Steemit OpenMic Week 81 – Desfado (Ana Moura)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)


Hey guys, I'm glad to be back for this week's OpenMic! This time I invited Mariline Hortigueira, who sings Fado, the most typical portuguese musical genre, added in 2011 to the UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage Lists.

As wikipedia states, "Fado (Portuguese pronunciation: [ˈfaðu]; "destiny, fate") is a music genre that can be traced to the 1820s in Lisbon, Portugal, but probably has much earlier origins. In popular belief, fado is a form of music characterized by mournful tunes and lyrics, often about the sea or the life of the poor, and infused with a sentiment of resignation, fatefulness and melancholia. This is loosely captured by the Portuguese word saudade, or "longing", symbolizing a feeling of loss (a permanent, irreparable loss and its consequent lifelong damage)."

Famous singers of fado include Amália Rodrigues, Dulce Pontes, Carlos do Carmo, Mariza, Mafalda Arnauth, António Zambujo, Ana Moura, you may have heard about some of these!

It is typically played with portguese guitar, a plucked string instrument with twelve steel strings, which I try to reproduce in the solo part. I'm also using a loop pedal to create some layers, evertything played live.

Hope you enjoy it!

*Here's also the Youtube version.

Sort:  

Absolutely loved it!! I love Fado music, so emotionally expressive!

The looping gave a modern feel to the traditional Fado, and it works really well.

Hey @martinsandersuk, I feel happy to know people who Fado here on Steemit! This song is from a new wave of Fado, more modern. You can check the original version on Youtube, aswell as some more songs from Ana Moura.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @thomashblum from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Thank you @thomashblum, and all the people in the @minnowsupport for all the support you give to musicians on the OpenMic community!

That sounds amazing! I loved her voice, and the loop layers add a nice touch!
PS: is it called "Desfado" because it doesn't sound as mournful? I find it rather cheerful, but I do hear the word sad in the lyrics (it sounds similar in spanish)

Hey @lilixblack, thanks a lot! I really like using the loop to creat this kind of rythm! Well, I don't know about the name, but in fact it's a very happy song, unlike the tradicional Fados, so you might be right!

This got me up and dancing! Love it!

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Ahah that's the goal here! This is a modern type of Fado, not so slow and sad as the more tradicional, it's having a huge sucess lately, not only in Portugal but also on some other countries! Happy to bring it to the OpenMic!

You never stop to amaze me!

I said that back to you man, always checking on your stuff! Really dig the Satriani cover, I'm thinking of playing Cliffs of Dover from Eric Johnson on the OpenMic one of these days!

That i would love to see!... I love Erics music... Im also practicing some of his tunes :)

Not promissing when, it's a great responsability, it has to be on spot!

Muito bom! Nice!

Obrigado @passion-ground, and thanks for the mention on your list!

My pleasure, brother... Your performance this week along with the fresh talent you bring is very refreshing, and we love it... Thank you!

I feel really happy to have to chance to bring you my talented friends! Still got some more to come eheh

Another great entry bro, well done @pedromrmourato & Mariline :)

I have added you to my Official Judge's List for Week 81

Check out the full review here please, it's my longest one to date :)

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-81-original-blog

Hey @verbal-d, once again glad to be a part of your top! I'm cheking it out right now!!

You both deserved it bro

How curious that the melody and harmony of this song are quite similar to the typical of a folklore genre of my country, especifically from my region, East of Venezuela, the coast. Greetings! The girl sings super cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55499.23
ETH 2917.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30