What if You Didn't Go to Work Tomorrow?

What would you do if you didn't have to go to work in the morning?

Let's just say the bills are taken care of for the time being, so remove that from the forefront.

What would you do?

Would you take up a hobby?

Start your dream business?

Write the Great Novel?

Paint a masterpiece?

Learn to play an instrument, or learn to act? Travel around the world? Immerse yourself in a charity?

Do you know what you would do? If not, spend a few moments daydreaming. If you already know, keep reading.

Remember when you were little and asked "What do you want to be when you grow up?"
You answered something along the lines of Astronaut or President or Doctor. We tend to be grandiose as children and dream big.

Why shouldn't we dream big now?

Now think of what you would do starting tomorrow if you didn't have to go to work. Keep that in your head. This is what you want to do. Chances are you can even turn it into something that pays the bills. Are you taking steps every day toward this want? Doing something each and every day to bringing your goal to reality? If the answer is no, then make right now the beginning.

Start your dream now. There is no better time.

And don't go to work tomorrow. Change things around so you are going to "fun" :)

Images via Pixabay and Unsplash

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

animated-dividing-line-image-0032

animated-arrow-image-0314 The Recipe for Steemit Success

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

Choose Your Life Story
~
Skin Orgasm? You're Playing My Song!
~
Reality is Not Enough
~
Be the Change You Wish to See
~
Demand Your Basic Human Rights
~
Recognize and Destroy your Limiting Behavior to Success!
~
A Deer Named Kitten and Your Steemit Comfort Zone
~
Argue With A Tree and Be a Better Writer!
~
True Horror! Eyes of Fire
~
How I Quit Smoking Easily and Effortlessly
~
Breakups Hurt. There's a Pill for That and it's in Your Cabinet

upvote resteem follow.gif

Sort:  

work to live, not live to work. simples. if you can't do that take up a job that allows you mental freedom from distraction economy. if you can't do that, setup a steem it blog and. .. oh wait. . . hahahah ..

I'm not making a lot of money yet, and by that I mean, barely making $1 a day, but when I quit my job and decided not to go to work anymore, I would concentrate on my business and on my writing. I suffered a burnout in the process, because I should have stopped working sooner and due to PTSD, but I have not regretted it. I have been enjoying reconnecting with myself, my inner child, healing myself, being on this journey with my loved ones, and working on the things that matter to me. Despite my episodes from symptoms that remain, despite everything I've been through, I feel I have found happiness. Now all I need is money which will enable me to do more of what makes me happy. And I'm figuring out ways to achieve that goal :) Tomorrow, I will do that same thing I always do, decide what project I want to work on and do that.

This is a very moving story. And proof that the statement "Money does not buy happiness" is true :) Yes, it can make you more comfortable and less stressed, but happiness cannot be bought.

I am proud of you for taking these steps. They will only lead to the greatest riches <3

Thanks. I feel that I needed to take that step back, you know. And I found happiness by learning to love and accept myself BEFORE making money. Now that I have found what I was in search for, while I continue to find more, I can focus on creating and making money ;)

Well said.

I had to do the same thing before I turned writing into a career.

A lot of food for thought there. When I retired, I thought I would get to do all the things I missed out on while working. What happened? I ended up working for myself in the same field as before. I made a change, took a great risk and did something that I had often thought about but never tried. Always excuses, bills to pay, children to see through school etc. What I do now is a total shift from the field I was trained in. I have been at it for 15 years, it's still scary at times but I will never look back. Steemit also offers the road to new adventures but so many people are afraid to take the chance.

We tend to use excuses a lot, don't we?

When in all reality there is always something we can give up, or spend less time or money on, or whatever.

It IS scary. Changes and risks always are. But the rewards are priceless- and you WILL be rewarded if you do not give up!

I believe so strongly in Steemit as the future, and a limitless one at that, that I took the chance. I could have made excuses. As a completely single mom of three with zero child support, I cannot invest money as I juggle bills every month atm, but I am absolutely investing what I believe is an even greater commodity- time. I am investing all my spare time in Steemit :)

Good for you for taking the risk! You said it- just jump and never look back :)

My only problem I am finding difficulty with is juggling time to get to all the things I have to do in the day. I admire you for you positivity in tackling this challenge. I feel as though my problems are not quite so bad when thinking of the responsibilities you are carrying. I wish you all the success and keeping on steeming.

Juggling time. I hear that!

Just gotta prioritize :)

Thank you <3

Me too I was trained in mathematics, physical science, economics, business. Analytical stuff. Now I am having fun working with languages and playing electric bass. My lucky break was when I got into Harvard. A liberal arts education helps you get a cool rounded view of things.

It is strange how fate sometimes take a hand in our lives. If you had asked me 20 years ago what would I have been doing with my life today, I never would have guessed it.

What did you think at that time you would have been doing?

I spent most of my life in the technical field working for Siemens in South Africa. I was the chief commissioner for the testing and handing over of automatic telephone exchanges in Natal. When I retired I formed a company and continued in a similar field installing and commissioning CCTV and Biometric systems. It was by accident that I became involved with the antique and bookselling business. I am very happy to be sharing some of these experiences on steemit.

Me too. You must have a lot of useful technical knowledge then. Thanks for connecting on here. I hope YOU have a WONDERFUL day!

Definitely. Being able to use the creative side of the brain is important for a fulfilling life.

I believe in every word you've mentioned in your post. I also like the second picture because it has South African coins and money. xD although, things seem very ambiguous. Especially when you hear advice from older people who are successful. They always talk about today's generation and our feeling of entitlement. And how we should stick out our jobs and learn to be a bit patient in life. At the same time, I've realised that everybody I idolise and admire really took those massive risks and were rewarded greatly. Great post, @arbitrarykitten. :)

Thank you ;)

To be honest, it seems like every generation is looked down on by their elders. Yes, I'm sure for good reason sometimes- but with that being said I believe there's an unspoken (and perhaps often unintended but serendipitous nonetheless) reason for this: A few of the youngers will take what these elders say and make themselves great. They will feel compelled to rise above their generations negative stigmas and do something very big and very important.

Congrats! This post has been selected at random as a part of our promotional campaign for a free resteem. Learn about this new initiative

Sweet! This pleases me :)

The harsh realites of life seem to have stopped most people from dreaming. All we do now is follow a routine that leads us nowhere. Those before us did it and now we are also doing it "The Rat Race". There are many systems out there designed to help people escape this reality of working to pay bills. Only those willing to change and open up their minds will grasp this concept.

P.S , steemit is one of the systems designed to help eradicate this unfavorable situation.

I am grateful everyday for Steemit. It is most certainly an answer to most of the things I talk about here!

I am also grateful for not just steemit but the whole blockchain technology and crypto world as it takes away the power the central government has and gives it right back to we the people.

Yes! Right where it needs to be!

You should start a hobby well before you actually retire. For me playing badminton and traveling (photo and writing about it) is the way forward. If I am not working these two things I am gonna definitely do.

This is sound advice. It will even help ease the transition I imagine.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55499.23
ETH 2917.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30