Revved Up Ragtag, Part 7

in #gardening6 years ago

Almost all the leaves have fallen, with only a few stubborn hangers-on left, revealing the volunteer black walnut trees the squirrels planted.

My loppers are laughable up against these things. I would dearly love to see them all gone, so I'm scoping out my options. It's definitely going to be easier to manage now that they're accessible. The resulting 'timber' will be firewood, unless something more appropriate presents itself. Plenty of time to figure that out.


I finally got a decent picture of the whole area now covered by cardboard. The shade in prior pictures tends to distort things. It's getting nicely settled into place. I'm on the lookout for more boxes to breakdown and add to the 'mat'. There are still a few spots that would benefit.

The wood pile is deceptively tall. There is a solid lump of something underneath. If memory serves, I think I dumped some gutter yuck there a few years ago. If so, I may have to poke around there in the spring. If it is, there are lots of evergreen castoffs included. I'm thinking maybe I accidentally made a spot that blueberries or somesuch would like. That's a puzzle to solve later on.

On Monday, we got a rare day this time of year - mild, and NO WIND. Perfect weather to rake leaves! Normally, I dread this chore, but this year I actually looked forward to it. The only reason was because I wanted those leaves for the 'compost in place' experiment for reviving a neglected raised bed.

If you remember, this was the first spot that received the cardboard treatment. The tomato cages serve a three-fold purpose. First, to hold the cardboard firmly in place. Second, to allow some loft to the leaves to encourage enough air flow for composting to occur. I'll be adding green matter to the center cage to see if it will generate any heat. I'm doubtful, but it's worth a try. And, third, if it does indeed work, I can jostle the cage to keep things properly mixed and 'cooking'.

At the very least, this bed will be weed-free come spring!


This is only the first layer of leaves, taken from the front half of the backyard. It's been wet or too windy for more raking ever since. There will be at least as much to add next time from the back half of the yard, so that's waiting on another decent day.

The dilemma is what to do with the leaves out front. That's the real jackpot.

The problem is this:

We usually just have a huge pile near the street and the city vacuums them up. But because I'd like to use them in the raised bed, I'd have to tote them through a narrow gate to get there. NOT a fun or easy trip. Plus, it would take ten trips, minimum. My shoulders and arms ache just thinking about it.

Maybe I'll just split the difference and tote what I can manage. The rest can be left for the city to deal with.

Not a bad start, though, even if I do say so myself!


Key Features in The Revved Up Ragtag Project.



Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!

Latest episodes of the Ragtag Saga:
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 1
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 2
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 3
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 4
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 5
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 6

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

Best series ever on here and I am really sad to see your land looking like mine these days in the coldish nonsense we deal with.

Thanks for a great few months of this series, you did a great job my friend.

Honestly.

Awww, thanks, @barrydutton! Winter drearies can be a challenge, for sure. It's a good time to rest up some in anticipation of next season. It's been a huge help having a cheer squad along the way. I doubt if I'd have made half as far without y'all!

LOVE your drawing and schematic of your yard and proposed garden area! I nee done of those to get mine in order... lol

Thanks! I love fiddling around with stuff like that. I use draw on google drive because it has auto-save. ;~D

Leaves are a great idea! To get it cooking you could find some chicken crap from chicken coops or something like that it would be really good. Then move the cardboard in the spring and turn it all in.

I'll have to see if I can source some chicken droppings. Not so easy in the suburbs. I do have a feed store nearby tho, so maybe they can hook me up with someone. Transport will be a whole 'nother conversation. Lol!

If you can find some plastic barrels with lids and use them with a small trailer. You will not need alot for the area you have. Even some cow or horse crap would work.

Plastic barrels are on my 'want' list for a variety of uses. Sadly, we don't have a vehicle with a trailer hitch. (Hopefully, I can remedy that with the next one.) However, I do have a few more buckets - with lids! I'll bet those would work...

Thanks for the great idea!

The buckets would work great. Seal the lids up good and maybe it will not smell to bad in the trunk.LOL

I like your idea of the tomato cages through the cardboard. I can see how that would work pretty well. The cages should help hold the leaves in place as well as give them a bit of loft.
As for moving the leaves from the front yard to the back, try putting them on a small plastic tarp and pulling the tarp full of leaves through the gate to the back.

Thanks! The cages are doing a great job holding things in place. I sank the legs down as far the first ring, so they should last the whole winter there.

The tarp method for moving leaves is what I usually do to get them from the back and up to the curb for pickup. Nice neat stacks! The hiccup is the stinking narrow gate. It's a hassle and half.

I think it's going to come down to how much energy I can muster and how good a job I do at psyching myself up to get out there. Lol!

The boxes are such a great idea. So great I'm borrowing it soon lol. I've got a pumpkin to cook for puree that I'll freeze. I'm saving the seeds to plant in the spring. I'll try putting them in the front yard so I'll put down some boxes this winter to kill the weeds. I don't even rake leaves her. Just sweep them off the side of a cliff. I'm luck to live high up on a mountain.

You go girl!!

Mmmm, bet the house smells amazing when your cooking that pumpkin. Good job saving the seeds. Maybe the pumpkin patch will crowd out some of the weeds, too!

LOL at the vision of batches of leaves puffing over the cliff edge. Glad you're down-wind of me or they'd end up on my roof!

You could bag up those leaves and compost them in the bag. We have a small electric chain saw for thos pesky little trees and I have used a saws all on them also. Who knows? Maybe you can put up a make shift cjicken coop so you can enjoy a small flock of chickens.what do I know?!

They'd definitely be easy to transport bagged up. I could start with that method & see how much I can move per bag. Good idea! Thanks!

I think we have a chain saw around here, but I've never personally used one. I might have to remedy that. Would love to have a saws all! Maybe for Christmas...

Sadly, my town doesn't allow chickens, but rabbits are feasible. Wonder what Tink would make of that development. Lol!

Deb, remember the post I did a year ago or so, google my @username + BAHCO Laplander folding saw!!!

Hi M2C:

Deb, remember the post I did a year ago or so, google my @username + BAHCO Laplander folding saw!!!

Its coming on great, going to look amazing when its done :)

Thank you, @karenb54! The main obstacle now is the limited daylight hours. It's necessary for the normal cycle of things, but dang it's hard being patient. ;~D

The evenings are getting darker here too, not much time for garfening now. Get some floodlights pur up then you can work all night :)

That would work, but they'd have to be heat lamps, too. ;~D

Good idea, then you can stay out there all night :)

Leaves are so useful. I'm collecting them as much as I can - helping to fill the raised beds for next year.

Best of luck on gathering them. I know finding good fill in quantity is a challenge for you. Happy hunting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62184.89
ETH 2995.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97