🎶 Open Mic Week 81 - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Well here we are another week done and dusted people's, what an amazing week it was too - I was determined to mend my naughty ways and reduce the number of posts I wrote up, but alas it was not to be.

I once again got caught up in the Open Mic judge version of Russian Roulette, I tried every combination imaginable but my list just never seemed quiet right - I had people jumping from special mentions into the top 5 and vice versa.

My mind was a battlefield and nothing stuck, so true to another promise I will go back to my more detailed reviews (I have felt a little dodgy of late to be honest) - that being said of course the more I write the longer it takes, then add in my indecisive nature and boom there you have it me taking way to long to get my post out.

Well in my own "unbiased" view, absence makes the heart grow fonder, or maybe it was worth the wait! But to be honest that makes me feel a little pretentious, suffice to say it's done now here's hoping I can make at least some people happy!

Before I jump into the placements, I wanted to mention again that we have opened up a new Open Mic discord server - we already have a fair few of the regulars in there, but I know plenty of you might have just missed the mentions.

We have a bunch of social rooms to inspire collaborations, places to ask for advice or get help - we even have audio rooms for voice chat, or impromptu jam sessions, really the possibilities are endless!

There is a room called new entries, where you can keep up to date on all your Open Mic listening - everything posted under the Open Mic tag will end up there, just easier access to listening to some great music and musicians.

I will try and get a post dedicated to talking about this soon, but feel free to join in the meantime - have some fun and mingle with the Open Mic community at large!

Now onto the big news, this is my top 5 entries from Open Mic week 81 - hope you guys enjoy!

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @breakoutthecrazy - Down By The River

Damn guys, this was one hell of a song and performance - just brilliant on every single level, the depth takes things to a soulful level and you guys delivered!

Just wow I'm not even sure where to start in all honesty, ok so firstly the playing is just perfect I love the composition of this song - the depth and feel it creates is just perfect for completing this sound, you guys have a masterpiece here.

With only the additional vocals and occasional added texture of the tambourine, that song is epic - you have created a huge sound with four instruments two of which are voices just damned impressive guys!

Ok so the next major highlight for me was the vocals, again holy shit people you stepped things up with this entry - the vocal hook is just divine and I can't get enough of it, even though I'm sick at the moment I can't stop myself from trying to sing along with you.

You have brilliant harmonies that again add more texture and depth to the sound, the way you both sing together in my opinion amplifies the mastery of the lyrics of this song - you guys can write and perform one bloody amazing song that's for sure!

There is so much to unpack with those deep lyrics, I love a song that makes you think and question the greater questions of life - whilst I am not religious I can appreciate the sentiment behind these lyrics and the complex questions you ask through them.

The main message weaved expertly throughout this song, for me at least was less about religion (or even at times questioning religion) and god and more to do with the mistreatment and destruction of the world and it's inhabitants - the role you in your life play in it's demise, there are really just so many different ways I can interpret this song (but for me that is the profound message I take away from it).

You guys just made this epic impression on me with this song, I love songs that make you think and feel - best of all ones that make you question life, it's meaning and your purpose in it.

I can't get over how brilliant this is, another amazing part is the energy you convey throughout the song - there is a great and intense passion behind the performance, which makes you both shine during it.

The intensity of the vocals really sealed the deal for me on this song, I love the way you structured the song - at first simple methodical notes and complex layered vocals, then as it progressed the depth expanded to encapsulate the entirety of the songs instruments.

It created a unique and amazing feel for the song, I can't help but move along to this song - it makes the listener both feel and move, not the easy accomplishment but you guys mastered it.

The vocals really steal the show for me in this, of course enhanced by expertly crafted lyrics - but the control and range you both display was just absolute perfection, it really was the element that shone brightest for me.

I am stoked we have you guys here with us, for you two are absolutely brilliant musicians and performers - I cannot wait to hear more and be absolutely amazed by what else you can do!


2nd Place - @samidbarid - Existence

This is just stunning in every sense of the word, just an epic composition - masterfully executed and performed, I was enthralled just stuck there sitting and watching a little dumbfounded by what I was hearing.

There is a complexity to this composition which I will try my best to convey with words, but forgive me for simple words are hard to measure against such pure music - this was just more intense than I expected and just brilliant for lack of a better word.

You have created an amazing moving feeling, this song doesn't just represent one moment in time - but a succession of time, with complex ranges and changes throughout.

There are so many elements you have captured so perfectly, it's hard to chose one alone on which to focus - there are moments of depth and moments of sweet bliss, the combinations and arrangement are phenomenal!

The instant you start playing you draw in the listener, with a trickling progression of notes that are almost angelic in nature and feel - they descend into a deeper complex layered emotional progression, ending with a bass that you feel.

