Money plus Happiness divided by Priorities

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Take five minutes and write down a dozen or so priorities in your life as they are right now, in no particular order.

Do not think about them, just jot them down.

If you finish early, here's a random happy duck while you're waiting.

Ok, take a look at what you wrote. These things are important to you.

You may have things like Steemit, My Wife, My Children, Friends, Build Business, Painting, Making Money, Travel, Freedom.

Now number these priorities in order of importance of happiness. The number one thing that brings you the most inner happiness #1, etc. If you are married or a parent, those might be near the top of your list- assuming your spouse still likes you and you don't have teenagers.

Your favorite hobby is probably pretty high up, and for most of us our time spent within the Steemit community will be rated highly.

But you might have noticed that Making Money is not near the top of your list.

Making a living is a necessity, but it does not bring you joy. Sure it can make your life easier by way of security, but making money does not make you happy.

Now that you have prioritized your life based upon what you care about the most. It's clear what makes your life worth living.

Keep this list handy- post it on your fridge to remind yourself there is much more to life than making money.

Don't let life pass you by while you're trying to build one.

Images via Pexel and gifs via Giphy

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

animated-school-image-0033

animated-arrow-image-0314What if You Didn't Go to Work Tomorrow?
~
What the Platypus Can Teach us About Steemit Success
~
My Kid Set Fire to His School
~
Formerly Starving and in Pain, Arcadius Now Travels the World in Style
~
The Rebels of Steemit
~
Miss Placed. I lost something...
~
The Boss that Turned Me off 9-5 Forever
~
Choose Your Life Story
~
Skin Orgasm? You're Playing My Song!
~
Reality is Not Enough
~
Be the Change You Wish to See
~
Connect With Your Readers With Authenticity
~
Steemit Success Formula
~
Come Grow With The Unmentionables!
~
Grow Your Blog and Track Your Steemit Success

upvote resteem follow.gif

Sort:  

The easiest way for me throughout many years was to write down my values and then arrange them in priority. I was assisted in this exercise by thinking about living or dead folk or even fictional characters that I admired. My top value is integrity. It gives teeth to my second (love) and the rest of my short list. Then my dreams/goals made sense, as they fit like a hand in a glove with my values.

Brilliant!

A perfect explanation <3

Full upvote with love from #TheUnmentionables

If you are looking for a great place to meet incredible people, create amazing content, earn more for your posts, and just generally be awesome, then come check out our Discord channel and join us!

https://discord.gg/4UqNjs2

bei-bei.png

With <3 from @FatPandaDesign

UPVOTE THIS POST TO HELP US GROW AND HELP US REWARD GREAT CONTENT EVEN FURTHER!

Not sure what it says about me, but nothing (other than "enjoying writing on Steemit") on my list had even a peripheral connection to making money or making a living. Might explain why we're always broke!

LOL! That's funny!

Nice post ...likee it and upvoted!!

Thank you so much :)

pless vote @ mulyadi.alwi

Agree with you. Once in a while we ought to reflect what matters to us most in order not to derail from our real objectives.

Precisely. It's so easy to get wrapped up in a habit of working that we forget to enjoy life :)

This is the ailment of the 21st century. Welcome aboard.

Thanks for the share. I really could use this in life. I followed you.. Follow back

Awesome! I glad to have been helpful :)

I will be glad if you can check my last post and tell me wht u think . also help resteem

Same as Denmark guy here too! Broke but smiling! :)

p.s. The gif with the two guys going headfirst into the pumpkins is awesome!

Penniless but with priceless memories :)

Yes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69