Plastic Bag use Dropped 85%.

in #earth7 years ago

image image image

These reusable food wraps store my cheese and produce leftovers. I also cover a plated meal. Great for lunch snacks, picnics, and home use.

For a year now, I've reused my wraps, and feel great about replacing polluting plastic with biodegradable food storage solutions. One small step to save our earth.

Made from cotton fabric and natural beeswax.


You can buy [a 3-piece set of small, medium, and large wraps](https://www.etsy.com/listing/506637381/colorful-reusable-beeswax-food-wrap-set?ref=shop_home_active_1) or [2 medium-sized wraps](https://www.etsy.com/listing/505860537/colorful-reusable-beeswax-food-wraps-set?ref=related-1)

I also use glass containers with plastic lids to store my gooey foods. Glass doesn't let harmful substances like BPA's get in your food.

Sort:  

Food tastes better when you're reusing the storage material and being environmentally friendly amazing stuff =)

Nice this looks good. Was wondering what the wraps were made out of since it'd be important for it to be waterproof if I were to use them to store food. Looked over the article again and saw that there're made of cotton and beeswax, so probably waterproof? :) Good product btw, useful and environmentally friendly.

Yes, beeswax is waterproof, but these aren't designed to hold liquid.
Plus, the warmth of your hands helps to mold the wrap edges and stick to itself.

I made myself a set of these. They work great. We have not bought plastic wrap in over a year. We reuse bread bags instead of buying ziplock bags. I like the color fabric you used. Mine are ugly.

It was a messy project! Took much longer than I thought. But choosing fun fabrics puts a little skip in my step every time I use them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64921.79
ETH 3541.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36