Then you feel the sweet light hopeful notes creep back into dominance, dancing elegantly like droplets of rain on a summer afternoon cascading down leaves of a giant tree - then mixing with others coming together joining a massive river, there is a feeling of growth and change here that I instantly created a picture like this in my mind.

The tempo changes add so much texture to the piece, adding and changing the mood depending on the moments you implement a change - this is a truly phenomenal piece of music, so compelling, complex and creatively constructed I can't get enough.

I am blown away but this entry, you have embodied the perfection required to fill a piece of music by allowing moments of silence - drawing out the tension in moments creating an amazing feel for the listener.

You are truly a brilliant composer and performer, it takes a lot to have a solo instrument stand out amongst the crowds - but with this entry you captured and held my attention the entire time, in fact when it ended I just wasn't ready.

This is so beautiful it draws me in on each listen, your playing is truly amazing there is no doubting your skills here - you have an amazing gift and I am so grateful you shared this with us.

You have captured so many emotions and feelings, there are moments I feel joy and sadness or concern, defeat, belief - the energies you captured couple with the emotions beautifully, the tempo changes and texture you add takes this music to a whole other level.

I really enjoyed every single second of this entry, what a amazingly brilliant composition and performance - you have really captured my attention with this entry and I cannot wait to hear more!


3rd Place - @ingridkornelia - You make me feel

Firstly I have to say I haven't heard this song in the longest time and this rendition does it more than justice, you absolutely nailed that performance and I just loved every second of it - what a beautiful performance!

You have a divine voice and I really can't get enough of it, the way in which you sang that song was sublime - the sliding notes just hit the spot perfectly.

The playing was the ideal accompaniment, but the focus was stolen by your stunning vocals - you have some amazing vocal control and range, two things I always look for in vocalists.

I love the clarity of your vocals throughout the song, even during the more gentle moments there's no wispy fray to the quality - only to get even clearer when you put some power behind it, I am honestly curious how much power you're holding back during this performance.

It is a pleasure to watch you perform this song, it is so enjoyable for the listener to see the person performing actually enjoying the song - you looked blissful throughout and it only made it a more enjoyable experience.

You have chosen moments to expertly display the many qualities of your voice, you have a piercing clarity in your higher vocal range that is just divine to hear - the deeper notes are filled to the brim with emotion and when you kick in with that vocal slide, its just utter musical perfection.

You really blew me away with the brilliance of this performance, you added depth and texture that created such a unique and dynamic sound - you made it all look so easy like a second nature, it really was a pleasure to hear and I can't wait to hear more!


4th Place - @andreabortone - No importa la Distancia

Ahhh I just love the vocal power you display throughout this entry, what an amazing performance - I don't know this disney song but it has all the classic elements of a disney song, that being highly complex and demanding of vocalists.

You have done this song justice with your rendition and it perfectly displays the most impressive elements of you voice, that being control, range and power.

There is a beautiful tone and timber to your voice, on the deeper notes you expertly convey emotion - You have amazing control over your vocal gymnastics, it is just such a pleasure to hear.

I believe you have access to a higher range if the song called for it, but it's the way you use your voice to stunning effect that really stands out for me - you have a clear connection with this song and you do your utmost to convey it through your singing, I have to say it was clear for the listener and only added to the emotional impact.

I must also mention the playing on the piano is perfect and a brilliant choice for accompaniment, it enhances your vocals perfectly and adds such depth to the song overall - together you put on a brilliant show, that is intense and filled with passion and pure emotion.

Just such a joy to hear and watch this entry, I love seeing people do something that makes them feel - the specific emotion isn't important, it's the ability to convey that message that is intrinsic in storytelling and for me great music.

This was just such an enjoyable entry, filled with all the elements I look for in a great performance - you are both great talents and I sincerely look forward to hearing more from both of you in the near future!


4.5th Place - @queenbee - Skinny Love

Oh how I have missed you and your angelically haunting voice, you have such an amazing tone to your voice that just captures emotion perfectly - your performances never cease to impress me and I always look forward to them.

You have such brilliant control over your vocal embellishments, it adds depth, emotion and texture to your entries - I love the way you perform, the choices you make just work so beautifully here.

I love the clarity to your voice, there is a gentle nature to this song - which you convey with expert precision, creating a dynamic emotional feel throughout.

You create suspense through this song, adding layers and more emotional impact to the listener - the slight vocal echo creates an ethereal feel that continues throughout the song, again adding another emotional hook.

There's a few moments during this performance, where you display some downright impressive vocal gymnastics - then you go and add an extra layer of passionate emotion, that just made this entry transcendent for me.

I have long loved your voice and the way you use it, but this was just another beautiful display of perfection that I had to include this week - I truly loved having you back with us and I hope to see more of you again!


