Revved Up Ragtag, Part 3

in #gardening7 years ago

It was gloriously cool this morning when I scoped out one of the raised beds I'm hoping to revive next spring.

This bed gets a nice dose of sun early in the day, even with most of the yard covered with tree canopy. If I can round up someone with a chainsaw, it can be exposed to even more. That's a project for another day, though.

Only one end of the bed has the wood planking in semi-reasonable shape. The long sides collapsed and have been rotting for years. The other end of the bed only has a whisper of the plank left.

This bed is pretty narrow, so I grabbed the smallest of my scrounged cardboard boxes, a small box cutter, a pair of gloves and my supervisor. She's especially good at finding and collecting any burrs in the yard. It's a tough job, as there are three different kinds! I managed to get samples of all of them on my gloves. The large round ones are the nastiest.

I did a quick clean up around the edges and threw the waste in the middle of the bed.

I cut the box in half, length-wise. This was just wide enough to cover the entire bed with a little leeway around the perimeter. The cardboard will kill the weeds underneath - death by darkness. I cut a few notches to accommodate the T-posts and anchor the ends in place. I loosely 'wove' the flaps together in the center to further discourage movement.

This is the point in the process that I'm hoping to get double-duty out of this layer. Not only will the cardboard serve as the 'ceiling' of the the weed cemetery, it's also going to be the 'floor' of a compost pile.

Using three tomato cages that I didn't need for this season's Ragtag Garden, I'm going to (try to) compost in place.

I spaced the cages evenly down the middle of the bed - punching through the cardboard and inserting all the way up to the first ring. This will help hold the cardboard in place AND serve to keep the compost pile from migrating.

We get a massive amount of leaves in the fall, so they will make up the bulk of the pile. The green material, I hope to gather from clearing the 'Jungle' and at least one more grass mowing. I think I'm only going to use the grapevine leaves, though, because that area is mostly burr producing weeds, too. Those particular weeds need to go - permanently. I'll also have to start directing our produce waste there, instead of the trash. We don't have much, but it will certainly help with diversity. If I can't get it hot enough, I may need to go the vermiculture route. Time will tell which will work best. Maybe my new Farmer's Almanac calendar will give me some tips or clues!

The front of the bed was still somewhat exposed, so I put in a few landscape fabric pins to snug down the long edge.

The intention with this set-up is to have the ability to disturb the pile on occasion, instead of turning it as is normally done, plus keep the pile elevated to allow for sufficient aeration for the composting process to occur. The cages are flexible enough to withstand a good shaking, but sturdy enough to support the mass of the pile. If I need to use worms to do the composting, this arrangement should work well for them, too. The cages can act as 'food towers' and be supplied from kitchen waste. I'm sure they could be rigged to keep pesky critters out, if needed.

Not a bad start to the day and a perfect way to rev up a Ragtag raised bed!


Key Features in The Revved Up Ragtag Project.



Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!

Latest episodes of the Ragtag Saga:
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 1
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 2

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

Talk about chilly, its going down to the low 40's tonight here in Michigan! Burrrr

Oooooh, that's jacket weather for sure! We're still in the low 50's at night, but I think that because we're so near the big lake.

Time to break out the extra blankets and heavy socks...

Yay, you're moving' along with the plan. Those burrs are a nightmare on my huge long haired dogs. The roam through the woods and pick them up constantly. Some of those nasty things work their way down to the skin and rub them raw. It's hard to catch them all.

Baby steps, but it's progress. ;~D

The flat black ones and the velvety velcro ones aren't so bad. At least they easier to remove. Those big balls of mini-fishhooks are a nightmare. Poor Tink has come in with her tail stuck to her ear or got so many in her paws, she couldn't walk. One of our friends' dog, Gizmo, had one of the flat black ones work it's way entirely through the web between two of his toes. Nasty is right!!

That's a great idea for weed killing with the boxes. I wish I had enough boxes to cover my entire yard. lol. I have a severe weed problem all over. I've thought of building a compost bin behind our shed. Mine would have to be a cage with a lock because of all the wild animals out here. I've taken to throwing old food out in the woods. It's always gone the next day bc/the raccoons and possums take it. It'd be nice to compost for the garden though.

I got my fill of weed pulling with the firepit project. LOL! I vowed to find an easier way for the rest of the areas. Carpeting was on my 'maybe' list, but cardboard was more versatile and easier to find. Maybe you could do a section of your yard, a little bit at a time?

You are vulnerable to pesky critters in your setting, for sure. I'm not sure how folks deter them, but I'll bet there's lot of advice hereabouts from those that have dealt with it. A locked area would probably be a good start, though.

The cardboard is a great idea, so cheap and easy. I'm thinking I'll be using some old carpet over the winter to help kill off weeds and prepare a growing area for next spring. Its gotta come out of that old home, so I might as well put it to use before it goes to the dump.

Exactly! Cheap and easy is the best!

The carpet should would well for weed control. I wish I could remember who, but one of the folks from the Garden of Eden group mentioned using carpet with awesome results. Good on you for re-purposing it for such a worthwhile cause!

I can see your supervisor is doing a brilliant job :)

Couldn't manage without her!
;~D

You and your gardens constantly inspire me with my own. Very creative ways to start composting and creating a food space out of what used to be nothing special. The cardboard collecting pays off!
How are those 4 little monsters doing? 🐓🐓

Thanks, @mother2chicks! Scrounging can pay off... ;~D

And the crested crew is doing fine. Now all I have to find the one with the ragged claw that keeps shredding me. Sigh...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37