Spicy Ramson "Wasabi"pesto recipe- Ramson Food Serie part 1

in #health6 years ago (edited)

ramson (1 von 1)-5.jpg

Hi lovely souls! I love to be back with some new recipes this week, and I thought its time to focus a little more on savoury food for now. I know you all are big fans of my sweet recipes and breakfasts, but actually, I also know how to make healthy savoury food. Usually I am very hungry when I am cooking, and thats why I rarely have time to write down my savoury recipes and take pictures. This is one reason why you dont get to see many savoury meals on my blog. But I am very interested in healthy savoury food as well, so I will take the challenge this week to post a few new recipes for you guys that are delicious and simply to prepare.

Just a little background why I dont take so many pictures of my food when I am hungry; for me to take pictures is not just something I do in a second, no, I mostly need at least one hour to build my set, then take pictures from different angles, make it look beautiful and artistic. To take beautiful pictures is a great passion of mine, and I have developed my photograpic skills a lot since I started about one year ago. I got my Canon EOS 650 D only 6 months ago, before that I had a very simply camera that was great to learn the basics, but not to take professional pictures. I count myself to be a professional food photographer today and a recipes creator. I have learned everything on my own and through youtube, articles, tuturials and instagram stories. I am still learning day by day, and today I even created my first recipe video ever with a dear friend who helped me and encourage me to step outside my box behind the camera, and show my self infront of the camera as well! I was very nervous, but I loved it!
It gives me so much strength to do things I have never tried before, and learning by doing. I sometimes really need someone to push me to do things I am scared of. I am far away from perfect (or actually what is perfection?), I just follow my heart and makes what brings me joy!


Ramson

Enough about that, now lets head over to a very VERY spicy ramson "wasabi" pesto I made.
ramson (1 von 1)-6.jpg
Last week I saw a delicious recipe by @street.yoga with ramson, and than I remembered that we actually always have a lot of ramson growning year our home in the forest. I was so inspired, that I took the bike, my baby, and went to that plcae and picked a whole bag of ramson. I wanted to make something with it to have on toasts or with pasta, so I decided to make a pesto out of it. The base is very simple with only avocado, walnuts and ramson. I added some garlic, ginger, lemon juice, and vigin olive oil, and was chocked how spicy it was! It tasted amazing, and really reminds me about wasabi. My little one also liked it, although it was so tangy. I would recommend you to add little by little garlic and ginger if you like the spicy version of it, otherwise just try it with walnuts, avocado and sea salt to taste. Add a dash of virgin olive oil if you wish to.

Health benefits of ramson

Ramson is often known as wild garlic, and has a strong and spicy flavour, if you eat it raw. When sauteed or cooked, it gets a spinach flavour and loses the spiciness.
Ramson has some healing benefits, you can use it for your heart, stomach ulcer, skin, inflammations, cholesterol and blood pressure. It even can improve your digestion! There are many more benefits of using ramson, and you can try to juice it, eat it raw in salads, add the leaves to soups, making spreads for toast and many more delicious and healing food preparations.
The wild garlic has a great abundance of several types of antioxidants that boosts your immune system.

ramson (1 von 1).jpg

Spicy Ramson "Wasabi" Pesto

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 big bunch or fresh ramson leaves
  • 1 big ripe avocado
  • juice from one lemon (to absorb the iron, right @celestialcow ;))
  • 1 big handful of walnuts (you can soak them overnight if you wish)
  • sea salt & virgin olive oil to taste
  • Optional for spiciness: 1-2 garlics, 1 piece of ginger, peeled.
    ramson (1 von 1)-2.jpg

Method:

  • start by washing the ramson leaves carefully in cold water for 10 minutes.
    ramson (1 von 1)-3.jpg
  • rinse and drain the ramson leaves.
  • add the ramson leaves, lemon juice and avocado in a high speed blender and blend until smooth. Add the walnuts, sea salt to taste, and olive oil if you like to. Blend until very smooth. Now taste it and if its not enough spicy, add the garlic and ginger and blend some more.
    ramson (1 von 1)-4.jpg
  • pour or spoon the pesto in a bowl and enjoy with bread, add to sushi, rice, pasta or whatever you like.
  • Enjoy and storage in the fridge.

ramson (1 von 1)-7.jpg


Tomorrow I will show you what you can do more with ramson! Until then, take care and remember to follow your heart. Life is only now.


I am a proud member of:

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Love, Niina


Cant get enough? You can alo find me here:

BLOG & INSTAGRAM & FACEBOOK


While you are still here, take your time to check out my other recipes and recent posts:

Pancakes:

Life & Inspiration:

Thank you all! ❤
I want to inspire you to live your dreams, eat delicious, wholesome, nourishing, healthy food, and keep a creative mind. We all can do that, now!

Health starts inside our mind.


All content and images are mine and original. If you want to share my work, you are welcome. Just remember to tag me.

Sort:  

This looks very good, I have never heard of ramson and I probably can't get it at my local store. I guess spinach could be substituted for it do you think and maybe some garlic?

Yes I think that would work just as well with spinach as with ramson;) Good luck with trying this out!

Oh that's so vibrant and refreshing! I need to check and see if we have that plant here. Probably some version of it I would imagine. Time to go hunt some down... :)

Hehe yes I really you will find some ramson Katie, they are so healthy and delicious in food;)

It’s nice recipe, can serve it with pasta , I like it, i hope one day I can try it .

I hope so too, because it taste to good!

Can I just take a bite from your plate? It looks so yummy!!! I have seen these leaves at the market but I had no idea what they were or how to use them. Thanks to your post, now I know ;0)

I hope you will try ramson! Add it to spreads, hummus, soups or any kind of food, they have such a great strong flavour!

Love your recipe. In Romania, we call this wild garlic LEURDA! love it!

Oh so you have it in Romania too!! Do you use it in your food?

Yeah ofc, spring is full of ramson haha! Yes, I do use it, mostly in salads and some dishes like cooked amaranth, quinoua, rice. Just like I use the garlic or onion.

That sounds great, it has so many health benefits! I will go out now to pick some more hehe;)

That looks amazing :) Now I need to venture out in the forrest and see what deliciousness I can find :D. I'm really looking forward to see more of your savoury food :)

Oh thanks sweetheart! I actually dont know if you have it in Sweden, but probably you have;) Good luck on the ramson hunt!

We do... it's called ramslök ;) And grows most of the time in Southern Sweden but I want to take a look here too :D

Oh yes ramslök haha, true, the same;)

Oh yum, thanks for sharing this yummy recipe with us - upvoted & resteemed! ♥ Can't wait to see your first video, love :)

Oh thanks Sofia! I just need to cut the video and than I will share it!! Just need to figure out how to edit videos first lol!!;)

que rica es esas recetas,amiga te invito pasar por mi blog

Thank you so much my friend!

What an intriguing recipe! I love the combination of healthy ingredients... although I’ve never heard of ramson leaves. Where is the best place to find them?

Where do you live? In europe you can find them in many forests between march and june. But I know they dont grow everywhere. Sometimes you can find the in special asian stores.;)

I'm in California, so i suspect I will have to go to an Asian food store... although I wonder if the y will have fresh leaves.

You could also replace the ramson with some spinach!

YUM, this is an amazing idea. There are so many ways to make a basic “pesto” kind of base, and this is a really inspiring way to do it!

Yes thats so true darling! Glad you like my pesto idea;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01