Connect With Your Readers By Being Authentic

in #writing7 years ago

How you view yourself is just as important as what you publish.

When I began focusing on making writing my professional career, I separated myself from my work 100%. It is my work after all. What you do does not define you as an individual.

That's how I was taught- you leave your work at work and your home at home.

So I treated my job like any other and wrote the facts after thorough research. And I made some money. I got a few gigs.

However, in hindsight, I was stuck on a linear path. I was not getting better, or more, assignments. It felt pretty robotic.

Then, one day, an editor pushed me. I had recently accepted a position as staff writer for a popular niche website and although my informative articles were well received, my editor demanded more from me. He sent my third article back again and again. "I need more of YOU in this! Words are words, the readers want to feel the authentic YOU."

I was frustrated. My work was pristine, damnit! But I revised and reworded. Again and again because it kept coming back to me for additions. After the fifth draft was returned to me, I scrapped the whole thing and started fresh. I was irate by this point. Oh, I did put a bit of myself in it and it came out dripping with sarcasm.

The editor loved it. His subscribers loved it. He told me to keep writing just like this.

And that's when my career took off.

Unlike many other jobs, you have to put yourself in your writing. Your audience needs something to relate to, otherwise they feel like they are reading a high school text book. And while they may get the information they need, they will move on until their attention is captured by a writer who not only spews information, but presents it in an authentic and engaging way.

Authenticity is the key word here. Are you authentic? Are you being true to yourself? Do you know your true self?

Everything translates into your work. Everything you feel, how you view yourself. If you are not confident it shows. Your readers will pick up on that. If you are having a bad week, no matter how much you try to hide it, it will show through. You will be called out if you are faking it, or lying- even to yourself! It may not happen publicly but you will lose readers.

What can you do to be more authentic? First, be true to yourself. Be honest. Accept you for who you are, faults and all. Even the greatest superhero has weaknesses. Superman has his Kryptonite. These faults are human, and we all have them. They are what makes us relatable. Nobody likes to hang around a "perfect" person. And that is just what your fans and followers are doing- they are hanging out with you!

Let your Self in to your writing. And when engaging with others, ask deeper questions. Share your challenges- they probably have the same or similar!

Be authentic. Be real. Be you.

if u want it.gif

Images via Pixabay

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

animated-school-image-0033

animated-arrow-image-0314What if You Didn't Go to Work Tomorrow?
~
What the Platypus Can Teach us About Steemit Success
~
My Kid Set Fire to His School
~
The Rebels of Steemit
~
Miss Placed. I lost something...
~
The Boss that Turned Me off 9-5 Forever
~
Choose Your Life Story
~
Skin Orgasm? You're Playing My Song!
~
Reality is Not Enough
~
Be the Change You Wish to See
~
Demand Your Basic Human Rights
~
Steemit Success Formula
~
Come Grow With The Unmentionables!
~
Grow Your Blog and Track Your Steemit Success

upvote resteem follow.gif

Sort:  

Being a blogger need patience.. u will success sooner..

Yep, you most definitely need patience!

This post has received a 20.41 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @raphavongal. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Thank you @raphavongal !!! You made my night :)

Like you said in your post, authenticity is the key ingredient. Glad to be working along side you in our new group, looking forward to what the future has in store for us.
tip! hide

The Unmentionables is going to be a grand success! I am happy to be on this exciting journey with you Jason :)

Full upvote with love from #TheUnmentionables

If you are looking for a great place to meet incredible people, create amazing content, earn more for your posts, and just generally be awesome, then come check out our Discord channel and join us!

https://discord.gg/4UqNjs2

bei-bei.png

With <3 from @FatPandaDesign

UPVOTE THIS POST TO HELP US GROW AND HELP US REWARD GREAT CONTENT EVEN FURTHER!

@arbitrarykitten What you wrote, "What you do does not define you as an individual." is something that I teach children as a foundation. When one accepts him/her self as God's masterpiece; His gift to the rest of the world, then his/her spirit starts to shine through. One's honed essence displays in learning the skill of to be happy and to love and be loved. Once this is automatic with an individual, then everything that he/she will do will carry his/her unique brand upon it.

Learning the skill to be happy and to love and be love. I wish that were not something that had to be learned. Todays society makes it so.

We were born with the innate gift to love and be loved and we were born with the ability to be happy- it's our natural state. Sadly many lose that be it from public education, upbringing, media, etc...

It usually starts with mistakes and other mythologies in parenting. The child hears contradictory philosophies and teachings which set him/her in chaos. It becomes compounded with warehousing indoctrination centers and the young inmates within. Groupthink becomes more severe than the initial parenting errors.

Groupthink. That $hi! is dangerous.

I follow you.

Why thank you ;)

great advice. obvious of course. but still good to get a kick in the pants every now and then so we go back to being more authentic in our posts

I know I need a reminder sometimes. Always a good thing :) Especially when you see some of the generic stuff that people are publishing...

A great post and one that many should read and think about and sound advise

But I think the first step some have to make is to look deep into themselves and see who they are, many hide there inner feelings and live so long with a mask hiding their real inner self and thoughts its hard for them to be true to themselves.

its very important to know yourself, and be true to yourself :)

Can't be honest with others if you can't be honest with yourself ;)

yes exactly :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55499.23
ETH 2917.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30