Custom @freedompoint knives step 8: Sell knives to @papa-pepper for crypto

in #homesteading6 years ago

picture courtesy of @papa-pepper

This build has been alot of fun. I had talked with @papa-pepper a couple of weeks ago, and he asked if I would make him 2 neck knives. My answer was of course. I love what I do, and it would be fun to connect in real life as well.

He was pretty vague on the details, because he would appreciate anything that I create. This left me with complete licence to create whatever I wanted. I did get some basic ideas and measurements from him though.

Stacie D (@freedomtowrite) was a great help with this whole process. She took great pictures of me working. This is how I got most of the pictures for the posts. I also came at her with a million questions. "Woman, do you like this, how about this, what about this, blade shape you like it, walnut handle?" She is very patient. 🙃

As I worked in the cold I would day dream about the transaction. What the price should be and how to collect. Then it dawned on me SELL IT FOR CRYPTO.

I ran the idea by Stacie D, who was completely onboard, and now we had a plan!

I would exchange my knives for Steem Dollars. I was going to split the amount in half. Half goes to Steem to power up, and half stays SBD so I can pay for my life. I thought this was a pretty solid plan.

I came at @papa-pepper with the idea and he was pretty onboard with it. He is very easy going, and had another idea. He offered a 2017 Steem Silver round along side some SBD.

Well, now crap is getting real.... not only was I going to get some crypto to invest via powering up, and some crypto to trade, but now I was also going to get a piece of history!

The idea of having a silver round was very exciting. We were going to have a token of our lives. We are being impacted in a major way by Steemit and now we will have something to keep forever to remember it.

The time came for @papa-pepper to come visit. Everything went amazing and we all had alot of fun. Stacie D and I got to hang out with him and a couple of little peppers. I also drove him around to the different homesteads around here. Not sure exactly how that happened, but maybe when he ordered an Uber he requested funny and bearded?

picture courtesy of @papa-pepper

It was a full day, for him, I just drove. There were people to meet, interviews to record, and animals to exchange. It was nice to be along for that and to hear our neighbors stories again! The Ozarks are filled with unique people that have amazing stories to tell. I am going to link to them below.

So all of this work, and all of the knife making steps led up to a pretty great day, and a sweet new adventure....selling knives for crypto! 🙃

If you enjoyed this post and would like to see the whole build, check these out.

Introduction

Annealing

Profiling

Heat treating

Handles

Finishing handles

Finishing touches

Leather Sheath

Some of the stops we made:

@borrowedearth

Papa-peppers's interview

Borrowedearth's post

@armadillocreek

Papa-pepper's interview

Armadillocreeks's post

@freedomtowrite

Papa-peppers interview

Freedomtowrite's post

And me!

Papa-pepper's interview

Sort:  

This has been awesome! I can't wait to see what happens next!

Well, this series is over😢. Not sure what I might create next

Hopefully we can develop the problem to make it second nature to trade services on the platform with Steem. Could be a good revenue stream for those with creatvie or artistic talents, for wxample those with photographic or artistic skills, or whatever clever ideas people can come up with to generate a revenue outwith the standard blogging and creating content for here.

Long may it continue

Steem On!!

Right! I think it would be pretty great to make more things and sell in Steemit!

Loading...
Loading...

Very cool working for Steem.
DQma8xnBpDS6mn3chA86zxzVP15ae4TKR5qLLLaJNhi8tsB.png

I love that shirt!

Thank you for the shout out and links!

It was a lovely day, and Ooh that coin is shiny!! It was neat to see.
Somehow I missed the knives once finished though...lol

Crypto for Artisan Crafts!!
Progress!!

Yes! I'm glad you enjoyed it! I had a great time!

I swung a really big hammer for a couple of years in the oil field, and I would love to put that skill to use! Want to show me what I need to make a forge? I will have some 100 lb propane tanks that wont be in use soon.... ;)

Im sure we could hammer out something to do!

I would love to get into forging some blades. You are an inspiration brova!

You should! Thank you!

Silver and crypto you cannot go wrong with that combination;)

Right! I thought about you guys when I got that first silver piece!

Very cool! Freedompoint knifes Inc.

Right! Right now I call it Reawakened Creations.

That is fantastic!! What a cool way to earn SBD!
Do you have a place or post where you have them available for sale?

Thank you!

Not really. I was using facebook, but not anymore. I currently have one available and will take SBD. So I usually make one at a time, and then sell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65