We have a pilot on board!

 # And I'm glad to be here!


Hi fellow Steemers,
 I’m thrilled to be here!!  Discovered Steemit while watching a Jeff Berwick blurb on youtube.  Got 62 years of living under my belt so far, but feel and act like I’m 22….    
# About me ****    Started life with my hair on fire as a Canadian fighter pilot, flying low level around Europe at 600 mph. Nearly wrote myself off a couple of times in a CF 104 Starfighter, pictured below, and though I loved flying it, decided.. Enough already!   








Did a short stint on helicopters and then got the urge to fly heavy metal, so pursued an airline career, and have spent the last 20 years flying 747s all around the planet.  










**Over the years saw some amazing sights:**




Mount Kronotsky, pictured above from the flight deck of a 747 bound for Hong Kong, is arguably the most spectacular volcano out there. For those of you with a need to know where it is, the google maps pics below will quickly have you zeroing in on its location.



Mount Fuji (san) is awesome too!


******So…. got the T shirt**  Below after completing a flight from Tokyo to Hong Kong, the crew and I gather in the first class section to toast what was the last commercial flight of this particular 747. It’s next flight was to the scrapyard. Sad but true.


Now looking to follow a long time passion to start a motorcycle touring co. Is life great or what? We’ll see.



Feel blessed to have found Steemit. The posts and intros I’ve read so far strongly bring to mind the notion that **we are all one**. Each pulling for the other. My hope is that I too can make meaningful contributions that will help members get where they want to be.


# My Interests
My interests are varied. Flying of course, is right up there (pun intended) and I’ll be posting on jet lag, fear of flying, what happens on the flight deck. I’m happy to field any and all questions, such as, “how can an airplane that is so physically heavy get off the ground” , or “how does a pilot know when to start his descent to the airport”, or "can the airplane fall out of the sky"?

## Health and Well Being
I’m also interested in health, and how to feel good (I believe its mostly mental, but the body has to be onside as well). At my age, incredibly, I still have no aches or pains.  



Though, a few years ago, I did have some real knee trouble brought about by my hips being out of alignment. I had no idea of course that my hips were out of wack, but they were. This was fixed, painlessly, quickly and permanently when I saw an amazing naturopathic doctor. I saw him because I wanted a fix for my knee. After he showed my a picture of the effect of misaligned hips and spine, he then went on to achieve what I thought to be virtually impossible. See the before and after pictures below: The first picture, taken while I was lying face down, shows how my misaligned hips 'shortened' my right leg.  
When the doctor showed me these pictures I couldn’t believe it and I asked him if he could fix me. With a smile, he said “yes”. I then asked if it would hurt? Still smiling, he said "no, you won't feel a thing" (gulp). Then I asked "how long will this take"? He said, "about 2 minutes or so."   
He then proceeded to manipulate my leg and back. And true to his word, I didn't feel a thing, and it only took him a couple of minutes. Then he laid me on my stomach and took the ‘after’ picture. I got up, and with my first step **I knew I was completely fixed.** Amazing. I was also about half an inch taller. That was 3 years ago and I'm still in perfect alignment. He’s helped scores of people. I’ll be doing a post on him later.





**Want some help staying happy and healthy?**

If your lifestyle permits, get one of these, or a variation thereof: the family dog, Scamp.







## Meditation
I’ve been a meditator for most of my life. I do the Transcendental kind. It’s tremendously relaxing and rejuvenating. It’s a great escape if life is getting a bit hectic but feels good anytime.

## Fitness
I discovered Body for Life a number of years ago. It works best for me. Alternates daily between cardio and resistance training.

## Travel, of course!









While I’ve done a lot of things right in my life, I’ve also messed up: I’m recently divorced, 2 out of my 3 kids aren’t talking to me (for which I blame myself). But my sense of humor, and my motivation are well intact. Ever the eternal optimist! As the saying goes: We’ve only got one run through life, so better enjoy it.
**Anyway lots to talk about yet, and I’m glad to be here. Thanks for reading my intro post.**



 

Sort:  

Hi there Captain-al :) - Welcome to Steemit ! I am @digital-gypsy, nice to meet you !

Hi digital-gypsy, thanks, nice to meet you too!

Welcome to steemit man!

welcome to steemit

Welcome to Steem @captain-al I have upvoted and sent you a tip

thanks bottymcbotface. thanks for the tip!! Look forward to reading your posts.

Welcome to steemit man! Great first post, keep writing and you will grow!

Hello friend, I give you the most cordial welcome ,
I wish you success on your steemit start @captain-al

Thanks friend, I'm looking forward to this.

hello @captian-al


you are very much welcome to steemit,a one of its kind in the history of social networks. i will like to share with you some lessons i learnt the hard way.

First,write on your area of strength, don't strugle more to get topics to write on, but when you write based on what you know/do well at, that becomes your brand and fellow steemians will know what to expect from you on every post.


don't beg for followers.


When people follow you on a quip pro quo basis, that's the foundation of not getting upvotes and comments because many of your followers didn't do so because they wanted what you have to offer but rather they are just there as numbers. #don't go for numbers, but value.


When i joined, after my intro post. i went low kay and started engaging with people on their posts and comments and like that,i was getting people that truly liked me for me. i must note that at some post as a newbie, i outrightly asked people to follow me but that was before i learned that it was one of the unwritten rule of steemit;don't beg for followers.


Again,paticipate in contests, it will conect you to people and probably, earn you some steem/steem dollar. and always try to leave a good comment on people's posts. this dose wonders. check out this contest[clickhere]https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@literature-trail/fifty-word-story-contest-week-20-race-join-for-a-chance-to-win-1000-trail-and-40-sbd

Finally, learn to engage. Get the esteem app on your phone so that after writing and posting with your pc,you can now use your phone and respond to replys on the go. This will help you build your followers.>/h4>

I hope that this piece will be of grate help to you as it has been for me[though i learnt the hard way]. Follow them and thank me later. : )

once more, you are welcome. nice pictures

@arizonawise.

Nice, a new Steemian, more or less ^^ Welcome @Captain-al I hope you have fun at this place. feel free to contact or follow me at any time :-) Greetings @chrisx

Thanks, I see that the results of my post don't match what I saw on markdown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60704.11
ETH 2452.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62