5th Place - @paintingangels - Left Alone

Oh wow lovely, this song had me feeling it all along with you - the emotion just drips from your intensely beautiful vocals, such a haunting and transcendent piece of music.

You performed this to spectacular perfection, I really just can't get over how amazing this song sounds - there is a depth and sorrow to your voice, it creates such an amazing feel to your music.

I love the composition the darker feel and nature of the song, the meaning behind it was profound and you captured an emotional state that is so complex - it was just a sublime song and performance, I had no choice but to get into it.

The playing is beautiful and set's the melancholy tone of the song from the get go, when your lyrics kick in the vocals couple with it in such a dramatically brilliant way - I love the emotion you have captured with amazing effect, you conveyed this with such skill it's truly breathtaking!

I have enjoyed the music I have heard from you, I have revelled in the beauty of the amazing vocal texture and style you have - the grace in which you depict such complex emotional concepts through music is everything it's needed to be, you handle the delicate topic with tact and it only enhances the feel.

Just a brilliant performance, I have no idea how many times I have listened to it - but I know I will be listening to it again very soon, as always I really look forward to hearing more from you soon!


Honourable Mentions:

@vera.carla - By the way

This week was impossible lovely and you didn't help me there, all jokes aside holy hell what a truly stunning entry and performance - I really love this song, your vocals are utter perfection.

When I hear such brilliance and know there isn't enough places available I tend to go a little stir crazy, switching places around until the very last minute - the sheer quality of your music, the lyrics and the melody were all I could want in a song, I only wish I could have more places for such amazingly worthy entries!

@nathankaye - Stop 'n' Think

Man I love that with everyone of your entries is a solid stand alone performance, you know how to work a crowd that's for sure - even when they aren't in the room with you, it's so refreshing to see and hear the confidence that comes with mastery of a craft.

You are a brilliantly talented musician, with powerhouse vocals - and best of all your music has a message and meaning, telling a story taking the listener on a journey with you and join you they do!

@silentscreamer - Wait

Well firstly I have been a fan of this song, since I first heard @meno perform it way back when he first joined us as an entrant - I just have to say wow, what a stunning rendition guys.

You have such clear vocals, it's really beautiful and I must say that violin just took me for a loop what a stunning addition - I didn't expect it, but man did I love it! Massive congratulations this was next level @silentscreamer and @pechichemena again I wish I had more places.

@builtinfire - Silent World

When I heard that intro I did a double take, I was like is this dude speakin my language - sure enough when I went to check your profile it said it all, we have another amazing Aussie musician! (honestly can't believe I didn't realise sooner).

What bloody brilliant playin mate, I love seeing a muso get into what they are playing and feel it - I felt it along with you, just another awesome performance filled with passion!

@moderndayjester - MAD WORLD

Firstly I have to say brilliant song choice mate, I just love this song and you absolutely did it justice - the changes you made only enhanced the tension and melancholy, it was a unique approach and I liked it.

Now for the beat boxing, the way you incorporate it into music is masterful - songs you would never expect to have it now seem odd without it, I am liking your style and I can let the one note slip (but your reaction was priceless, the instant it happened you knew - and you kept on going the last few notes, then fully reacted) just gold.

@darrenclaxton - Was It Right

I was drawn to this song with the first sequence and mate I wasn't let down, what a beautiful performance - you're playing was next level on this one, the lyric and melody fit beautifully.

There is a complexity to this composition that just adds so much texture to the song, the emotion is riddled through the lyrics and melody - just a really pretty sounding song, that you can't help but bop along with.

@tomashofficial - Here With Me

I had to include your entry in this weeks honourable mentions, it is just stunning - the composition is so layered and complex, varied and just brilliant.

You're vocals added such depth to the song, the combination of playing and singing completed this sound perfectly - I just couldn't stop listening to this and I'm looking forward to hearing more.

@pechichemena - Las cosas tienen movimiento

What a beautiful song and performance mate, I just never get tired of hearing you sing - you have such a sweet gentleness that you convey through music with such skill, creating the most amazing sound.

Great vocal control in this entry and brilliant playing, I'm really glad you decided to do this cover - thank you for sharing your sublime rendition, just beautiful!

@Lincolnofblood - comenzar

The moment I heard this I knew I needed to at least mention it, what an amazing performance man - so much emotion coursing through this, not to mention the inability to stay still while listening to it.

Just a great original song, with tonnes of feel and texture throughout - I love the powerful vocals, the control you display is awesome and I really can't wait to hear more from you soon!

@moccamonica - Cuenta conmigo

Oh wow just stunningly performed guys, I am just loving those fantastic vocals - and the playing with it's own dramatic flare really worked to make this an amazing song and performance.

