How To Eat Cheap On The Canary Islands When Travelling On A Budget. + Recipe GOFIO Balls!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #minnowtowhale7 years ago (edited)

Cheap local food of the Canary Islands!

Since I have been travelling on La Palma I have discovered a delicious and famous specialty that belongs to the Canary Islands, most of you would think of Mojo but I am talking about another one, this delicious specialty is called Gofio!

Gofio is believed to be a main staple food in the diet of the Guanches, the indigenous people of the Canary Islands. It is made of toasted grains. Typical ingredients are toasted wheat, barley or corn grinded into flour. They use this flour for many varieties of meals. They add it into soups, stews, ice cream, desserts,... a very popular thing is to mix it with banana and milk and make a porridge out of it for breakfast.

If you are travelling on the canary islands and want to travel as cheap as possible and don't want to spend much money on food.. then I have got the solution for you. This is something that can fill your stomach for hours. I must warn you this can be addictive food for some reason, sometimes I ate it two times a day. Maybe also because it is so easy to make, delicious and satisfying. Some claim this is very nutritious food but try to balance it out with lots of greens during the day, we need some variety to keep everything in balance. Too much of the same food can always bring complications after awhile..

Here it goes, GOFIO Mitchies'style!


Ingredients: (the optional stuff isn't necessary, they are not the main flavors in the recipe, I use them for health reasons)

  • 2 or 3 Bananas (between 0.50-1.0€/Kg)
  • 2 Cups Gofio de Millo (1.50-1.80€/Kg)
  • 2 Handfuls of Whole Peanuts, Roasted (0.9-1.5€/250gr.)
  • 2 tbsp Chia seeds (3.0€/200gr.- Optional)
  • 2 tbsp Flax seeds (3.5€/500gr. - Optional)
  • 2 Handfuls of Fine Cocnut flakes (0.8-1.3€/150gr.)
  • 1 Cup of Water or Coconut milk (1.5€/L - Optional)
  • 1 tbsp Honey (Local 3.0€/250gr. - Optional)
  • 1 tbsp Cacao powder (3.0€/200gr. - Optional)

If you count up the ingredients it may look like a lot of money but the thing is that these ingredients go a long way. If you want to use it as travelling food you just have to use a lot less then the amount given, this recipe is for feeding 3 or 4 mouths..

Preparation:

  • First start to open the peanuts, remove the skin, break them into pieces and add to a bowl, I usually make a mix of finely broken up peanuts with bigger chunks but this totally is up to you of course.

  • Add the chia seeds, flax seeds, 1/2 of the coconut flakes, cacao powder, gofio to the bowl and mix thoroughly.

  • Start to mash the bananas on a plate separately, I used a deep soup plate because I add some coconut milk or water to the bananas to make it more liquid so it is easier to mix it in the gofio, also mix in the honey.

  • Once you have a soft liquid texture you can add it to gofio and add coconut milk or water slowly because for this recipe I made gofio balls, if want to make a porridge for breakfast add more liquid to it.

  • Try to make a firm consistency so they don't fall apart and role them in the size of golf balls more or less.

  • Then coat them in coconut flakes until fully coated and store them in your fridge if your not eating them..😃

I hope you have enjoyed this delicious recipe, I know I did... See you next time! Thanks for your support fellow steemians... Much appreciated!🖤



I am a member of the #minnowtowhale team, thanks to @joerocketfilms. If you are new to steemit and want to become a member to help each other grow and participate in the community go here for guidelines, and go to the discord channel and talk to @joeyrocketfilms in the 'team-minnowtowhale' channel https://discord.gg/Xuw5DF


Tips

Video Tutorials

Here are some of my older posts if you are interested in some healthy recipes, travel stories or health related topics. Now you don't have to search in between the pile of resteemed posts..:)

I would like to leave you with some amazing talents I discovered and friends I have met until now and their pieces of art!

Friends



Graphic design is done with the website https://www.canva.com/ and all non-sourced images are 100% my own work.
The GIF image is the designed by @pulpworx

Sort:  

This is really a very high energy packed food mate and for sure it will keep you going! Having these during long travels would be just great!

Yes it is, it keeps me going for a while when I eat this :)

It looks so delicious , thank you for recipe ill try make it :)

Yes I love this recipe very yummy..:D make sure you use gofio de millo(Maize) this makes all the difference, it is the biggest star in the recipe :D

When I started reading this post, my first thought was: Neh, I did not really like this stuff. Only tasted it a handful of times and it was the most boring version. I then continued reading, when I saw the picture and ingredients mentioned and it started to sound more and more interesting!

I feel this would make for the ultimate food for travelers who don't care too much about luxury and eating in fancy restaurants ;) I would probably add vegetables myself, just for the sake of it but I would really love to taste this some time. Perhaps you can prep it for me one day, when we meet up at one of the Canary Islands? ;)

Anyway, great post. Thanks for sharing! Pretty impressive if you made this (recipe) up yourself. Did you? Oh, and before I forget, thanks a lot for mentioning me underneath your post! Much appreciated :)

Gracias amigo, quedamos en contacto!

P.S. I might start blogging about living from little money too. I am quite experienced in that myself.

The thought of mixing it with vegetables has crossed my mind too once..:) but I don't think I would like the flavor combinations much so I decided to keep it as a breakfast meal.

Deal! When we meat somewhere in the future I will prep this delicious recipe ;). Yes I came up with it myself, this is one of my hobbies/passions to find nice flavor combinations, it is my way of being creative :)

Your welcome buddy. Good idea, living with little money is a nice topic that can help a lot of people I think. Ciao amigo

Great post! I love this! Upvoted, followed and resteemed mate! =)

GREAT images... can't seem to resteem! =(

I think it is because the payout already passed. No problem still thanks you mate :)

Thanks dude, I really apreciate your support :)

Gofio, the magical gofio. Soon you are gonna be the gofio-specialst Mike! Well done, I already could imagine the taste of it in my mouth. Miss La Palma, miss the taste of canaries. Thanks!!

Hehe thanks for your comment. When I leave la palma I am sure I will miss it too :)

My kind of healthy snack! Great recipe! Thanks for sharing ;)

I love it.. mmmm... haha..:) thanks for the comment

This post has received a 1.82 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @mitchiesfoodrace.

Definately going to try this recipe! This would be perfect when I go hiking.

Jup it is perfect for this :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60133.79
ETH 2686.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49