Simple Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hey from San Diego and Happy Valentine’s Day. I’m actually writing this post from one of my flights because, #bloglife, but by the time you’re reading it I’m probably chilling at the beach. We have already taken so many pictures and we haven’t even gotten there yet.

Easy Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart (7).jpg

I talk about living in Chile quite a bit but as that’s where I started blogging it’s hard not to bring it up sometimes. For example, something that always impressed me during my time in South America, is how real and abundant their produce always was and I found many fruits and veggies that I’d never even heard of. Well, something I never actually did find were blood oranges.

Easy Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart (3).jpg

I feel like I had been looking for for the longest time and, while they may have had them somewhere, I naver managed to find them. That’s why I was very excited to pick some up recently, The color is just so incredible and they make the perfect star for a tart like this.

Easy Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart ().jpg

So this tart is really simple because I kinda, sorta, cheated a little. I don’t typically use shortcuts but, wow it’s sometimes just so nice to use prepared things now and then.

Easy Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart..jpg

Yes, you can totally use pie crust also, but I’ve been wanting to play around with crescent dough (another item not easily found in Chile) and this seemed like a good recipe to try it out. I baked it in a heart pan similar to this one, but feel free to use a round one or similar size in whatever shape you have.

Easy Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart (4).jpg

As for the candied blood orange slices for the top, they’re honestly more for aesthetic purposes and not entirely necessary. I’m always surprised at how good citrus fruits can be when they’re candied like this but even still the peel can sometimes retain a hint of bitterness that I don’t mind but some people won’t like. That’s why of you’re making this for a group, especially kiddos, I’d suggest maybe replacing them with some berries or simply leaving them out.

Easy Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart (5).jpg

Have a great Valentine’s day!

Easy Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart (6).jpg

Simple Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart

Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cook Time: 45 minutes
Total Time: 2 hours
Yield: 10 - 12 servings

Trying to decide how to use those blood oranges? Try this sweet and creamy citrus tart that's secretly easy but sure to impress the guests.

Ingredients


Tarts:


1 can refrigerated crescent dough
3 egg yolks
1 cup granular sugar
2 blood oranges, juice and zest
1/2 cup half and half
1/2 tablespoon cornstarch
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Candied Oranges:


1/4 cup honey (or other liquid sweetener such as maple syrup)
1/4 cup granular sugar
1 blood orange, thinly sliced
1 cup water

Chocolate Drizzle:


1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 tablespoon coconut oil
chocolate hearts for the top (optional)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F(180C) and lightly grease a 12-inch tart pan, or heart pan, with oil. Unwrap and roll out the crescent dough on a lightly floured surface. ( You just want to roll it enough to flatten the creases together.)
Place the dough on pan and press down, then shape around edges and cut off excess dough. Place into oven and bake for 10 - 12 minutes or until lightly browned along the edges.
In a small saucepan over medium high heat, whisk together the sugar, orange juice, zest, half and half, cornstarch, salt, and egg yolks until smooth. Continue stirring over heat until it begins to boil and you see the first bubble pop. Remove from heat and continue gently stirring for about a minute to cool, then stir in vanilla and scrape the custard onto the crust.
Spread in an even layer and place in oven to bake for 25-30 minutes, or until set. Remove to cooling rack and cool for at least 20 minutes. Cover gently with plastic wrap and place in fridge to chill while you fix the toppings.
For the candied oranges, heat the water, honey, and sugar in a small skillet or shallow pot. Bring just to a boil then add the orange slices and reduce heat to simmer. Cook for about 10 minutes until the liquid has thickened and formed a syrup onto the oranges. Remove from heat and cool.
To assemble the tart simply place the slices on top of the chilled tart, then melt the chocolate and coconur oil in double boiler until smooth and drizzle over top. If desired, add some small chocolatea, truffles or even Hershey's kisses and serve.

Easy Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart (8).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Springtime Vibes Salad+Cilantro Almond Butter Dressing
  2. Chocolate Dipped Frosting Filled Doughnuts
  3. Sweet and Spicy Honey Bourbon Chicken
  4. Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle
  5. Tropical Bay Breakfast Jars (Vegan)
  6. Veggies + Lemongrass Wild Rice Stuffed Peppers - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT
  7. National Nutella Day Chocolate Mousse Moose Cake
  8. Chocolate Minty Swirl Brownies with a Secre
  9. 4-Ingredient Peanut Butter Chocolate Cereal Bars
  10. Floral White Vanilla Birthday Cake

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Easy Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart (9).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

My Current Stats: 60,946 Steem Power | 11,167 Followers | 26,990 Posts

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

I love citrus and chocolate together! Yum.

Thanks so much for commenting @cookit

Very cool! I hope you had a great valentine!

What amazing photography as always! What a really cool idea. Can't wait to see photos of San Diego!!

simply could not control myself

Oh, haha, I understand that @teenovision!

Loading...

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

First thing I do just after I wake up is to check new @gringalicious' recipe :) you're such a creative and inspirational person :)

Thanks so much @xuanito. Stay warm in Poland

You sure know how to display your treats.. I'm just gonna say wow. That looks so amazing, and I'm pretty sure that it taste as good as it looks.. I love baking new things and look forward to trying this. Thanks for sharing. I bet it was yummy... I got a kick out of reading the part you were blogging n the plane. We gotta do what we gotta do to get it done!
Following

you're right, we gotta do what we gotta do, thanks so much for the comment @pickyvicki

I hope your Valentine's Day has been very good! I have never tried blood orange, but I have heard this fruit very well. It gave a different and beautiful touch to the tart. It looks delicious! Have a sweet day :)

always so supportive and sweet, thanks @sweeetcarol

Wow the tart looks graceful and delicious

thanks so much for the kind words @gomovies

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66436.09
ETH 3439.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65