thing to keep in mind is that you don’t want any crystals of sugar stuck to the sides of the pan because sugar also has a very strong group mentality and one little chunk of crystals can mess up the whole batch. Just be sure to scrape or wipe the side before putting it on the heat.

DSC_0280.jpg

Happy fudge eating

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "Nutcracker"

Want some other recipes to try? Here's my most recent food posts!

1.Puffy Snowball Holiday Cookies [ butterballs ]

2.Rosemary Garlic Roast Beef + Sauteed Mushrooms

3.Homemade 3 Musketeers Chocolate Candies

4.Fully Loaded Mexican Style Twice Baked Potato Skins

5.Brownie Chocolate Chip Cookie Meringue Pie

6.Molten Lava Chocolate Chunk Streusel Coffee Cake

7.CHOCOLATE COVERED CARAMELS

8.Christmas Gift Idea: How to Make Your Own Hot Cocoa Mix

9.Edible Shot Glasses!!! Snickerdoodle Cookies & Milk Cups w/ Chocolate

10.Chocolate Ginger-Man Cheesecakes in a Jar

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

DSC_0285.jpg

Sort:  

So excited for Christmas. Very good presentation with Christmas food. Excellent photos and looking delicious "Nutcracker"

Thank you for reading the whole thing. Merry Christmas @pariza!

Ingredients

2/3 cup evaporated milk
1 3/4 cups brown sugar
3 tablespoons molasses
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon ginger
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/4 teaspoon cloves
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, rom temp
200g (about 1 1/3 cups) white chocolate squares or chips, divided
1 teaspoon vanilla
Instructions

Grease an 8x8 inch pan with butter and set aside, then sift salt, flour, and spices in a small dish and also set aside.
Mix evaporated milk, sugar, and molasses in a small saucepan until evenly mixed. Scrape sides of pan with a wet spatula or pastry brush to make sure there are no sugar crystals stuck on sides of pan. Place over medium low heat and bring slowly to a boil without stirring. Boil until a candy thermometer reads 240 degrees F (180 C), about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in the butter and 150g (1 cup) white chocolate until evenly melted. Last sprinkle in flour/spice mix and vanilla while stirring and mix until smooth and creamy.
Immediately pour into greased pan using a rubber spatula to scrape the sides of pan. Allow it to cool until set. You can place in fridge to speed up the cooling if desired. Cut into squares and melt the remaining 50g (1/3 cup) of white chocolate in a double boiler. Scoop into a fine tipped pasty bag and drizzle over fudge. Allow drizzle to dry and serve fudge room temp or cold.

It looks delicious! Gets me in the christmas spirit!

Thanks so much for awesome continued support @yummyrum

Hi my dear! Ohhhhh! This one looks so yummy! Thank you for the recipe, me not yet know what i have to prepare for it, because am still busy, and in Christmas we will be more busy.

the amazing @creativewoman, such a great supporter.

Looks delish

I'm glad you like it @amirl! Thanks for reading!

These tiny cakes looks sooo delicious they must taste very delicious....I must say you are very talented and food lover @gringalicious

Always so sweet @maryahoc, thanks so much

I love your post, I would also like to learn how to cook like this. Visit my blog please @mariagil1 and give me a little of your help I need it a lot

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post @mariagil1

AND

STEEM ON!!

I like this nice fudgy read, although my minnow upvote is even less than your huge 0.21 intro post ; )
Every picture is a mouthful of Christmas. And thanks for the tip: “you don’t want any crystals of sugar stuck to the sides of the pan because sugar also has a very strong group mentality and one little chunk of crystals can mess up the whole batch. ”
Cool to see you also lived in Chile, and amazing photos of volcan Calbuco! I climbed another erupted one - Villarrica ;)

ah yes, Villarrica, I've been there, only about 2.5 hours from where I lived.

Thanks so much for the amazing commenting @itchyfeetdonica and don't stop Steeming!!!

I am having a headache creating Christmas treats for my colleagues at office, finally you give me a solution! Love you

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post and I am glad you got inspiration from this

AND

STEEM ON!!

the cake must be very tasty

I am happy you think so. Thank you @pujaisma!

Thank you again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60335.73
ETH 3297.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43