Revved Up Ragtag 2018 Resolution - Steemit Homesteading Challenge #7

In the latest Steemit Homesteading Challenge, @kiaraantonoviche has tasked Homesteaders with sharing their Resolutions for 2018.

Here goes:

It's easy to list a half dozen things that spring to mind when thinking about improvements I'd like to make or skills I need to master . Setting priorities is no easy task, but a necessary part of any long term endeavor, so I have to start somewhere. I'll be going from the 'wing-it' method of the Ragtag Garden's first season to a more thoughtful second season for the Revved Up Ragtag Phase. It's going to be a major shift in thinking!

To further that goal, I've concluded some sort of greenhouse will be pivotal to the overall success, not only of the Garden, but of the entire Revved Up agenda.

It will serve as a sort of base of operations for getting off to an early start in spring. Its new home will be in a back corner of the yard where it will get sun from early morning 'til late afternoon. I'm hoping to source some free or cheap concrete blocks to form a sort of foundation for a cattle panel style hooped structure like this one. The blocks would raise it up some to allow for more headroom and slightly more square footage. The wire panels could be attached to a few well-placed rebar stakes, eliminating the need for lumber.


Barring that, I do have some 4 x 4 posts, uncovered by a prior clean up operation, that could serve as the base to staple the panels to. I'll have to measure, but I think they're 8 ft long, which would be perfect. Thankfully, there's enough time yet to scope out more sources for materials. I also have a massive piece of clear, heavy-duty plastic to make the skin of the structure. The trickiest part of the build though, I think, will be the floor.


The new greenhouse is going to placed in the general footprint of a long-gone metal shed, in what's now the 'Jungle'. The floor of that shed, for some unknown reason, turned out to be chunks of broken up concrete. I call 'em 'ankle-busters'. They're too embedded to justify digging up, so I'm leaning towards multiple layers of cardboard overtop to compensate for the uneven 'surface' and then maybe a few pallets to finish it off. Granted, it will be temporary, but if it works for a season or two, I can come up with an upgrade in the meantime.


Tricking out the finished structure with some shelves and a couple counters will be the easy part. I see all sorts of furniture type items in my daily travels that could be re-purposed for Garden duty in the true spirit of Ragtagging. (I think I just made up a new verb...Lol!)

The overarching goal is to get the greenhouse built with as little cash outlay as possible. (Hubby's been laid-off for six months, so any liquid funds we have go elsewhere.) By my calculations, I hope to pull this off with the only purchase being the cattle panels. Research has them at about $20 each. Add in some fencing staples and the total is still under $50. If I need to go the rebar route, then the total will climb a bit, but hopefully not too much. The main challenge will then go to figuring out how to get the 16' panels home!

Being able to provide for some of our own groceries just out the back door would take some stress off the budget, not to mention bringing a tad more peace of mind for future needs.

With a bunch of heirloom seeds on the way, a resolution to have a new greenhouse to welcome them seems like the perfect fit!


Key Features in The Revved Up Ragtag Project.



Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!

Latest episodes of the Ragtag Saga:
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 1
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 2
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 3
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 4
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 5
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 6
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 7
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 8
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 9

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

Awesome Thanks For Sharing!!

Thanks for dropping by!

You're welcome! I love to see things grow!

This sounds like it will be a perfect addition. I hope you can get it built in your budget. It will make a good article to show how low a budget you can do it on.

My hubby is currently our of work too. It's not a great climate for it at the moment.

I'm looking forward to the challenge! Waiting on spring gives me a couple months to scout out sales, so I'm hoping that helps. I'm also stalking the 'free' and 'barter' sections on craigslist. The thrill of the hunt, so to speak, keeps me occupied when it's 10 below outside.

Dang, sorry to hear your hubby is in the same boat. Thinking positive thoughts for both of 'em this coming year!

Ambitious project. I look forward to seeing you work on it. A greenhouse is amazing to have. Your next series of gardening in the spring is gonna be fun to follow.

It is that! I'm excited and scared all at the same time. Me with power tools..? LOL! If nothing else, it should prove entertaining...

I helped build one and donated a bunch of my leftover lumber to one.

I spend ??? hours researching all these designs years ago myself, ahhh memories.

1/ Invest in boat shrink wrap UV stabilized plastic, trust me, the cheap stuff is crap and you will do more work in the future replacing it.

2/ Leave a couple "windows" or areas for the bees to get in too and do their thing.

Keep up the good work, I hope I can your place IRL one day myself, sigh.

Things are so hard now for me, you know.

Good deal on contributing, both labor and lumber!

I'm going to have to wield power tools for the first time, so simple is essential. This certainly fits the bill!

Thanks for the tip on the shrink wrap! Makes sense and I'll keep it in mind. For now, though, I have to stick to on hand (aka free) materials. However, when funds are not so scarce, shrink wrap will be on the list.

I have a feeling there will be plenty of gaps for the bees to enter & exit thanks to my novice level skills, but windows for venting will be part of the plan. Fingers crossed the outcome is functional.

Until we're both in shape to travel, we'll have to be content with the virtual version. Hang in there, bud!

Awesome - helping things grow is a noble cause!

Seeds are a'coming!
Hopefully I'll get to see the "seedlings" in their new home (greenhouse) come next year!!!

Yay! I'll do my best to make that happen. It's always more fun to have folks to share with. When it includes a personal connection, that makes it even better!

This sounds like it is going to be a fun new challenge! Your right you also still have plenty of time to get it all started before spring officially gets here! Can not wait to see how it turns out!

Upvoted and ReSteemed

I surely hope so! I've never built any kind of structure in my life, so this will be an adventure from start to finish. Thanks for the support!

Building things, is both fun and hard in my opinion. But it will be interesting to see how it progresses!

Agreed! My dad is a contractor, so the pressure is on to make him proud. ;~D

That's a great plan! I tried to get a greenhouse going but there's too many wild temp swings for that here in the south! I sure pray you get it done though!

Thanks! Yeah, the south has its own rules on what works and what doesn't. With our extreme winter temps in northern Indiana, I'm just hoping to steal a few weeks of growing time on either end of the season. Radishes in March would be fantastic! I'm thinking once I have the materials gathered, actual construction could be done in a day.

Thanks for the support!

Great idea no doubt you're gonna get those extra weeks!

Excellent plans! I can't wait to see progress! You've been entered into the challenge, thank you!

Thanks! I'm antsy to get going even though I only have some of the items needed and it's sub-zero temps outside. Hurry up and wait is a tough challenge. Lol!

Thank you for participating in the most recent #homesteadingchallenge! This comment is to inform you that the winner and a few honorable mentions have just been announced! I hope to see you in future contests!

Thanks for the heads up! Will check it out now...

you are going to have something incredible when you're finished, wow!! there is already so much stuff around the property that we have, that could be useful ... i want to give everything a thorough twice-over before we get rid of it.

ragtag it honey - ragtag it good! :)

Lol! Incredible would be awesome! I'll settle for functional at this point. ;~P

Finding a new use for something has become a habit after this season's efforts. Even our small suburban lot still surprises me with 'treasures' now and again. Ragtag is the only way to go these days, eh!

surprises indeed - i don't really mind that some parts are overgrown. it's like nature is giving me a present every time i clean up a section - "OOOH, LOOK AT THIS!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.57
ETH 2658.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51