Focus of our Time

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Is there anything more valuable than our time? Aside from perhaps our relationships with other people, I don't think so. How are we doing then, with our decisions on how we are spending it?

image.png

img src

So ... Why is how we spend our time such a big deal?

No Going Back

One essential aspect of the answer is there are no "do overs" in life. There is only going forward. Who among us has not wrestled with this challenge - if only we could have the chance to "do that" over again and not make the same mistake. Not an option ...

All we can do is learn from it. For the next time. So ... Looking back on our lives, what have we learned? What would we change, if we could? Specifically, would we make any changes to the focus of how we spend our time?

Over a long, full life, I have had the privilege of traveling all over my country, as well as to some other parts of the world. Along the way, many conversations have turned to this question of reflecting back over time and what we might change, if we could.

You know what? I have lost count of how many times I have been told, if people could go back, they would spend more time with other people. Particularly their children. Not one time have I ever been told by anyone they regret spending too much time with people.

Investing in People

As stated at the beginning, perhaps the only thing more valuable than our time is our relationships with other people. Would anyone disagree these two fundamental characteristics of our lives are inextricably linked? How can you really have a relationship with another person in whom you have invested no time? I'd say it is not possible ...

The classic, timeless manner in which most of us think about investing our time is with our families. And with our friends. And, most importantly, with our children. They are the future. Anyone who suggests there might be some online, digital version of parenting has simply never been a parent.

Has there ever been a time in human history when this was not so? Or anywhere in the world where this was not the case? I imagine the answer is no! It is inherent in who we are.

Online Networks in our Digital World

If we were to have the opportunity to sit down face-to-face and talk things over, I wonder how we might view the revolutionary changes in our world around us. Specifically, the relentless advance of technology and the resulting creation of online networks of people from all over our world.

In my Update, Month 1 post, I discussed both the fascination with what this represents, as well as some definite concerns. I am still concerned ...

To me, there can be no question there has to be some value in being able to connect with people with whom it would simply not be possible to "meet" otherwise. To join together with them, in whatever "common cause" our individual expressions of free will would determine. Our Steem Community is a powerful example of that, as we all together learn what changes in our lives await us from the creation of blockchain technology.

But, right now, I am alone typing on a keyboard. In so doing, I am not spending "quality time" with anyone. This is not a trivial issue for me. And, I can imagine, not for others either. So ... What do you think / how do you feel about this?

Perhaps the key is to get the balance right. It is hard to argue persuasively it is "bad" to invest time in online networks and "digital" relationships with others. It just can't be how we spend all of our time. I'd even suggest it shouldn't even be how we spend the majority of our time, as I don't believe there is any substitute for living life with others all around us in the "real world."

Closing

Food for thought this morning, for my fellow Steemians. On a Sunday. The 24th day of June. In the year 2018. The relentless march of time continues and I hope to keep getting better at consciously thinking about how I am investing it.

Please share your comments with me. Wherever you may be in life, I welcome the input on how you view this topic that binds us all together.

All the best to you!

Steemin’ along and on the move ... Posted (in part) using Partiko Android and (in part) using Busy.org

Sort:  

Thank you for writing this @roleerob. I particularly like what you've said about our children. It is scary to me to see how much time they spend with their various digital devices, instead of with each other "real time."

So far, every study I have read about this is talking about the negative implications. I have yet to read any which are positive.

So, yes indeed, what is the focus of our time? How do we spend it …

Keep posting!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by roleerob from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83