Cottage Pies w/ Yams + Roasted Chestnuts - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Everybody knows, a turkey and some mistletoe……will help to make the season bright…

DSC_1930.jpg

..…but this isn’t a turkey recipe. Actually, we’re going meatless today, I hope that’s cool with you guys. I’m pretty sure with it being the week after Christmas there will be a lot of delicious meals involving meat. Wow, the last week of the year! Do you realize we’re now close enough to realistically start counting down in hours and minutes! There are so many things I want to get done in the next few days and, even though I know it is physically impossible to finish my list, I can still try right? I'm so excited about a fresh year!

DSC_1971.jpg

So today's recipe is inspired by The Christmas Song. You know, like “Chestnuts roasting on an oped fire….. Jack Frost nipping at your nose….”. Some people call it the chestnut song also. I know we passed Christmas but in my house we like to keep it all up until the first of the new year.

DSC_1968.jpg

I’ve always loved this song, what about you?

DSC_2009.jpg

Alright, I had every intention of actually roasting these over an open fire, but it’s been so snowy that I had to settle for oven-roasted instead. Still good though. Chestnuts remind me of when I first moved to Chile years ago and was still adjusting to the major changes. I remember seeing the pokey green pods falling from a tree in my backyard (at the time) and having no clue what they were. I called them “spiky acorns of death”

DSC_2018.jpg

That was when we lived in a different there, now I don’t know of any trees in North Idaho have chestnuts but luckily you can buy nearly anything in The States.

DSC_2027.jpg

I’m so glad I got the chestnuts because it made the perfect addition to these cottage pies. My helpful family of tasters said it was like everything they love about a classic holiday dinner in one dish. I added white beans in place of meat for some protein and I even through in some apples for that extra holiday touch. It might sound strange but truly it works well!

DSC_2034.jpg

You can make these individually like I did or feel free to do it all in a casserole dish if that’s easier. Also, if you can’t seem to find chestnuts you can replace them with potatoes. I know, weird right?, but if you’ve ever tasted chestnuts you’ll know that’s what they resemble, potatoes. You could throw in some pecans or walnuts to get that nuttiness and add crunch too. <-Actually, do this anyway it sounds really good!

Have a great rest if your holidays guys and I look forward to counting down the New Year with my Steemians!

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Want some other recipes to try? Here's my most recent food posts!

  1. Easy Coconut Cream Pancakes

  2. Berry Cream Cheese Pastries

  3. Double Recipe - Crostini w/ Salmon & Capers + w/ Spinach & Hearts of Palm

  4. Christmas Cookies - Pinwheels + Checkerboard Cookies - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

  5. Vanilla Cream Doughnuts - aka Twinkie Clones

  6. Fakin' It Fish Sticks + Coconut Basil Cream Sauce

  7. ...And a Partridge in a Pear Tree....Pizza.

  8. Dark Chocolate Coated Christmas Tree Cakes

  9. White Chocolate Snow Buddy Snack Cereal

  10. Holiday Spiced Orange Curd Jelly

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "Jack Frost nipping at your nose"

DSC_2036.jpg

Sort:  

Looks delicious :)

Thanks for taking the time to comment on my post @hossary

STEEM ON!!

Jack Frost nipping at your nose!!! Please I neeed to make this tonight! ahaha my mouth is watering

Loading...

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

wow.... this is some serious delicious stuff

this new camera already paying off look at those shots! this is the new one right? :)

Actually, these are with my red camera. I'm taking extra time on the new one to learn as much as possible before I start using it. I've been reading and watching tons of youtubes, in particular Tony Northrup. Come to think of it, he should come over here. I think I'll send him a message.

Yummy yams, these look amazing!!

I am so glad you liked them @fullofhope

I love the little cups you put them in, you call those ramekins, yes? Simply amazing food photography. I love it!

you are always so sweet @mamaloves. I know your family loves you

STEEM ON!!

these look yummy and unique. I have never had chestnuts but perhaps I will try them. They do look good with Jack Frost nipping at your nose. Would love the recipe

Haha, that's very sweet of you @wrladyhawk . I just shared the recipe above.

@gringalicious, these photos!😍😍😍

HUGE compliment coming from you, thanks so much @kommienezuspadt. I have huge goals this year to expand my photography skills. Hopefully I will be able to display my progress here on steemit

Beautiful festive food photography. Amazing as always

thanks so much for your continued support @noboxes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51