Berry Cream Cheese Pastries - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography7 years ago

Do you ever start a project, get interrupted, and then forget about it.

DSC_1158.jpg

Well I do. I seem to do that a lot actually. Part of it is that I’m always thinking ahead of what I want to make for the blog next and bouncing inspiration around my head. The internet doesn’t help either with the 5 gabillion possible distractions.

DSC_1091.jpg

In case you haven’t noticed it can be very stimulating. I mean, who hasn’t gotten lost in pinterest or been caught procrastinating life through IG? It happens, admit it. Plus, try as I might, I’m not the most organized person in the world. I should really work on that.

DSC_1130.jpg

I got in one of my moods about a week ago and decided to make puff pastry. I put all the time into it, did all of the folds right, felt pretty proud of myself for a minute or two, and then I put it up for later. Of course then I forgot all about it for a whole week. I know, how can you forget about puff pastry!

DSC_1196.jpg

Anyway, I did finally remember it and of course got super excited when I did. I’ve never actually looked specifically for it, but I’m pretty sure you can get ready to go puff pastry sheets here, but making it at home is always a better flavor option. I really like making it though and I want to show you guys how eventually.

DSC_1099.jpg

And it’s full on Winter now which means snow, like a lot of it. That means challenged photography lighting. The weather flipped a switch or something and I’ve been freezing all week. Clearly it’s time to pull out the fuzzy pants. I have a slight addiction to fluffy pajamas in case I’ve never mentioned that.

DSC_1180.jpg

So, I’ve written the recipe as using puff pastry sheets but I totally think you should try making it yourself. However, I know that it’s a little intimidating and I’ve only done it a few times so I’m being too lazy I don’t feel qualified to actually show you how to do it today. I totally get just buying it and store-bought puff pastry is usually pretty good quality anyway. If you do feel like trying to make it though, there are a bunch of really good tutorials out there and maybe after I get it down I’ll do my own.

DSC_1124.jpg

Now that I’ve finished making a ton of excuses I will finally shut up and let you make this recipe that is super easy once you have ready puff pastry.

DSC_1098.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Want some other recipes to try? Here's my most recent food posts!

  1. Double Recipe - Crostini w/ Salmon & Capers + w/ Spinach & Hearts of Palm

  2. Christmas Cookies - Pinwheels + Checkerboard Cookies - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

  3. Vanilla Cream Doughnuts - aka Twinkie Clones

  4. Fakin' It Fish Sticks + Coconut Basil Cream Sauce

  5. ...And a Partridge in a Pear Tree....Pizza.

  6. Dark Chocolate Coated Christmas Tree Cakes

  7. White Chocolate Snow Buddy Snack Cereal

  8. Holiday Spiced Orange Curd Jelly

  9. Twisted + Sweet Cinnamon Roll Cookies

  10. Peppermint Candy Cane White Chocolate Fudge

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "I love it BERRY much!"

DSC_1069.jpg

Sort:  

It looks delicious!

thanks so much for the comment

it is so tasty... Send me a piece of cake by PM :)

I'M CRAZY FOR CREAM CHEESE

so sorry it took me 7 days to respond @danizaharie, thanks so much for the comment

Wow. Looking so Delicious. "I love it BERRY much!"

Thanks @pariza! Glad you enjoyed it!

Ingredients

2 sheets (or one 17.3 ounce package) puff pastry
1/4 cup butter, melted
3/4 cup sugar, divided
6 ounce cream cheese, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup raspberry preserves
Instructions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 C) and line a baking sheet with parchment.
In a small bowl mix softened cream cheese with vanilla and 1/2 cup sugar until smooth.
Lightly flour a clean work surface and lay out one sheet of puff pastry. Brush with half of melted butter and sprinkle with 2 tablespoons sugar. Cut into 6 strips lengthwise.
Hold both ends of each strip and gently twist a few times then swirl them into coils. Tuck ends underneath and press together with opposite end in center then place on baking tray. Repeat with other 5 strips then repeat last 2 steps with second sheet.
Spoon about 1 tablespoon cream cheese mix into centers of each followed by 1 tablespoon raspberry preserves.
Bake for 18 to 20 minutes until pastry is golden then remove from oven a cool for a few minutes before serving.

Really that, I like you very much.

mouth watering !!!!! i need to learn how to photograph like it makes all the difference

Wow this is just fantastic... What kind of lighting do you use on your scenes... I love those soft shadows...

I only use natural lighting for my food photography. Great question

Yummy! The ingredients needed is also very low!

Hey @yummyrum, so sorry it has taken m 7 days to respond, thanks so much

Yummy! Thanks for sharing :)

Here all the food menu make me tempted for nice present like barger and the cup of tea are so tasty, this menu really help me for my own recipe @gringalicious

Those look super delicious! I think I'll try and make something similar soon 😃

Looks yummy! But now I'm hungry lol

thanksk so much

Y si le agragras un toque de canela en polvo queda mas rico aun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50