How I make custom @freedompoint knives : Introduction

in #homesteading7 years ago

I want to start this series with an introduction. I am The Yeti and I am a sharp art creator. I make custom pieces on our homestead....Freedom Point.

I would like to do a step by step series of how my pieces come together. There isn't anything special about my tools and I work outside under a tree. I made it a point to use the tools I currently have so I can ensure my ability to create more.

ME AND METAL

Metal and I go way back. Years ago I went to school to become a CNC machine operator. This meant that my last two years of high school I went to a vocational school. My time was spent working metal and learning about metal. My math was how to machine precisely, and my science was all metallurgy. Half of my days were spent running machines, doing projects, and creating. This was a great time and I learned many things about metal and how it works. It was here I learned about forging (heat and beat), welding, and general machine safety. All of these aspects have found a place in my life at some point.

Art

For me, art is a passion. It is a hobby that I could do everyday. I am not so much a drawing type artist, but more physical shaping. I like to use the phrase shaping earth. I have spent many hours turning earth into things. Before I went to school to learn about metal I learned pottery. I have a deep love for clay and all the things it can become. Our house is filled with my creations both good and not so good haha. 🙃

Sharp Art

A few years ago, pre-homestead, Stacie D encouraged me to do a little art. I was working running my own business and seemed to have very little time for a hobby. I did, however, watch plenty of time to watch youtube. I came across videos of people making knives. I am not sure how I got there but I am glad I did. I immediately knew I could do it. After gathering enough information to form a process I headed to the garage.

My first attempt was a good one. It was a classic clip point. Nothing too fancy. It was going to have a deer antler handle. I say was, because it didn't work out. During the heat treating process I tried to do a little work to the blade....and it blew up....all over my garage.

Fast Forward

It wasn't too long after we started homesteading that we started visiting flea markets. It was wonderful and full of fun things and fun people. It was during one of these visits that I saw a fella selling homemade knives. I picked it up and immediately knew that he didn't really know about metal. The whole way home I found that I was talking about it and all of the things I would do differently. So my loving wife Stacie D (@freedomtowrite) challenged me. She said she agreed that I could do better, and then asked what I was waiting for.

The ideas began to flow and I began making knives. I have been blessed in such a way that I have sold, or bartered everything I have made. I sold a knife via online auction to a guy several states away, and he came back with a request. He was looking for a camp sized hatchet. So now came more sharp art!

I hope you all enjoy these pictures of my pieces, and feel free to share them and my story. I look forward to your comments and even hearing about your custom knives!

Which one is your favorite..comment below.

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

Beautiful work! We have a SWAT guy here that makes them for special gifts for us. It's an amazing talent.

Nice! You can't beat a knife as a gift!

Beautiful work thank you for sharing. My son is really interested in knife work and I am going to share this with him. He has done some work with the very basic tools that we have and I think your post will really give him some motivation/inspiration. The hatchets are very cool and the leather work (another valuable skill) is nice!

Thank you! I hope this encourages your son! I use a bench grinder, belt sander, angle grinder, drill

I hope so too. He is so creative, talented and young. I want him to do what makes him happy instead of grinding away at a job that leaves him drained. I'll keep sharing your posts with him :) Thanks and keep sharing your work. It is inspiring.

The hatchets are amazing. I can see Gimli from LOTR having one of those.

Thank you! I live LOTR. The smaller knife with the 3 tubes in the handle makes me think of the elves!

I love knives. it drives my wife crazy I see a knife and I will buy it. So now I am grounded, not really, just have to get other stuff done first. Great work, keep it up. The more the better!

Thank you! I agree...I am not sure you can have too many knives. It isn't until you regularly wear one that you realize all the stuff that needs cut 🙃

Alright, after much deliberation, I've decided I like the first one with the leather wrapped handle the best!

That suites you! Would you hold it in your teeth as you jump into the produce cases at the store 😂

Yes! Those avocados won't know what hit 'em!

They are all works of art, though I especially like the small one, what's the coloured handle made from? And the axes have a cool pattern too.
Hoping @anarched puts some of his (metal smithing) creations up here for us, or I'll have to do it for him..
Saludos

Thank you! That little guy is my every day neck knife. The handle is piano leg...a leg from a piano. It is layered laminent and the colors change as you shape it.

I love the knife pictures! I will have to look at your site to see how to possibly obtain one.

Thank you! I enjoy what i do. The weather holds me back sometimes though. I would love to get more made...and even sell for steem.

Selling for Steem... now that's a great idea!

The last picture (axe) is my favorite. How big is it by the way?

About 12", the head is about 4" wide

I love where you said "I like to use the phrase shaping earth. I have spent many hours turning earth into things." I never thought of knife making like that! I love those little hand axes. I myself am learning how to split wood and make kindling with a hand axe. My husband brings large pieces of wood into the garage to use to heat our home. Sometimes he is not home to help make smaller pieces so I have been (trying) to gain that skill!

Yes! I love learning new skills. Be very careful, a sharp hatchet doesn't know friend from foe 🙃

very good point :D

Those are some stout knives, very nice. Nice and thick, pry bar tough. Cleaver, sticker, hatchettes, i like the variety of blades and handles you can produce. If i had to choose, the second one down with long wood handle and leather sheath would be the one.

Thank you! Yes, that one is prerty sweet. Heavily distressed vlade, red oak with brass pins. Most of these are 1/4" thick. They are all repurposed steel...even the hatchets are leaf springs from a dump truck.

Those knives are amazing.

Thank you...which is your favorite?

Would have to say the one with the red , blue and brown handle. Looks sweet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65