My Tiny Garden - Streptocarpus Harlequin Damsel

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I almost lost this one.

I received it from a friend as a young plant and soon after it bloomed for me. But then summer came and seems like this climate is loved by mealybugs and they decided to move to my African Violets and this Streptocarpus. It seems that Violets can handle the treatment. But Streps are more delicate and fussy to what you are doing to them. I tried to wipe the eaves, splay the eaves, water with special bug killer...

streptocarpus harlequin damsel 2.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 106 (f/13, 1/100, 105mm, ISO100)

I did eventually win, but the plant was on it's way to flower heaven. Didn't grow, didn't bloom and the leaves looked like they were chewed by a dog.

streptocarpus harlequin damsel 5.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 106 (f/13, 1/100, 105mm, ISO100)

It took it few months to start growing healthier leaves. It is still smaller than it should, but it bloomed again :) I think it will be fine now.

streptocarpus harlequin damsel 3.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 106 (f/13, 1/100, 105mm, ISO100)

They are actually not hard plants to grow. They don't like too much water or direct sunlight. Just like African Violets, if you are more familiar with them. Propagation is also the same - you take a leaf, stick in a soil and you will get few little plants soon.

I also tried to grow them from seeds and used this one here as one of the parents in cross pollination. Got some amazing colours you can check HERE, HERE and HERE :)


Previously on My Tiny Garden


View all my posts
I only post my own photos.



Sort:  

Beautiful photo! Beautiful Streptocarpus! I have never seen such a beautiful sight in our stores. Is it probably complicated in care? Is it suitable for high temperature?

I actually never saw them in stores. I got this one from a friend and another one from my mums friend.
The care is not hard. They just don't like to be over watered. And grow well on the north side windows.

I don't think they like when it is very hot, but I live in Portugal, and so far so good. You should get one when you have a chance. The flowers are amazing!

Yes, they are very beautiful! But we also did not see them in stores! And we have a very hot summer and not only in the summer.

You clearly have a "thing" for flowers :) I love the purple. These are gorgeous shots. I wonder how the bokeh would look like on a prime 50mm @ f/1.4

I clearly do :D
And you might find out soon enough... Got Helios in me hands :P

Beautiful Streptocarpus. Well saved. You've obviously got green fingers! 😍

Ohhh I had a lovely pink one and he didn't survive :p

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 9 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Love the colors in your close ups! Is this with a flash?

Thanks! I hardly use flash. I put it in a sunlight :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68405.60
ETH 2641.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69