Update, Month 2: Still Engaged with an Increased Stake and "Growing" ...

in #life6 years ago

Since posting my introduction on May 14th, I thought I would write my second monthly update. As much as anything, it represents my "log" of sorts, giving my readers a monthly view, through my eyes, of my "journey" into this new "virtual world" based on the creation of the Steem blockchain.

So ... "What are you doing 'in there' @roleerob and how is it going?"

Status or "Executive Summary"

To begin, here is a brief overview to answer the "how is it going" question we should probably be "checking in" with ourselves and answering, from time to time.

Statistics

There is an old saying, "numbers don't lie." Yes, well, there is also an old joke about the executive asking the accountant, "what do the numbers say about how we're doing?" to which the accountant replied, "what do you want them to say?" ... 😊

Required to issue a monthly report for most of my career, with numbers to quantify progress, here are a few:

So ... At this point in my "journey," these appear to me to be the big three. Without dwelling on the details, summed up altogether they seem to best quantify our influence on adding value to the Steem blockchain. Given all of our rich diversity and understanding our Community is "different things to different people," I trust we all have one focused objective in common. We want the value to go up!

That said and these simple statistics aside, the primary number in focus right now for me is my time. Very challenging topic for me, with a lot behind the word "challenging," but on into my post for the "heart" of my update - "growth" ...

"Growing"

What @roleerob? Got an expanding waist line problem? Need to get up from that keyboard more and "use it or lose it?" 😉

I will not attempt to recreate the content of my Adding Value and Curation and Pollination posts here, but they both wrestle with an essential question to me and that is ”what is of value? Read together, they provide my readers with my start of coming up with an answer.

"Face time" is more than some "app on a device" to me. Am I going to yield to some delusion that relationships in this "virtual world" match those in the "real world?" No. I will not "go there" ...

Nonetheless, it is undeniable there is something of value "in here” and as a life-long "continual learner," I am committed to a better understanding of what exactly it is. Beyond the obvious, which is we "meet" others "in here" whom we never would otherwise. Such is the "magic and the mystery" of this product of creative genius (another post, another day) ...

With that, time will tell how this formatting evolves in future updates, but I would like to have different highlighted sections, along the lines of my Update, Month 1 ... post. My readers can then focus in on what they may find of value, if they don't have the time and / or interest to read through it all.


Monthly Highlights

”Ranking” what stands out to me in Month 2, we have …

👍 👍 Two Thumbs Up 👍 👍

Working with ”systems,” as well as managing the work of others, for much of my career, I have always emphasized ”people” over ”process” believing that is the right priority. From a lot of experience, I know the best systems are greatly diminished, if not ”manned” by competent, engaged people. A great team will always solve the problem of less-than-ideal systems. I have never experienced the reverse to be true ...

This section, then, will always be about the people I “meet” in our Community. Specifically, those who have had the greatest impact on my "journey." While I could get bound up with the notion, in not mentioning some, that I may put them off, I will simply say my intentions are good, but my time is very limited. So ... I will give a “shout out” to the top three:

Here we go, in alphabetical order ( <= don’t miss that! 😉):

  • @abh12345: His Steem: Don't forget to look up post and all of the associated links, resulted in my committing to @Steemcommunity (where he works in partnership with @paulag) my vote, as one of our all-important Witnesses. Much to reflect on, in the ”1%” and related “middle class” content of it. And his efforts with the Curation and Engagement League are believed to be well-known.

  • @headchange: Her A Question Of Growth post resulted in a bit of a “snowball rolling downhill” for me in gaining some depth and detail on the value proposition we are steadily working on in our Steem Community. She was also the “point person” in connecting me to the “PIFC team,” led by @thedarkhorse.

  • @lynncoyle1: As stated in my reply to her Striking Balance : How to get to 500 SP ? post, she exemplifies all the hard work involved in creating Community, which has value beyond what can be financially measured.

Honorable mention: My experience with @skyleap, detailed in my business review post.

👍 One Thumb Up 👍

First covered in Month 1, revisiting the fascination I have being a part of the Steemian Community and the effect of this blockchain connecting people from all over the world. For example, here I had a brief exchange with a man from Morocco!

