How I make custom @freedompoint knives: Step 1 Annealing

in #homesteading7 years ago

Knife making is a beautiful process. Since I don't currently buy steel, but repurpose it, I have to do many more steps to get it done. The first step is to anneal the steel and get it ready to become something new.

I start by finding steel. Here in the Ozarks there seems to be old steel everywhere, and most times you just need to ask for it.

Once I get the steel home I spark test it. This is done with a bench grinder. The idea is to watch the sparks. Depending on the visual display that the sparks have it can help determine the type of steel. In my case I am looking for HIGH CARBON steel. This means that the carbon content of the steel is high enough to be tough and rigid, and will most likely hold an edge. It is important to double check the steel...I have made knives that turned out to be mild steel and would not get sharp.

After I have figured out what I am working with, I begin to dream. I look at the steel and let the ideas flow. I try to visualize what I might be able to make with it. I get out a piece of soap stone and start drawing all over it!

Once I have the ideas drawn on the steel, I cut it into pieces using my 4" angle grinder. Usually 11 inch pieces for a nice bushcraft style knife.

** ANNEALING**

The longest part of the knife making process is annealing the steel.

Wikipedia: Annealing, in metallurgy and materials science, is a heat treatment that alters the physical and sometimes chemical properties of a material to increase its ductility and reduce its hardness, making it more workable. It involves heating a material above its recrystallization temperature, maintaining a suitable temperature, and then cooling.

Dictionary:
an·neal
əˈnēl/Submit
verb
gerund or present participle: annealing
heat (metal or glass) and allow it to cool slowly, in order to remove internal stresses and toughen it.

With thise definitions in Mind, I will tell you what I do. I start a fire in my forge and get a bed of coals. I use wood in my forge because it is suitable for my needs and abundant. Once the fire is going real good I turn on the blower which increases air to the fire and raises the temperature. I add the steel to the fire close to the bottom for maximum temperature. I make sure that it "soaks" a glowing orange and then I add more wood, and turn off the blower. This lets the wood on top continue to burn and the steel to cool as slow as possible.

Typically the steel is ready the next day and I make sure it is cool enough to handle. You know it is annealed properly if you can remove material with a file. This is a good sign that the steel is soft enough to shape and work.

I hope you enjoyed step 1 and step 2 will be on its way!

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

this is great. I love learning new things. Very excited to see the whole process. Keep them coming

Yes! I love it. I am working my way through two neck knives and documenting as I go. I hope each step is good!

This is awesome. My son wants to become a blacksmith/ferrier like his great-grandfather. He reminds me of you, only a smaller version of a yeti!

He should do it! I have had a bit of schooling. Tell him to learn everything he can!

Nice post! I do have one question, though. In the post, you said to watch the sparks to know what type of steel you have. What will the sparks look like for high carbon steel as opposed to regular steel?

Well, regular might be mild steel or high carbon steel. Both are very common. Check this out This might help. It takes a little practice, so it is a little guessing.

Thanks for making this series, we are definitely going to follow it, my husband has been wanting to learn how to make knives himself but it seems like a huge things to learn!

Nice, he should! There is a lot to learn. There is plenty of trial and error. Safety is number one. Followed by art, then precision. It is about safely bringing your creation into a functional state!

Thank you so much for posting this, you've laid it out so nicely. This is right up my alley, I'm looking forward to the next parts :D

Great! I hope you enjoy it! I am trying to do each step as I make 2 neck knives. So I am posting as I each step.

This is going to be a great series. A truly amazing skill to have❗️

Thank you! I am trying to not be too technical or howto, i want to shine a little light on something I love. It is tricky sometimes just banging away and think "oh wait, wheres my camera" haha

sometimes just banging away and think "oh wait, wheres my camera" haha

LOL!

Haha I should refer to that a "papa-peppering"...maybe I should make a western holster so I can quick drawl haha

I'm having the same issue trying to write up my welding cart project. I keep completing steps and then thinking "damn, i didn't get ANY pictures of the process..." :( I'm hoping with practice I will get better at documenting...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65