Revved Up Ragtag, Part 5

in #homesteading7 years ago

Today was chilly and a bit windy, but the sunshine made it tolerable to be outside.

The shorter days and colder temps have helped to make the Jungle area more accessible. There are very few leaves left. Plenty of vines and branches, though.

There were a few smallish trees that I took out with the loppers and added to the drying pile. Also scored some substantial limbs under all that tangle that were already dry, so they got put along side the green stuff. Yay!

I found another rafter pole from the old metal shed. That makes three! I think these are going to be very instrumental in future design plans.

I had spotted an old wood sawhorse earlier, too, and it was now within reach. When I yanked it out, one side stayed put. I moved the remaining portion over with the rafter poles. There is something waiting to be built out of all those parts... I just don't know what yet.

I was hoping for more shingles than were actually there. A few had been folded, so the pile appeared deceptively larger than the reality. There are enough there to make a nice non-slip entrance to a greenhouse or some other project. Plenty of time to figure this one out.

I tried to pull the tarp out of that mess, but I only succeeded in loosening it up. Once I got a better look at it, I realized it's the old pool cover. This thing is massive! It's probably going to take several attempts to completely free it, so in the meantime, I'll just use it like I'm using the cardboard - as a weed block. I'll probably have to find something to weigh it down til next spring, otherwise it will be flapping all over the place.

With all the debris out of the way, it was time for the box from the funeral home to get situated for weed eradication duty. The box was long and shallow (insert jokes here...), so I made two long, narrow pieces. They were perfect to cover a nice sized area. Another rescued bucket half-filled with water will be enough to hold this this place.

I knew I was making serious progress when I saw these chunks of concrete. Those were the original floor of the metal shed. We didn't break up the floor when we removed the shed. That's how it was when we bought the place. Craziness. That's why I've chosen this space for whatever type of greenhouse will grow there. I'm not up to digging all that out, so it will have to be integrated into the design. Wheee!

The shadow of the tree makes it a little hard to see, but I took a good bite out of the Jungle today! The best news is that I've got a whole new batch of cardboard in the wings, just waiting their turn...


Key Features in The Revved Up Ragtag Project.



Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!

Latest episodes of the Ragtag Saga:
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 1
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 2
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 3
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 4

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

How exciting for me to see you find all these old treasures and give them new life in your garden!

It is a bit a treasure hunt! Happily, the re-use collection is outweighing the trash it pile for now. Here's hoping that trend continues.

I'm a big fan or repurposing, cheers to more trash to treasure finds!

OMG! You do make me laugh about that ragtag garden of yours. Only you can make this into a masterpiece. I feel like I can see your mind at work then suddenly I am guided into a direction never before considered. You have given me some ideas of my own. aunt-deb landscape architect extraordinaire! 🐓🐓

It's either laugh or cry over this nightmare. Laughter is always better. Sharing the giggles makes it even more fun! Besides, I'm afraid if I cry, it will only make the weeds grow faster. At least nothing has growled at me from in there - yet.

Most of the ideas I'm using have come from the Homesteading Community here, so it's neat to see that trend continuing! Any other creative touches are inspired by whatever material comes to light. I can't resist a puzzle and that's how I look at problem solving my way to something functional. Pretty would be a bonus. ;~D

Oh, and I'm curious about your ideas, too. I hope you let us in on them!

Wow, you really are making progress now. It makes me so happy to find materials to repurpose. Nothing is better than breathing life back into something that would other wise be just trash to someone else. I'm so glad you have that mindset as well.

Thanks! It feels great to have successfully tackled another bit of the reclamation.

Agreed on the fun of discovery and creativity of re-purposing! I was originally thinking trellis posts, but now that there're three... the possibilities are even more enticing. Lots of folks have no idea the fun they're passing up when overlooking good 'junk'.

Making progress in the "jungle" is a good thing! The more you get done this fall, the less you'll have to fight with in the spring. :-)

Boy, that's the truth! Left alone much longer, it'd take a whip and a chair to tame. Lol!

Have you not found any treasure yet lol your making progress, its all coming together nicely :)

Not yet, dangit! Although, the further I go, the weirder the 'loot'. The people who lived here before us were... 'odd'. Even 25 years later I stumble across stuff they'd done that makes little to no sense. Heaven knows what's buried in that back corner...

Thanks for the cheer! It helps!

Hope there's no bodies buried lol you should try a metal detector you just might find something and your Welcome :D

No human bodies... there's a potential for critter bones, tho, if memory serves. I'm stepping lightly. ;~D

I would be too. Good luck :)

Pulling out that funeral home box just in time for Halloween. :) Project looks good. You'll have a lot more space when all is done.

I know, right! Lol!

This project is a little daunting, but I'm taking the 'how do you eat an elephant' approach. The alternative is to torch it, but the City would frown on that, I think.

Thanks for the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51