In that update, though, I said:

”I will always place the greatest value on the personal time I have with my family and friends. ‘Personal time’ is living life with them in ways that simply can't be ‘virtually’ replicated. Take, for a simple example, the all-important topic of good communication. So much of it is non-verbal, i.e. one's body language, facial expressions, etc. While video connections are helpful, they still can't match the ‘real thing.’"

I think I am going to be wrestling with this question for a long time. This month I was able to find some encouraging examples of real value in some online relationships, so that was helpful. My first (month) impressions were not all that favorable overall, but I didn't give up.

Inescapable, though, is the time they take away from our "real world" relationships. How could it be otherwise? Balance will certainly play a key factor, as it so often does. I like @thedarkhorse's honesty in saying ...

" ... I'm giving up a little TV time or messing around on the internet wasting time somewhere else ..."

as his way of working through the time commitment. Instead, he is investing it in our Steem Community. I like that. If we're honest, we all waste time here and there that could be better spent, so why not into our Steem Community?

👎 One Thumb Down 👎

Bots are still annoying to me and, on balance, I could easily do without them. Similar to what I say above about finding some encouraging examples of online relationships, though, at least this month I did find that there were some bots that seemed to be serving a useful purpose.

At the end of the day, I suppose they are just like any other creation of man. In and of themselves, they are neither good or bad. They are simply programmatic mechanisms designed to automate some function(s). Whether good or bad is up to whoever is behind the creation of it.

In my IIBA Conference post, I discussed the view of the “best and the brightest” from all over the world about the topic. Bots, AI, machine learning etc. is not only here, but implementations are accelerating all over everywhere …

In the future, I hope we’ll see “the good guys” are winning in creating counters (suppressors? destroyers?) to all “the bad guys” are creating. Sadly, these creations have entered the military sphere sometime ago, so a great deal is at stake.

👎 👎 Two Thumbs Down 👎 👎

Not going to spend a lot of time on a strong negative, but I want to touch on our reputations. Reinforcing what I just said, I have watched the “destruction” of another Steem account by a relentless bot posting “blacklist” comments and downvoting. Drove this account into negative numbers, on their reputation. At which point, for all practical purposes, they “disappear” …

The all-important question is based upon what? Certainly nothing obvious, I can assure my readers of that. I will always be an “innocent until proven guilty” advocate. Too much is at stake to get this wrong.

I hope to not see that again …


Closing

Quite a month for @roleerob! I am certain this next month cannot match it, for the simple fact I am leaving shortly for a much-anticipated and much-needed vacation. Off the to Great Northwest, to visit family and friends, as well as seeing as much of our beautiful country, as we can manage, along the way.

All the best to you for a better tomorrow, as we all work together to build our Steem Community! 👍 😊

Respectfully, fellow Steemian @ roleerob

Posted using Busy.org and immutably “enshrined in the blockchain” on Sunday, 15 July 2018!

divider 123.png

steemdivider.png

If you enjoyed this post, perhaps you would also find these posts of interest / value:
Sort:  

I think that you are far ahead of many who join steemit in your journey. The fact that you are thinking about balance in life and how to make steemit work is something many don't bother to do and instead will dive all in. Then turn around and way to soon make a snap judgement that their time investment wasn't worthwhile and they leave.

Problem is steemit growth is much more like a couch potato becoming a marathon runner. It can happen, but the first steps involve a lot of hard work to see almost no results. You might have to start off walking a mile (some even less) and then work up to a walk 5 minutes, run 30 seconds, walk 5 minutes, run 30 seconds. Then from there you increase the run time or increase the length of the workout. But it's all baby steps to work your way up to being in shape enough to run that marathon. If you tried to just go run a marathon after sitting on your ass for the last 20 years odds are you'll end up in the hospital.

So starting people need to understand their efforts are not going to yield great results right away. But it's the relationships that are built over time that yield the long term success.

As for those pesky bots, you just have to learn to ignore them. Consider muting some of the more annoying ones so you don't see their comments at all.

