My Tiny Garden - Fuchsia

in #photography6 years ago

I got a cutting of this plant last year from my mum and it grew so fast and healthy and the same year it bloomed for me. Right now it has a break and I am wondering if in my Portuguese climate will lose all the leaves. Normally it does and in spring it starts all over again.

Fuchsia Suzi.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/22, 1/125, 105mm, ISO400)

The flowers are so pretty and can be in one colour, or in mix of two colours, like white and red, or red and purple... pretty amazing.
And if you know someone that has one ask for a little cutting stick it in a soil and it should grow for you as a new plant. It is that easy! :)

Fuchsia pink flower 3.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/20, 1/125, 105mm, ISO400)

Fuchsia pink flower 1.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/22, 1/125, 105mm, ISO400)

Lately I found out that the berries they produce are edible and you can make jam or add to deserts. Any of you have tried that? I did't see any on my plant (on mum's one there was lots, but not ripe yet

Fuchsia pink flower 2.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/22, 1/125, 105mm, ISO400)

Do you know them? Or maybe you have some other colours?


Previously on My Tiny Garden


View all my posts
I only post my own photos.


Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

I love Fuchsia! Just it doesn't want to grow in my house, to dry and hot in summer!)))

Oh yea she suffers here in summer too a bit. She hates it! I have to hide it in the shade...

Always such lovely plants! We don't have any in our garden but we do have a fantastic Blue Poppy which is apparently quite rare (Although it's winter here in the UK too so we have no flowers at all at the moment!)

Must be rare.... I never saw a blue poppy!
Did you get some snow? I saw it was snowing in IE

Apparently it is! Yep, we had quite a bit of snow last week but it's all gone now!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

WOW, I love the cat in the background of the first picture. We don't typically resteem many photography posts unless they're wicked awesome. This one surely qualifies ;)

Hahaha I will pass the message to my photo bomber. Not that she cares much... she just wants to be on every shot :p
Thank you :))

LMAO, right on, she made the picture perfect to me :)

One day I will make a post just with her working on my shots :p

A quick 'memo' to say this post has been featured in the latest issue of 'Notes', do stop in and see what else #thealliance has been up to. Some really good content out there!

Wooowww really? :D Thanks a lot guys!
.... on my way...

You can eat the flowers, too! But they always seem too pretty. And I have to take them from my neighbor. She moved her plants to her patio! : ( So maybe I should start growing them myself, lol. Here's to your fuschia returning to green in the spring!

Them too? That I didn't know :) The whole flower, or just petals? How do they taste like?
The green berries I saw on my mums one was a total surprise.

Grow it... more food for you :)

I'll grow them now -- I'll get cuttings from my neighbor's plants, lol. The whole plant is edible, but I've only eaten the flowers. I just put them in a salad. They are sort of tart. And, like so many flowers that are bred for looks rather than eating, their taste varies from one kind to another. That means we have to keep trying every kind! ; )

Oh poor plants :p
Now that you said that they are tart I imagined them swimming in a sweet jelly desert :)

That would be good! You will be eating fuschia flowers before you know it! ; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74