But again as a vocalist I am just taken away by the beauty and grace of your vocals, the control you display is divine - the way in which you vary it to suit the moment of the song, just perfection can't wait to hear more!

@pedromrmourato - Desfado

This was just amazing guys, what a fantastic performance and sound - I just dug it from the first moment I heard it, I knew it had to be displayed and shared as much as possible.

The energy captured and conveyed in this song is brilliant, I couldn't help but move and really get into this performance - and it really was the a refreshing and energetic performance, designed to entertain and that you did my friends!


Wow guys what an unbelievable week, I so enjoyed getting to listen to all the entries - it really is so much fun to watch you all change and evolve over time, showing new elements and skills it's just awesome.

I want to remind you all, if you actually made it this far - firstly congratulations, secondly don't forget to check out the new Open Mic discord.

It really will grow with time and become an amazing asset to Open Mic'ers and musicians in general, you guys can help mould this place into what you want and need it to be - so come and check it out sometime!

Thanks so much for the amazing effort this week guys, it really was such a pleasure - but given how long this post already is, I might leave things there.

Have a good one and catch you all next week!

I'd also like to remind everyone again that all top five nominations from this week, will feature in the Steemit Musicians live radio show on MSP-Waves next week.

A massive congratulations to all of those to be featured in the show, it is going to be great opportunity to get to further share the awesome entries we receive each week - I can't wait to hear the audience's feedback on our selections and your entries.

I hope you can all drop by and support those who made this week's lists, I'm sure they'd appreciate the support - not to mention if you join you get to help choose the weekly 20 SBD winning entry!


Please join us for Steemit Musicians this Sunday 12-1 UTC!

Time Zone Converter

You can listen live at the mspwaves website- http://mspwaves.com/home/listen
You can listen on twitch-

You can join broadcast hosts in a special chat room on the MSP Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/kNxM7T6
You can check out http://mspwaves.com/ for more information


MSP waves logo.gif

On the note of the community I thought I'd take a moment to mention that, over at the minnow support program on our discord chat room Peace Abundance and Liberty - the recently revitalised music room has been getting rather active lately.

As well as the recent burst of activity, we have also added a jukebox to the room - so now when you're chatting with people in the music room, you can choose and play music from youtube (this includes open mic entries, I may have already played a couple I really enjoyed).

So far I have seen a few open mic regulars hanging out and about on the PAL chat rooms, now we have a place where we can actively share music live with people were chatting with - this can help musicians in so many ways, not to mention it's just fun to hang out and chat over and about good tunes.

In addition to the new music room Peace Abundance and Liberty chat rooms have a lot to offer, you can access bots to vote on your posts, you can also meet and interact with over 5000 steemians in the channel - this can be a very useful resource to new steemians, but is also a fantastic place to meet and interact with like minded individuals on many different topics.

Again a big thanks to @soundlegion, @meno, @verbal-d and @passion-ground for all they do as judges, please remember to go and check out their top five selections each week and to @luzcypher and @pfunk thank you so much for making all of this possible - until next week.

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

What a cool list :) ! I'm so happy to see so many friends in the top list/honorable mentions this week ! this family keeps growing and coming closer ! Thank you very much for including me in your mentions today too :) ! Much Love - Pechiche.

lol, Krystle! Thanks haha you're the kindest! Thank you so muuuuch! Glad you liked it!!

You work so hard! I'm sad I've been out of the Open Mic loop quite a bit the last while. But I've seen things coming in on my account - wish I knew what the heck that was about! I'll shoot you a message on Discord one of these days.

Anyway, thanks for all you do for musicians here on Steemit. Love to you! Miss you somehow, lol :) xx, Kay

@Krystle You made Katya cry. When it comes to Break Out The Crazy the truth is I (Chris) focus a lot more on the musical/melodic aspects of our creations and Katya puts all the tender love and care into the lyrics. She was SO happy to hear all the things you said about our song that the tears were streaming down her face as I read them out loud just now. The appreciation and the exact interpretation of what it was we wanted to say in this song was spot on and immensely appreciated. Thank You! ! ! We love #openmic!

Thanks so much for the honourable mention @krystle I am humbled. The level of talent at #openmic is mind blowing. So many talented musos here it's incredible.

Aww so happy to see Serena at the top five. Also so impressed by Nathan's multiinstrumentalist skills this week. I also enjoyed "Wait" cover I like the original, sang it live in one of the dlive with their permission but the violin is just 💞. Been away several days and I realize I have not listened to many so to be fair gonna do some homework.

Thanks Krystle for all you do! I'm so inspired watching all these other musicians and one of these weeks I'll have to try entering :)

What a cool list :) ! I'm so happy to see so many friends and I liked it!!

Congratulations @krystle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66