Revved Up Ragtag, Part 6

in #gardening7 years ago

This is where progress in taming the Jungle left off about a week and half ago...

Since then, it's either been too rainy, too windy, or too cold to do much yardwork. Today brought sun and milder breezes out of the South. Even my pet sit visits cooperated for once and allowed enough time to take another bite out of the Jungle.

The target area was the space just past the bucket and continuing towards the back fence.

It didn't take very long to clear most of the vines. They were relatively easy to gather and move out of the way.

The only treasures I uncovered were an unbroken canning jar and another small stack of shingles. I also managed to recover the portion the of the wood sawhorse that broke off earlier. Invisible, rusty nails in that tangle is a scary thought!

And, here's the rest of the 'floor' of the old metal shed. The previous owners just dumped busted-up concrete pieces on the bare dirt and then put a metal shed over it. Sometimes the degree of stupid people achieve is truly mind-boggling.

Luckily, I had just enough cardboard from my latest dumpster dive at the furniture store to make it (well, almost) to the back fence! I scrounged up a few stray bricks and a few of the loose chunks of concrete to weigh down the new sections.

Tink has to inspect my work when I finish. She's not been allowed back there, because we didn't know if it was safe for her to walk on. Rightly so, now that broken glass and rusty nails have turned up!

It's not perfectly flat, but it's now perfectly safe and one less worry for all of us.


Key Features in The Revved Up Ragtag Project.



Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!

Latest episodes of the Ragtag Saga:
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 1
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 2
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 3
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 4
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 5

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

Awww....Tink's got a blue-green jacket!!

She loves that thing and it keeps her toasty warm. It's also handy when the snow shows up. That way we see her against the monotone background.

I love the expression on Tink. Good to see you are still hanging around!

Lol! That is a good one... I hadn't really noticed.

Been busy with work, so have been mostly lurking. Plus the time change has me all goofed up. Sigh...

It looks like Tink thinks this was all done for her. She looks happy. 😁

She thinks that about everything. Lol! And, yes, she was having fun exploring the 'new' territory.

I can see why you call it The Jungle! So far the only really odd item we've found around our place was a wire coat hanger 90% buried in the dirt near the road. I caught my toe in it and fell flat: that's how I found it. I survived.

Oh, my! Glad you weren't hurt and what a nasty way to discover it.

When it's cold it's no fun to be ragtagging in the garden. So glad to se you posting about how things are going.
I always enjoy an update from you. Yes the stupidity of people that we're here previously. We find buried junk all of the time just like they threw the garbage out the back door. Trash abounds.

Have a great day! 🐓🐓

No kidding on dealing with the cold. Wearing layers helps, but that only goes so far.

The thing that mystifies me about the concrete, is there weren't any projects done on the property where it could have come from. If they deliberately brought this in, then they've taken stupid and multiplied it. In all honesty, I wouldn't put it past them.

Hope you're having a super day!

Oh my goodness aunt-deb! Do you really think there are such numbskulls out there that haul in old concret? Maybe they sat the old metal shed on it! Lol. No! That would make too much sense!
Hope you get a gust of warm air soon. Your pal🐓

Yup, sad to say, there are. At least, all of their idiocy isn't a pain in the tush... One of their other random mysteries are the tulip planted, single file under the cherry tree - just freestyle in the lawn. They're pretty, but what an oddball place to have them. Evidently, they like it though, as they've come back every year since '89. Amazing, I'm still dealing with this stuff...

Thanks for the weather wishes! They help!

I just cleaned up my garden this last weekend. Was an existing garden, so not quite as much work as establishing a new one. It is looking good! Look forward to a before/after next summer once you have some plants established!

You're ahead of me! Good going! It's not a really exciting part of the the gardening cycle, but boy does it pay off in the long run. I still have leaves to rake and will be putting the remnants of my garden together for the start of a small 'in place' compost pile in the raised bed I've already prepped.

Thanks for the encouragement. I doubt if it will be an area for direct production as I'm fearful of previous chemicals stored improperly may have contaminated the soil. The present plan is either a hoop house or a green house in the far corner with a compost pile handy and a spot for drying/dried wood for the firepit. If there's enough room and available sunlight, I might be able to squeeze in a few buckets more buckets. Besides, who knows what will strike my fancy in the meantime... Lol!

It's always rather satisfying to get some work done, especially when it involves clearing. Are you going for the no-dig method with the cardboard? I did it here and it worked a treat.

Agreed! Clearing a section is as close to 'instant' gratification as gardening allows, I think. ;~D

I hadn't had one specific goal in mind for the area other than weed control. From what I'm uncovering, I think no-dig is my best, and probably only, option here. Good to know it's do-able!

I'm leaning towards some kind of structure in the footprint of the old shed - most likely a small hoop house or greenhouse. The possibility of chemicals in the soil from what was stored in the shed is a worry, so I'm wary of growing food items there.

Weed control is as good a plan as any...those things take some killing off!!

I agree about the shed footprint. Maybe a greenhouse that you can have starter plants etc in.

They do indeed!

I'm leaning heavily towards a small greenhouse. A hoop house is coming in a close second. It may just come down to funds/materials available at the time. I'm having a blast pondering all the different options! ;~D

Concrete? Mind boggling!
Glad your garden prep and work is coming along.
I was outside for a few hours total earlier today too; have had awful weather lately. The sunshine and fresh air felt SO GOOD!!

Yup. Ankle-busters at the very least. They left us lots of little 'surprises' like that. Morons.

So agree with you on the decent weather days. They're getting more scarce, so it's that much more enjoyable when one pops up! Thanks for the cheer, too. Those help!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59