Thank you for adding value to this post @thedarkhorse. I really appreciate that! 🌄 up here, and "stopping in" for quick bit of "curating," before heading off to my "day job" ...

"... like a couch potato becoming a marathon runner ..."

Got a big laugh out of this. Classic! I am closely acquainted with a professional triathlete. 'It could happen" ... 😉

"But it's all baby steps to work your way up to being in shape enough to run that marathon. If you tried to just go run a marathon after sitting on your ass for the last 20 years odds are you'll end up in the hospital."

I like the illustrations you have provided, like this one. No doubt a voice of experience and a definite "reality check," for those willing to listen. The central point you make here is one that is already "under construction" in my upcoming "Adding Value, Chapter 2" post.

Gotta fly now. Thanks again @thedarkhorse.

Have a great day!

No problem and glad to add value where possible.

Like the way you pull from other people's posts and takes their thoughts to make your point. They always say that Stories Sell and Facts Tell. Think that by using the words of others you are adding more credibility to your thoughts and allowing others to see that you aren't the only one thinking this way. Added bonus is others see that you are actually reading their content. Very smart!

Good morning @roleerob

Thank you so much for articulating the way you perceive this virtual community. I have been a member since April and have had a lot of eye opening experiences. Before taking my plunge into the vast hot boiling vat of steem there was a ten year with Googles Youtube. There I made connections with fellow off grid explores and friendships that now are lukewarm. The reason I say it that way is the fact that I left that platform for this one thinking that it would be a more enlightening and a mature population. Well has you know that is not entirely true. My artistic ways are not entirely looked upon as meaningful to the peeps that congregate within the steem family. Hense I have of late been very upset at the principals that run the corporation and the bots that support them. It is to bad that I have to be so critical towards them. It really takes away from why I am here in the first place. Since letting out the steem, I have experienced the door being shut and hitting my ass.
I see that you like Busy.org, do you recommend using them as my primary blogging site instead of Steemit.com? I do like the fact that it seems to be a well thought out interface but I am wary of the steem connect code. Another question, why in the world can we not delete a post? Why in the world can we not have a truncated front page to high light different subject matters?
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this monthly report. I have a very busy "real life" and find it difficult to sit here and respond to people I follow. I mean, this morning I have already spent an hour reading and responding to people that follow me. Not sure how much more I can do this.
I will leave you with this.....I came here to post my experiences and wisdom without having to consistently reciprocate. Does that sound weird?
Roberto

Good evening @white-lie-living! As committed to you this morning, I am back to see if I can answer some of your questions.

"I see that you like Busy.org, do you recommend using them as my primary blogging site instead of Steemit.com? I do like the fact that it seems to be a well thought out interface but I am wary of the steem connect code."

In my Update, Month 1 post, I mentioned the 3 different interfaces to the Steem blockchain I use - 1) SteemIt, 2) Busy.org, and 3) Partiko android app (follow @Partiko for more info). Each has their place, as I detail in that post.

I certainly understand you being leery about SteemConnect, as I think we should all be wary about our security online. That said, it has been my impression that Steem developers are focused on the "back end" and letting others take care of the "front end." And the way they support the independent "front end" developers, like Busy.org, is to provide the common "bridge" connecting them all to the Steem blockchain - SteemConnect. Once I read up on it, I decided it was OK and I've never had a problem. But, don't take my word for it. You'll want to satisfy yourself that it is OK.

"Another question, why in the world can we not delete a post? Why in the world can we not have a truncated front page to high light different subject matters?"

For these questions, I have no answer, as I am quite new to the Steem blockchain. Others may read this and have an answer.

"... thinking that it would be a more enlightening and a mature population ..."

You have been "in here" longer and I'm sure have a better perspective, as a result. My own impression is there is a rich diversity of people in here and it is a matter of finding your niche in amongst them. In time, we all hope our Steem Community grows, so presumably each niche will grow with it.

"Thanks so much for taking the time to write this monthly report. I have a very busy "real life" and find it difficult to sit here and respond to people I follow."

