Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash (2).jpg

I’ve got way more excitement than usual this morning. Firstly, the birds. I’ve been hearing birds singing in the mornings this week and it’s getting me so excited about Spring. I mean, it’s possible they were singing a little bit through the Winter, but I certainly didn’t notice them. It’s at least getting louder and I think that’s a very good sign of sunnier days!

Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash (3).jpg

With the time changing, that’s also a great reason to notice more Spring in the air. Sorry, I guess I’m just really anxious about it getting here. Winter was super fun with all the snow for the Holidays and getting to do some skiing…….but I’m good now. Yep, bring on the scent of freshly cut grass and all the colorful produce!

Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash (4).jpg

So I feel like our monthly grocery bill may have gotten a little bit higher ever since I started doing a large part of the shopping, guilty. It’s just that I’ll be looking for one obscure item to add to a new recipe and then notice ten other things I didn’t know I needed. A great example of this are these heirloom tomatoes. Here I was shopping for plain old regular tomatoes when these beautiful gems caught my eye. The price is about 4 times as high as normal tomatoes, but come on, aren’t they just stunning? I sorta HAD to have them.

Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash (0).jpg

Haha, the checker at the grocery store didn’t even know what they were. She actually pulled each one out of my bag to scan them individually and set them all over the dirty conveyor-belt, which secretly annoyed me a little bit. I really don’t mean to be rude, but sometimes there are moments. I’m just glad she wasn’t a finger-licker (Please tell me that drives other people crazy too?) Hence the fact that I head to self-checkout about 98% of the time.

……but really none of that is relevant to this recipe. Leave it to me to come up with the most random things to write about in a food post. All proof that I really need someone to put a limit on my coffee.

Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash (5).jpg

Getting to the point here. So spaghetti squash my friends, it’s been my thing recently. I don’t know when it started exactly, but our love affair went on all through the cold-weather months and it’s looking like there’s a pretty good chance of it continuing through to the warmer months also.

I know I never tried it as a kid, because even if someone had offered it I’m positive I would have never gotten past its appearance. I think the first time I ever tasted it was only a few years ago and, while I liked it then, it wasn’t until last year that I discovered how much I love it. You’ll probably think I’m majorly weird but I sometimes just like it plain with some seasoning and maybe some chicken or something. I know it might seem like I only eat picture perfect food all day long, but behind the scenes I also go for quick and instant meals as much as anyone.

Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash (6).jpg

So if you’re a spaghetti squash virgin then I definitely recommend giving it a chance. What I also like to do sometimes, and what I’ve heard many others mention they enjoy, is doing a half and half blend of spaghetti noodles with it for your pasta night. Hey, and you have to admit it looks pretty close to real spaghetti noodles when it’s plated up like this.

But back to the heirloom tomatoes, this sauce you guys, dah-AY-YUM! It’s good. I can definitely admit to being lazy on more than a few occasions in the early days of my cooking and skipping the fresh herbs and ingredients in favor of dried or canned things thinking it didn’t make much difference. I’m here years later to tell you that it absolutely does. It makes all the difference to use fresh ingredients, especially herbs.

Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash (7).jpg

The meatballs in this recipe are nice too, because you can make them with whatever meat you prefer, turkey, chicken, beef, or even sausage if you want. I’ve never tried it, so I can’t say for sure, but I think even meatless meatballs would work well here.

Okay, okay, I’m shutting up so you can maybe actually try this.

Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash (9).jpg

Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash

Ingredients

1 medium spaghetti squash
1 pound ground meat (i.e. turkey, chicken, or 80% lean ground beef)
1 tablespoon fresh basil, finely chopped
1 large egg
3/4 cup seasoned panko breadcrumbs
1/4 teaspoon salt

Heirloom Tomato Marinara:


1 tablespoon olive oil
1 small onion, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
4 medium heirloom tomatoes, diced
2 (6 ounce) cans tomato paste
1/4 packed fresh basil leaves, chopped
2 teaspoons fresh oregano
2 teaspoons fresh thyme
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper, optional
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon salt, plus more to taste

Instructions

Squash:


Heat oven to 375 (190 C) and line a baking tray with foil. Pierce the squash with a sharp knife in a few places and place in the oven to roast for 40-50 minutes until the outside starts to look a bit wrinkled and brown. Remove from oven and cool for about 10 minutes, then slice in half and use a large spoon to remove the seeds in the center of both halves. Scrape out the spaghetti-like flesh and separate with two forks to serve.

Meatballs:


While the squash is baking, combine all ingredients for the meatballs in a large mixing bowl and mix well. Roll into 2 to 2 1/2 tablespoon sized balls (about the size of a golf ball) and place each one on a plate or tray lined with parchment. Set aside while you prepare the sauce.

Sauce:


In a large skillet or dutch oven with a lid, add the olive oil, garlic, onions, and heirloom tomatoes and cook over medium heat for 5-6 minutes until tomatoes are softened. Add the rest of the ingredients for the sauce and bring to a boil. Add the meatballs and allow them to cook in the hot sauce for about 10 minutes, then reduce heat to simmer. Cover pan with lid and allow the sauce to simmer and thicken for about 20 minutes. Check the meatballs for doneness by cutting one in half.
Serve the sauce and meatballs over your cooked squash (or pasta if you prefer) and top with parmesan cheese and fresh basil if desired.

Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash (10).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan)
  2. Miso Mahi-Mahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles
  3. Chile Lime Veggie Burrito Bowls
  4. Chocolate Covered Almond Butter Eggs - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT
  5. Traditional Greek Lamb Gyros + Tzatziki Sauce
  6. Mint Chocolate Chip Muddy Buddies
  7. Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies
  8. Homemade 'Nilla Wafers with Banana Pudding
  9. Carrot & Lentil Salad with Indian Curry Tahini Dressing w/ Vegan Option
  10. Simple Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash.jpg

My Current Stats: 63,210 Steem Power | 12,742 Followers | 29,019 Posts | Reputation 74.707

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

In UK winter season is about to end and spring is about to start. Flowers are blooming. I am desperately waiting for summer.

wow, flowers are blooming, sounds beautiful

Your composition and depth of field, it is just amazing. I know you're self taught, but this kind of talent is natural and can't be taught!

phenomenal photography. I absolutely love your staging

That's the sweetest @mamaloves!

I need this in my life now!!

Yeah, finally winter is over and spring is here.
I am excited about spring and summer as you get to go out more and have fun but here in my region, Asia, we have summers very hot. So let's see how it goes this time.

well I hope this summer is not too hot for you @suf1an

Thank you gringalicious. Yeah I hope this time it won't be that hot.

Well done .. creativity, well done on the pictures
It looks really delicious ..
Thanks for sharing the recipe with us

you are always so kind @slimanepro , thank so much for you great support

So yeah. The birds aren't chirpin' here. Two feet of snow fell the other day. Instead of becoming triggered, I came here to look at spaghetti. I found spaghetti. I'd say you're the best food photographer on the entire planet. You're just going to have to deal with that. See ya!

crap! the best, you're going to lay that on me? And I thought we were friends

Listen. You can flag my comment or take a compliment. The choice is yours. I suggest you deal with it. Let's not get into a nasty flag war now. We've come this far. Let's not ruin it over a bowl of spaghetti(that looks really bleepin good).

I wasn't going to bring up flags, but if that's where you want to take this, then FINE!!!!

giphy (1).gif

You got a 3.88% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @gringalicious!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

yeap the birds singing is the very first sign of Spring's comming, I like to simply listen to them, it puts me in a good mood :) I also need someone to put a limit on my coffee :P have a great day @gringaliious! Your stories behind your recipes are always so engaging and interesting to read 😊

you are always so kind, thanks so much @xuanito

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01