My Tiny Garden - Lophophora williamsii

in #photography7 years ago

This little baby is about 12 years old and is the size of a tennis ball.

Lophophora williamsii peyote flower 5.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/11, 1/125, 105mm, ISO100)

Lophophora williamsii also called *Peyote is a cactus, but doesn't have spines. Instead it has those fluffy, beige brushes. Yes - they are soft, fluffy and very nice to touch ;)

Lophophora williamsii peyote flower 4.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/11, 1/125, 105mm, ISO100)

In late spring it starts to t bloom with those lovely pink flowers and keeps blooming until fall when it prepares for it's winter rest. It doesn't grow at this time, doesn't need much water or light... just sits there and waits for summer again.

Lophophora williamsii peyote flower macro.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/11, 1/125, 105mm, ISO100)

Lophophora williamsii peyote flower 3.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/11, 1/125, 105mm, ISO100)

I managed to pick some seeds last season and now I have a pot full of tiny green babies :)


Previously on My Tiny Garden


View all my posts
I only post my own photos.


Sort:  

Lovely :) My girlfriend has a cactus farm in Thailand. I would always stop by to see them very so often.

Some of them have such bizarre structure!

Wow! I would love to see some photos from that farm :)
Yea.. they can look so weird or funny. But they have such pretty flowers when they bloom. I have a few types, but only two bloomed so far.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 0.10 % upvote from @bellyrub. Please make sure to vote for my pops as a witness @zeartul,Here

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 3 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Awesome shots sure is so beautiful

Thanks JJ! It is Bruno's baby ;)

😎👍😎

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by EwkaW from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55049.50
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30