Yes, we have the same problem. I would encourage you to follow some of the links I have provided in the post and read what @abh12345 and others have to say about "curating." Perhaps you'll find some encouragement in some of their experiences.

Hope this helps @white-lie-living.

Have a good evening!

Thank you @roleerob
Wow, I thought that you were on here longer than me. I really enjoy your articles. Thanks for the links, I will look into them.
Keep up the good work. I am still looking for a witness that at least responds back to my concerns that I have in regards to copyright infringement by the "trending" page members. I have to say, that it is an eyeopener watching posts that use other peoples stuff from outside of the ecosystem. They make lots of cash and tremendous upvotes using big brother accounts.
I spend hours upon hours getting video footage and compiling it for my live broadcasts. I do realize that some of my content of late has been casting a pessimistic light onto the Steemit landscape.
With that said, I feel that I need to do it and Dlive is providing me the venue to express my concerns. I hope that you can see past my bad attitude. I just do not like what I have been seeing of late.
Best intentions by me and for all on the Steem network.

Sure thing @white-lie-living. Glad to help, if I can.

"Wow, I thought that you were on here longer than me.'

If you simply look at my "Joined August 2017," that is understandable. But, I started out as just an investor. Decided if my investment was going to go up, I needed to also be a user and learn more about what exactly this Steem blockchain is!

Not to worry, at least with me, about seeming negative. We're all entitled to our opinion. Hopefully, you'll find some peace about some of your concerns.

Have a good evening!

Good morning @white-lie-living. Thank you for writing!

While I cannot do justice to a good response now, I wanted to " reach out" and let you know that I will. Once back home this evening.

Have a great day!

Posted using Partiko Android

Your reputation is at 46! OK now I'll go read it. Haha

Posted using Partiko Android

How are you doing @crypto.talk? Nice to hear from you!

Yes, 46 and with this post I should be close to going to 47. A lot slower in getting this to go up, compared to when we were at 36. Or 37 ...

I'm learning a lot about our Steem Community. Now at the end of the second month. And I still feel like I have a long way to go ...

Well, we are in a marathon race, so we'll just have to pace ourselves ... 😊

Good evening @crypto.talk! So close ...

Maybe writing this reply to you will put me over the line! 😊

Naww, it doesn't work like that, but it was a good thought! 👌

Have a good evening!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 101 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Good evening @trufflepig! This is definitely a first for me. Getting a nice reply from a bot!

"I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 101 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true."

Yes, you did upvote my post @trufflepig and for that I am grateful. To learn more about how you reached your conclusion, I went and read through the link you provided.

"Steemit can be a tough place for minnows. Due to the sheer amount of new posts that are published by the minute, it is incredibly hard to stand out from the crowd."

No doubt about it! In reading more about your "mission," I have to say a lot of it was a little over my head. But, I did note this:

"I search for quality content that got less rewards than it deserves. I call these posts truffles, publish a daily top list, and upvote them.'

Far be it from me to argue with you @trufflepig! 😉 So ... How did you come up with this "opinion?"

"This week I got a training set of 74508 contributions."

Wow! That is some serious homework @trufflepig!! Impressive stuff ... Well, gotta go for now, but thanks for letting me know I ended up in "the truffle bag!"

Upvoted you in return (so, you "broke even") and I am going to start following your work @trufflepig (and your manager, @smcaterpillar), as it looks very interesting.


P.S. You may note in this post that I don't have a particularly high opinion of bots (nothing personal ... 😉), but from what I see of your work, definitely have to chalk one up for the "good guys!" 👍 👍

Very nice, thanks for the kind words!

Far be it from me to argue with you @trufflepig! 😉 So ... How did you come up with this "opinion?"

By the way, HERE you can find the source code of the bot :-)

You're certainly welcome @smcaterpillar. While I could pretend I would be able to read and understand the code creating @trufflepig, I won't ...

I'll just go with the impressions made and say it looks promising. I hope you and others working with you can fully realize the promise of what you envision the possibilities to be.

All the best to you in your future endeavors! 👍

@roleerob you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Thanks for all you're doing @flagfixer. Keep up the good work!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by roleerob from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @roleerob! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45