Chile Lime Veggie Burrito Bowls - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

DSC_9700.jpg

Hey my lovelies!

DSC_9592.jpg

You know those times when you can't decide what carb to focus your meal on? Happens to me all the time. I mean, there are just so many meals that go so well with many different carbs. Like meatballs in marinara, do you make subs or do spaghetti? Or like when you go for Chinese, are you a rice or a noodle type? Ah, and then there's always the dilemma with Mexican food, burritos? nachos? tacos? quesadilla? Personally I always like the bowl style Mexican food, so rice.

DSC_9609.jpg

Okay, so here's the game plan I always follow when the carb question comes up, just have a little of everything! For example, I really wanted to try this recipe idea with some sweet potatoes but, but then I also wanted to add some rice. I mean, I could definitely have gone with just one, but a little of everything is just more fun, right?

DSC_9594.jpg

I'll be honest, I like adding chicken to mine but that's only an option and for the recipe I left it out which makes this meal gluten free and vegan which I always love because I know it's something I can share with more of you.

DSC_9653.jpg

Chile Lime Veggie Burrito Bowls


Prep Time: 30 minutes
Cook Time: 45 minutes
Total Time: 1 hour, 15 minutes
Yield: 4 - 6 servings

These burrito bowls are quick and easy, but loaded with all the best flavors of Mexican food, plus they're gluten free and vegan.

Ingredients

Rice:


4 cups steamed brown rice
1 tablespoons olive oil
1 small onion, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup tomato paste
1 1/2 cups water
1 teaspoon oregano
2 teaspoons chili powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon salt

Chile Lime Veggie/Sweet Potatoes:


2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
1 lime (juice and zest)
1 tablespoon olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 small onion, diced
3 (red, green, or yellow) bell peppers, seeded and diced:
1 can (15 ounce) black beans, drained and rinsed
1 (5 ounce) can green chiles, undrained
2 cups whole kernel corn
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
salt and pepper to taste
1 (15 ounce) can refried beans
4 cups fresh baby spinach greens (or your favorite salad mix)

Optional Toppings


about 1/4 cup fresh cilantro leaves
chopped green onion or chives
1 cup your favorite salsa, (homemade is the best)
avocado slices or guacamole
coconut cream mixed with 1 teaspoon lime juice for "sour cream"
extra limes for squeezing over top

Instructions

Rice:


Combine onion, garlic, and olive oil in a medium to large skillet and saute over medium high heat for 3 to 4 minutes until soft and browned. Stir in remaining ingredients, reduce heat to low, and cover. Simmer, stirring occasionally, for about 10 minutes until liquid is absorbed and rice is hot. Cover to keep warm until serving.

Chile Lime Veggie/Sweet Potatoes:


While the rice simmers, heat olive oil in a small skillet and the sweet potatoes along with about 1/2 inch of water. Cover and simmer for about 15 minutes until most of the liquid is cooked off and the potatoes are almost tender. Add lime juice, zest, garlic, onions, and peppers. Cook for 6 to 7 minutes until peppers are softened. Add the black beans, chiles, and corn and stir over heat for about 2 to 3 more minutes, Stir in cilantro and season to taste with salt and pepper. Pour them into a separate dish and cover to keep warm.

The Bowls:


Add refried beans to the pepper pan and stir over heat for about 3 minutes to warm then season with salt and pepper and remove from heat.
Layer your bowls with baby greens, desired amounts of the hot rice, refried beans, pepper/sweet potato mixture, and any of your desired toppings.

DSC_9675.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Chocolate Covered Almond Butter Eggs - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT
  2. Traditional Greek Lamb Gyros + Tzatziki Sauce
  3. Mint Chocolate Chip Muddy Buddies
  4. Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies
  5. Homemade 'Nilla Wafers with Banana Pudding
  6. Carrot & Lentil Salad with Indian Curry Tahini Dressing w/ Vegan Option
  7. Simple Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart
  8. Springtime Vibes Salad+Cilantro Almond Butter Dressing
  9. Chocolate Dipped Frosting Filled Doughnuts
  10. Sweet and Spicy Honey Bourbon Chicken

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on the Steem blockchain is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

DSC_9731.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

My Current Stats: 62,865 Steem Power | 12,450 Followers | 28,645 Posts | Reputation 74.678

Sort:  

It made me hungry. Lovely photography.

I know looks so good that sends you hungry straight away

I'm amazed every single day with the level of your professionalism. You inspire me greatly

always so sweet and supportive, thanks for everything @noboxes

I need that in my belly!!

you can't even handle this young apprentice!!

phenomenal photraphy, great job as always my sweet @gringalicious

you are always so sweet and supportive, thanks so much @mamaloves

Creativity, well done
Thanks for the recipe, your style is amazing in photography
Nice post

very kind words, thanks so much @slimanepro

It looks like a painting, that is fantastic and delicious, thanks @gringalicious!

The food in those images.. look so yummy... wish I could cook..

A burrito is a delicious food item that breaks down all social barriers and leads to temporary spiritual enlightenment.

wow, all that from a burrito bowl, that's amazing

Your posts make me hungry every time!!!

Oh, that's so encouraging, thanks !edgarsart!

wow it looks so delicious... fantastic... such a nice photos...

so glad you liked it @wilku

Love the colours, love the lighting

thanks so much for commenting

haha of course, but talk is cheap

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53