A Papa-Pepper Visiting Freewrite

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

The time was here! Our long awaited Papa-Pepper visit was just around the corner. Of course we did some prep work. We straightened up the homestead, and I cleaned our tiny home. (Papa-Pepper if you are reading this, it always looks that clean.) Then we waited for his early morning arrival!


Photo courtesy of @papa-pepper

Let's talk for a moment about emotions.

I had a hard time processing this particular visit. Normally if my parents come to town I freak out and clean everything, and that has it's own box to fit in. If friends come by for coffee, I straighten up enough, but stay relaxed, and again this has it's own box. But where do I put a visit from someone I've never met, but have read a lot about and have spoken on the phone to a few times? I had no box! Not to mention the underlining understanding that he is huge on Steemit, and he was going to interview me. That probably explains the week of poor sleep and intense mood swings...haha...

On the bright side, the emotion that won over Thursday morning was the excitment of meeting a new friend because that is just what he is!

When morning came we were all set. The only downside was that I wasn't able to bake anything...we were all out of ingredients...but we did make stout pot of coffee!

Then the Peppers arrived, and it was just like meeting a pen pal! It was easy and comfortable.

We started with the traditional tour of the homestead, and then headed inside out of the cold to get Papa-Pepper caffeinated up!

After chatting and visiting awhile, the men headed back out to goof off with their cameras...and do some interviews. I stayed in with the Little Peppers where it was warm! We colored, and we talked it up about baby goats and what it's like to have so many siblings. I tell ya what, they are super polite and funny! I loved all their stories!

Before I knew it, they were back inside and it was my turn! Fortunately, for me the wind was blowing too hard outside so we set the camera up inside, and the interview started! The whole experience was calm and easy, and a lot of fun!

Shortly after, it was time to go meet the other homesteaders! By this time the weather was beautiful outside and getting warmer by the minute! I'm so glad @freedompoint was available to spend the afternoon driving them!

With all my nerves completely gone, I spent the afternoon casually doing laundry, reading a book and making soup. Although I would've loved to share a meal, when they got back there was only time for quick goodbyes, and they were off again to make a few more stops!

I'm so appreciative that Papa-Pepper took time to come and get to know us face-to-face! I love the idea of traveling and meeting people ourselves...this visit was inspiring!

If you'd like to watch my interview, here is the link!


Photo courtesy of @papa-pepper

One last thing. The Yeti were so in the moment, we forgot to take pictures ourselves! Thanks for sharing your pics Papa-Pepper!

With much love,

Stacie D

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

Hello Eddie, I watched your interview with @papa-pepper and it was very nice. I really loved your beard.

He does have the best beard!

Beautiful Freewrite version of your visit!
The emotions. Yes... Growth in action.
It was a day to be remembered..and repeated.

Thank you! And it was definite growth...I'd love to do it again!

Loading...

Sounds like it was a success!

I get really nervous meeting new people as well. But it's amazing how it always turns out fine.

Right?! I hope that we can meet more people through this!

I loved watching your videos! Both you and @freedompoint seem such lovely, down to earth and friendly people. I have followed you both :)

Great! Thank you! It's nice to meet you @andysantics48!

Lovely to meet you too!!! We share homesteading in common but on the other side of the world :)

Oh wow, I read New Zealand on your page!

How long have you been homesteading?

We've been going fir about 4 years, how about you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65